We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We visited Hotel Okura Amsterdam in the beginning of January and really enjoyed our stay in this luxurious hotel!
We had booked a deluxe room and received a free upgrade to an executive room with a magnificent view over Amsterdam. We were surprised by the free Nespresso coffee in the rooms, the opportunity to watch a movie while enjoying a bath and the great service / special treatment we received during our stay.
The extensive breakfast buffet in the morning was everything we expected from a 5 star Hotel and was of good quality.
The shops and the Albert Cuypmarket were in walking distance and the tram which stopped in front of the hotel brought us directly to the Dam square.
We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and in the Okura and look forward staying there again soon!
Marian & Ton
Breda, The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    277
    72
    35
    14
See reviews for
129
389
64
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We found that charging extra for room service, internet and the gym greatly added to the cost of our stay. food and drinks are expensive. Found main japaneese restauarant diappointing

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

What a wonderful hotel on a perfect location: the Okura Amsterdam. A great room with a beautiful view over Amsterdam city, very friendly and helpfull staff making your stay even more relaxed, and within walking distance of a typical Amsterdam area. Public transport to city centre, musea just a minute away. However for dinner you better stay in the hotel, what an great culinary experience, I wish we could stay longer. Next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Very comfortable room - two double beds, a large desk and spacious bathroom. Good breakfast selection and reasonably well organised though expensive. Had dinner in one of the restuarants on the ground floor, which was unexceptional. Reasonably convenient for the RAI building, but not really close to anything else. Quite expensive, but fine if someone else is paying. One gripe was the €17 per day charge for internet. This should be included in a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel is probably one of the best in Amsterdam. We were here on a business trip and I am sure our temp PA made a mistake by booking us in here, but it was the best mistake she made. We ate at the amazing Tepanyaki restaurant which was picked up by the company and I was throughly pleased with that result.

My colleague born and bred in Essex even liked the food, and his staple diet is "steak and chips" or "burger and chips".

Staff are welcoming but probably because they are getting paid well.

Location is further out from town - so not a place to stay if your after touristy hotspots.

FInally and thankfully - unlike the holiday inn - you dont have to worry about a bloody bike running you over, the bike lanes seem far away here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed a lot in the Okura in Tokyo, which was constructed by the father of the famous architect Taniguchi Yoshio (MomA New York) and I had not expected that the genes would travel. Yet they do, the place is sophistacted and refined, the staff doing everything you need in a sublime manner. We were invited to a huge dinner in honor of the president of the prince claus foundation, and were inspired by the blend of Asian-European delicacies. Perfectly timed, unusually arranged sashimi, and seafood salads were served on beds of salad of real leafs and algea. The location is not central, it will take you 15 minutes to get to the center however.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The good points of this hotel are the excellent staff and the quality of the furnishings and amenities in the rooms. But, by its pricing, this hotel is competing at a high level and I felt it fell short in this regard, more 4* standard and it's pricing policy gave the impression of owners/managers looking for every opportunity to fleece their guests. The bad points included
- a very compact room which at 250 euros plus tax, was not worth the money
- a ludicrously expensive breakfast at 30 euros, which could not even claim to show any imagination and included the dreaded sweaty 'buffet bacon'. At this price, I expect flair and/or breakfast to be freshly cooked and plated. The in room breakfast was even worse, comprising hard toast, unpleasant pastries and a boiled egg that was hard boiled. Since the hotel does have high quality (though again, seriously expensive) restaurants, there really is no excuse for this standard
- when I complained, I was offered the alternative 'light breakfast' of a coffee and 2 croissants, for an inflated 15.5 euros, but note they are really aiming to catch you for the higher rate
- an equally ludicrous 17 euros a day for internet access
- a quite unacceptable 15 euros to use the hotel swimming pool, a quite unheard of practise for a core facility, and more akin to the likes of Ryanair's approach
- the main downstairs bar seemed to shut at 10pm
- aircon in the room did not seem to go below 20 degrees, for those who prefer cooler temperatures when they sleep
- to cap it all, I could have got the room 20% cheaper on the internet compared to the conference rate, obviously viewing conference business as a valid cause for more fleecing
If you stayed as a couple, had the breakfast, used the pool and the internet, your actual rate would around 370 euros. Message to the management. Your customers notice these practises, won't ever return and will write reviews like this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Thank you for your comments we will take them in to consideration and pass it on to the Okura team. Please send your contact details to hammer@okura.nl so that we can contact you. Thank you very much. ~ The Hotel Okura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.