We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it, loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it, loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We booked via hotels.com for a twin/queen room at around £147. We weren't expecting very much, really, so when we got there and checked into our room we were delighted! Our room was actually more like a mini-suite with two very comfy beds pushed together - both bigger than singles - and a just gorgeous lay out. We noticed in the wardrobe that our room usually went for 525 euros a night (double-occupancy) (not what we paid!) but at no point had we been told we were getting a fantastic deal or that we were being upgraded. The en suite bathroom had a lovely glass wall with electronic blind alongside the bed.. which was obviously very fun, but not tacky as some might fear. The desk would have been lovely to work from if we'd needed to... The room was very big, with big windows looking out. I can't praise it enough. If we're ever offered a good deal to stay there again, we will. We didn't check out the pool area etc, so hopefully we will next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    680
    261
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
372
63
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We chose the Okura hotel, because it's located near the big exhibition hall - RAI and it's 5-8 minutes by walking there. The hotel has an outstanding 24/7 service and pretty good rooms. It's about 5-10 minutes by taxi and you are in the center of Amsterdam.
Prices are expensive in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Got a great deal on ebookers( normaly we dont stay on this type of hotel), and stayed in a deluxe dobbel room on the 21 floor. And what a room it was !! Every time we came in to the room, the curtains went up, and a beautiful view over Amsterdam revealed itself. The room was very nice, with a huge bed and flat screen tv in both bedroom and bathroom. The toilet seat was heated, and you didnt even have to wipe your own [--] :) In the evening the chamber maids made the room for the evening - pulled the covers aside, and sat the slippers beside the bed for you. Curtains and light could be regulated from the bed, by a remote. The room has everything you desire, and more.
One night we came in a bit late, the portier obviously didnt think we looked like okura guests, and made funny remarks, and we had to show him our room key to convince him that we were guests at this hotel. But its ok, it says something about the class of the hotell. The hotell is located a bit far from city center. No breakfast included - boyfriend missed bacon&eggs :) The hotel had a room service, night menu, and when we called to order from it, they didnt have anything on it. Strange.... But all of the food we ordered from roomservice, was presented on a very stylish way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Had a special occasion ( birthday) and the hotel exceeded, with a great room, superb food and outstanding service. They helped create lovely memories. Note - From the outside looks very plain and unattractive, but thankfully the inside different.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like what I'd usually go for (modern high rise block) but inside was well designed and our room which was actually one of the unrenovated rooms was lovely. Breakfast served till midday which is perfect if you want a long lie. Ate in the Japanese restaurant one night and the food was amazing although the atmosphere and service maybe not quite what would have expected from a michelin starred restaurant (no help/explanation of dishes or advice on drinks to go with food, left to pour own wine) although the food did make up for it. Had cocktails in the bar on the 23rd floor which were lovely and the views were stunning. Location not in the centre but tram stop outside the front door means that shouldn't put you off. Really enjoyed stay there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is an excellent hotel by every standard. Be warned that it is not in the city center of Amsterdam. But, It is a very easy tram trip (the hotel can even sell you the strippenkart for the tram ride). It is also a bit of a hike from the train station. If you fly in, you are better off taking a cab.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I look forward to staying at more Okura hotels in my future travels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Very nice hotel with good service. The room was very nice with all the amenities needed. Breakfast was excellent. Location may not be in the very city centre, but that should not stop you from staying in the hotel. Internet is expensive though.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.