We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel somewhat away from the Madding Crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel somewhat away from the Madding Crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been eyeing this hotel in Amsterdam for at least 20 years, and so eventually I took the plunge and booked through LHW with a very nice rate. It is situated away from the centre and therefore may not be the hotel of first choice for first time visitors to the city. However, having visited this city many times in the past, I did not regret my choice because the hotel in term of quality is one of the best the city can offer. Check in with Mr. Ho Kin Lee was a pleasure, and set the tone for the rest of our visit. The room was spacious by Amsterdam standards, bright and modern. The fitness room, the swimming pool, the sauna and the steam room, were simply great, and probably the few of their kind in an Amsterdam hotel. The breakfast was excellent and something to linger over. The staff were exceptionally attentive and forthcoming. All in all a very good experience from an Amsterdam hotel, and definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    323
    79
    36
    16
See reviews for
152
476
69
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a business trip for me but staying at this hotel made it feel like a holiday. Everything was perfect - from the room, the restaurants, the spa, exercise room, location and service. When I thought it couldn't get better, I was upgraded to a business class room and given access to the lounge, which was perfect for a meeting with a colleague - beautifully decorated, fully stocked and with wonderful views of the city.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked our stay having read other reviews on this site - we were not disappointed. Impeccable service, elegant and stylish design philosophy. Situated in a lovely district, away from the tourist hoards, yet all the usual attractions easily accessible.
This is not a budget option, but worth every Euro. We dined in the Teppanyaki restaurant - booking is definitely advised as it was always full during our visit. Worthy of its Michelin Star.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stockwith, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful rooms spotlessly clean, beds really comfortable, faultless service.Friendly and helpful staff really made our stay fantastic,would certainly recommend and stay at this hotel again, also thanks to the concierge for being so helpful with the on line check-in for the return flight.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful rooms, faultless service. Perfect for a business traveller rushing from meeting to meeting. Your every need is anticipated. Simply perfect. Would recommend without hesitation. Its not cheap but there are deals to be got.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly and helpful staff, nice room, great shower. We got there early and the last at the desk gave us a nice room at 16th floor with a great view over the city of Amsterdam. It was my second time I went to this hotel after I got to know it through a Microsoft convention a couple of years before.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in June 2014

The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. It is a big hotel but typical 5* that lacks a little soul, but that is each and everyone preference.
I was unfortunate that my schedule did not include a dinner at one of the restaurants as I heard from my Dutch friends that they are very good. Especially the Japanese restaurant.

Things that i found odd and out of place was the Pool area. As a paying guest one would expect the pool area to be included in the expensive fee that one already pays, Nope it is a nice chunk extra on top of your bill if you are not aware. Thankfully I was aware and explained my dissatisfaction and they offered me entry.

The one big plus are the veiws from the rooms. One can see to the horizon easily and just sit and enjoy the world around you.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.