We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Okura is definitely a top pick in Amsterdam. The view from my 20th floor room was spectacular, and the room itself is beautiful. Only two negative notes were that the espresso machine only had decaf pods for it and there was no bottle opener.

The restaurants of the hotel are amazing. I ate at Sazanka, the Teppanyaki place, but previously we've enjoyed Ciel Blue (2 Michelin stars) and Yamazato (one star). Breakfast is fabulous. The omelette maker did a fantastic job.

The hotel's Spa is decent sized, but doesn't have much options: a fairly large swimming pool, a proper Finnish sauna and a high quality massage. The age of the hotel shows slightly here, but it wasn't a problem.

The Executive Lounge was poorly maintained with a weak selection of snacks. The Kirin beer was nice though.

Room Tip: Top floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    277
    72
    35
    14
See reviews for
130
391
64
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got a great rate for the hotel through Hotwire. From the airport we took a train to the Amsterdam RAI station then it was about a 15 minute walk to the hotel. The staff was very nice to upgrade us to a corner room with a view of the city on a higher floor after my boyfriend asked if a view was available. The hotel is really not that far from the city center. It was nice to stay in a quiet area and we really did not mind the bike ride or tram ride from the hotel to the city center. Considering the discounted rate we got, we would have paid more to stay in the city center and it would have been in a smaller room that was not as nice.
There are two tram stations within walking distance from the hotel, Cornelis Troostplein tram 12 and Ferdinand Bolstraat trams 12 and 3. We rented bikes directly from the hotel which was very convenient and they are all black so you don't look as much like a tourist. It cost 18.50 euro per day, although a little more than local bike shops we felt it was worth it. If you want to eat at one of the hotel restaurants for dinner make a reservation as they can get booked. There is an espresso machine in the room which was nice and complementary, but we had to ask for refills on the pods. They also have a pillow menu from which I ordered a more firm pillow.

Room Tip: corner rooms on a higher floor facing the city center are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent the Amsterdam Marathon weekend at the hotel.
The staff were professional but totally cold and uninterested. As we arrived late 22:00 we asked the concierge where we could go to eat nearby. He categorically announced that nothing was open in Amsterdam at this late hour. We therefore had the usual dull room service food. The following day we found a lovely cafe / restaurant, just around the corner, that would have been perfect.
The breakfast was not included as we thought we would rather explore the town than sit in the hotel, on our first morning we had breakfast in the hotel, 65 Euros for the two of us to have a coffee, croissant and a bowl of cereal.
Our room was a junior suite, so I expected to be pleasantly surprise. I was but not for the right reasons. The air conditioning / heating did not function properly and the room was too hot whatever you set the thermostat to, pretty sure it was broken. The phone and the TV were well passed their prime and both had technical problems (took the in-house engineer several hours to reach us).
The walls were very thin and we could hear several running conversations, especially noisy when guests leave early.
The crowning feature was that we must have been located below a main plumbing junction as we were often surprised by the loud noise of water rushing through the walls.
Overall a business hotel, no fun, no real care for the guests, expensive for what it is and purely functional. If you are looking for a fun few days in Amsterdam, rather than attending a business conference, then look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not go for Junior Suites, not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Hugh-47,

Thank you for your feedback which you provided via TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very valuable and allows us to further improve the services and facilities we offer. I greatly regret to have learned about the inconveniences you experienced during this stay. Unfortunately, we have not been made aware of this during your stay. As you hopefully agree, these mishaps are certainly not in line with the high quality standards we strive for and may expect from a hotel as ours.

We certainly hope that you will visit us again in the near future so we can show you our utmost care and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilzen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel Okura in Amsterdam is one of those bright shining stars in the nebulous Milky Way of hotels one can generally find in a capital city. Whether you want to make an outstanding impression on your business partners, or are simply in for having yourself pampered in the most exquisite way, this is the place to go to. Five restaurants - of which two Asian - two bars, a spa, a gym and some extra special treats make the experience complete.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated in that understated chic style that makes one feel at home immediately. A luxurious home, that is.

Ofcourse there is a price card attached to all this. But all in all, when one takes into account the immaculate service, the elaborate breakfast and the secure feeling that every little detail is attended to, it is not the price one remembers afterwards, but the experience!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are a perfect starting point for a wonderful (business) trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okura Hotel is conveniently located near the RAI convention center.
The Hotel facilities (restaurant, sky bar, gym, swimming pool ) are outstanding. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. A special mention should be given to the Hotel personnel, very open and dedicated to superior service and high style. The overall atmosphere is extremely calm and raffinated. Ths Hotel quality is well above what can be expected from Hotel next to convention centers.
A highly recommended travel option. Bicycles can be rented to visit the city, the most convenient way to discover Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It always nice to have a world class hotel suited for East Asians in a Western Country.

The food is exquisite. Worth a stay just to savor the food. Tried all the restaurants. For the price, excellent value.

Club lounge, one of the best I have experienced. Won't elaborate. Please try for yourself.

This hotel is a paradox. It does so little, but somehow accomplishes so much. Zen? Didn't see/feel the staff, they somehow anticipated my needs and I left so satisfied to want to have at least a lunch or dinner there everyday.

This is one of the very few hotels in the world I would gladly return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was perfect all around. Room was comfortable, staff was great, restaurants were excellent. It's not a budget hotel, so you know you will pay a bit more but it was well worthwhile. It is very easy walk to RAI Center if you are there for a convention, or a bit farther to museum area. It is NOT in the old section and if that is your goal, this is a bit farther out. But trams and cabs are nearby and easy access to anywhere. ON a good day it is only 30 minutes to the airport.

Good location, great accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.