We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, reliable city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid, reliable city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Reliable 5-star quality. We stayed in a superior room. Although quite small the room had enough cupboard space and a very well equiped bathroom with separate shower. Faultless service from all the staff with the exception of the somewhat inexperienced very young girl serving all on her own in the busy lobby bar.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    266
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
123
377
63
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I co-hosted a group of about 20 customers at the Okura Hotel recently and we had a most enjoyable time. The staff were very friendly and the service was super quick. We had a entertaining dinner in the Teppanyaki Restaurant during which I didn't see a single morsel left on any of the plates. The bar on the top floor was buzzing and the late night view was a great backdrop. The rooms were very comfortable, particularly the bed which I could have stayed in all day.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICOSIA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A good hotel with very good service, very spacious and well equipped rooms, very good breakfast. In terms of location good view of the canal, not very near to the city center, 20-30 minutes by taxi. The interior design is “not getting any younger”, it’s not classic and it’s not modern. Well worth the four stars, I am not convinced about the fifth.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. It was booked as a 'get over jetlag' hotel for my Mum travelling from Australia - and it was simply perfect for us. We had a twin deluxe room on the executive floor and felt so relaxed. Large room, lovely beds, great fun watching TV in the bath, funky coffee machine, great view....loved it! It was always uplifting to get back to the hotel and chillout in the hotel.


We felt the sort of peace and wellbeing that we've felt in hotels in Thailand and Hong Kong but rarely felt in Europe. This was partially because there were so many lovely people who helped us at this hotel and helped us always feel totally looked after. We thought that the staff here were great examples of the best type of modern professional - effortless efficiency delivered with their own personal charm (as opposed to coming over a bit false and 'scripted'.)

Breakfast was a great treat. I like a healthy savoury breakfast and felt amazing after a bowl of freshly made noodle soup. The chef was a delight, as were the other breakfast staff. My mum really enjoyed the freshly made omelette too.

The spa was being refurbished but was still lovely. They have really helpful and talented personal trainers.

We would like to offer sincere thanks to all the staff that helped us during our stay including Auke, Natasha, Jordan, Michiel, Joules, Youri and Alvin.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly I was here on business so didnt spend too much time around the hotel and as a result my opinion is based on what I experienced.
Friendly enough staff, albeit rather formal as can be expected at this sort of hotel.
The room I had was large, but basic iron (steam in these days fairly common) and tv on the blink. When I got home to sleep there was a problem with the water which looked like canal water coming oput of the taps.
My morning all was well to be fair and bottled water was placed by the sinks, not noticed the previous night/morning when looking to brush my teeth.
Bed comfy, food ok, would I stop again as a private paying guest, no.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear NigelBlade,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret that you did not experience the quality and service that we are known for. We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to make sure your next stay in Amsterdam will be a splendid one that lives up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok. I will start off by saying I am normally a Sofitel girl. Given the choice, I heart Sofitels. However, if I get the choice, when I go to Amsterdam I would love to stay in the Okura again.

Lovely decor, clean, great smellies, friendly staff. Lovely rooms, deliciously comfy beds, really lovely layout, recently renovated, by a beautiful canal. Really friendly staff too, which always makes the difference!

Really really delighted to have discovered this lovely hotel. I was staying on business but would go there on a weekend break with a partner......

Only downside is nearing check out time, despite negotiating a later check out, the Do Not Disturb signs were ignored by 2 members of staff. Not a biggie, but the DND is there for a reason.

Free Wifi too (and cabled internet for free...!) which is always a brucey bonus when staying somewhere for work.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, mine was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place deserves its fine reputation. All the staff were friendly , helpful and very attentive making a stay in Amsterdam thoroughly enjoyable. The decor is incredible with very modern design but not over the top. .

Room Tip: The rooms with a canal view are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;