We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a train that was just out front of the hotel. The rooms are pretty big and full of high tech gadgetry. We had electric curtains that would close and open at a touch of a button on our night stand. The bathroom was pretty amazing just don't forget to close the window or you'll be using the facilities with all of Amsterdam. We had access to the executive lounge and we were able to have snacks, adult beverages and access to a coffee machine. Super convenient was the complementary nespresso machine in our room. The bed was comfy and the room always cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    266
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
123
377
63
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although on the outskirts of the "city centre" don't let this put you off. Easy to get to from Amstelstation (no. 12 Tram) and Station Rai (Busses and No. 4 Tram) as well as a number of busses.

The Hotel itself speaks for itself. Beautiful and well looked after, the facilities are great - restaurants and health centre. Although not too sure having to pay for the gym facilities.

Upon arriving and checking in we were offered a room on a lower floor (this was 3 hours before our designated check-in time). I declined and went off to explore the city. Returned at about 4 to have a nap and were given a room on the 14th floor. Unfortunately this room was a double, and despite being with my best friend, we both wanted our own sleeping space. I phoned reception and explained I had asked for 2 singles. Within 5 minutes we were reassigned a room. This was great service, super quick.

All staff were so friendly and chatty, from the chambermaids to the reception guests. Highly recommend spending extra for this hotel to be given great service and comfy accommodation.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms show great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Okura is a modern property located slightly outside the heart of Amsterdam. You can take the metro line to get here, and the closest line is about a 10 minute walk. I enjoyed my daily walk because the neighborhood was a beautiful residential location. The concierge, Lex, is extremely helpful with great recommendations for coffee and delicious Indonesian restaurants. When I told him that I was headed to Haarlem next, he offered literature for attractions in that town too. The staff here at the Okura is great and will help make for an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Look no further - if you want to stay in Amsterdam's finest hotel book into the Okura. We stayed last weekend and were treated like royalty. Room, hospitality and facilities are all top class. If you like your food you are in the right place. We ate in the teppan restaurant on the first night and their Michelin starred Japanese restaurant on the second night. Both were very unique dining experiences. Food and service were faultless. They also have a two Michelin starred restaurant on the top of the hotel called Ciel Bleu - we will be trying that the next time as they were booked out on this visit. We did however manage to fit in a couple of cocktails in Twenty Third Bar which is on the 23rd floor next to Ciel Bleu and has amazing views over the city. Try and get one of the window seats where you actually sit right on the window.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed first two nights with my wife and then three nights with our company. This is a true five star hotel ( not those wannabe ones). Service, food, rooms etc. Fantastic and will come here again! There are alson nice breakfast places near if you prefere to have smaller and less expensive breakfast compared to the hotel's.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are grateful that we had the chance to stay at Okura Hotel Amsterdam.
Most impactful was the true personal approach and service of all employees. We felt known, seen and well taken care of.
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; facilities are luxurious and restaurants and bars a treat to enjoy.
Bicycle rental enabled us to explore Amsterdam, whereupon we had the best Gin and Tonic ever, refreshing Mojitos and a taste of Japanese Whiskey.
Don’t leave before breakfast! And consider having the great Japanese noodle soup…

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights. This is a very, very good hotel. Fragonard toiletries, lots of fluffy towels, everything you would expect of a top class hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the concierge, Mr Lex, who was a mine of information and organised our check in for our flight back. The location is not that central but the canal side setting is great and the bar by the canal was a wonderful haven after exploring the city. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.