We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a fabulous hotel. Everything was perfect, from the friendly and helpful front desk to the room which was spotless. I had lunch in one of their restaurants which was delicious, with the lovliest server who made the exprience that much more special. I also had a treatment in the spa which I loved, again, the staff here were fantastic ending the treatment with fresh fruit and green tea. All in all an extremely positive exprience which I hope to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    275
    71
    35
    14
See reviews for
127
388
64
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Will return! Great staff, wonderful executive lounge, innovative fitness facility, comfortable beds, elegant amenities, great views from all around, two Michelin stared restaurants, lovely quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A beautiful mix - the laid-back amicable nature of the Dutch staff, mixed with the attention to detail and downright efficiency of this Japanese hotel chain. The breakfast was excellent, the spa was delightful (although some facilities were unavailable due to refurbishment) and the room was very good. Customer services were very friendly and attentive, and the restaurants were absolutely wonderful. What a great stay.

Room Tip: Executive rooms come with access to the spa, lounge and breakfast. Well worth paying the extra if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Excellent hotel with stunning decor and nice restaurants, as they're slogan says... Experience true hospitality.Suggested for couples. Love the stay here.Staffs are really good and Friendly. Thanks you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Amazing service as soon as they took our luggage and opened our doors to the taxi!

Easy check in with all you need info for its facilities and near by attractions

Great room with a view over the city. Most comfortable bed on our stay. Amazing bath and shower where you can watch tv to.

Room service felt like royalty. 24 hour service and hot food on a table is brought to you and cleared at your request

Staff are absolutely top service!

Can't comment on the pool as was out of service

Great location to rent bikes from the hotel also to get everywhere you need

You do need to lay for a lot of extra things however it's a five star so what can you expect

I wish I had tipped for service as in a rush I had forgotten and feel really bad

We ended up booking our trip last minute which was great they could fit us in. We also cancelled at our other B&B for the last few nights to keep it cheap however we wanted to stay in this hotel as it was too good to be true
Thank you for an amazing stay in Amsterdam

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Having just spent a week in Tokyo, there was a sense of 'been there done that' when checking into the Okura and having dinner at the restaurant. However almost every part of my stay was outstanding, from the delightful staff (perhaps something to do with the Dutch still being in the WC), to the food at the restaurant.
The only negative is that many of my other stays at other hotels will be judged by this visit. If you are in Amsterdam, please visit the Japanese restaurant you will not be disappointed. The rooms are smart, and staff are polite and very helpful. Its a rare event when you have nothing to complain about!

Excellent, and look forward to going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is definitely deserving of its five star rating. The only drawback is it is about a 20 minute walk to city center. Our room on the 15th floor gave us a Birdseye view of Amsterdam. Situated on a canalin s'more residential area it allows you to observe the locals.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.