We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“* * * * * *” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“* * * * * *”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed three nights prior to a Baltic Cruise. Arrived early morning from US and checked in without any delay. Staff was efficient,friendly and helpful. Room was beyond comfortable and serviced multiple times each day. As mentioned in prior reviews, curtains were pulled, turn down service, robes, slippers, etc. In room refreshments were thoughtful and varied, room service orders arrived on time if pre-ordered or promptly after an order was placed. They were beautifully served and delicious. We walked to the city center in about 20 minutes ( I'm 71) along beautiful streets with a variety of shops and homes, and the street markets. Loved that as much as the museums and exhibits. People were very friendly and helpful if we needed direction on our walks. Hotel is adjacent to a canal and has a lovely garden as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    302
    73
    36
    16
See reviews for
144
426
67
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely pleasant girl who explained everything about the hotel she gave us a map of the city details on trams etc. Our room was on the 15th floor it was a corner room with amazing views. The room was very spacious and bright and immaculate. It had a well stocked mini bar and everything you should require from dressing gowns to the choice of pillows. We visited the health club which had a lovely pool and jacuzzi the only complaint would be the sauna it was so small and people were waiting to use it.
The twenty three bar is very nice with great views however drinks are were expensive.
The hotel is around a 15 minute drive from the airport situated in a lovely area with nice restaurants about a 10 minute walk away. The tram stops outside the hotel (number 12) to take you to the museum area from there take tram number 5 to take you down town.
Will love to return again soon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently, on a very rare break away from children. I managed to spot a last-minute deal, otherwise it would have been completely out of our price range.
I've stayed in many 5 star hotels over the years and feel few really are particularly deserving of those stars but this hotel is. Excellent staff, not too stuffy. Room amenities were great - comfiest bed and pillow ever :-) and very quiet. BTW, don't panic about the glass-walled bathroom (I did a little when I saw the pictures). There's a blind that comes down.

We were very lucky because our room was upgraded to a junior suite to give us a better view.

It's true that it is a bit further out the city centre than I had quite anticipated. I thought we wouldn't mind the walk but it was a bit far and the two trams was a bit of a faff. But, it's in a lovely residential area (has a 'west end' type feel) with plenty of cafes & restaurants nearby. As a result we didn't dine in the hotel at all (and partly because the top class restaurants get booked up by locals on weekends). We did have a cocktail in the bar on the 23rd floor which has to be done I think!

The only thing I would say was a disappointment was the 'spa'. Personally I don't think a pool with treatment rooms qualifies as a spa. The pool area was being renovated so only one tiny sauna was available (in the ladies room). Other than that, it's an average hotel pool with a jacuzzi. We paid, I think, 15 Euros each to access, which given the basic facilities is pretty poor. (I'm happy to pay to access other hotel spas where there are a variety of thermal experiences but not just to access the pool and a hot tub).

That aside, it's a great hotel that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

While Hotel Okura Amsterdam is located a little further out from most tourist attractions, it is a welcomed retreat from the rest of the city. The Okura name is known for excellence, and this hotel branch is no exception. The rooms were spacious, and welcoming-- it was fun to return to our room only to have the curtains open automatically upon our arrival. Everything about our stay was perfect, I couldn't have asked for anything better. After staying at multiple Okura hotels worldwide, I will continue to show loyalty to this brand!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed only one night but one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in their attention to detail is second to none after a long day out coming back to curtains pulled lights softened bed turned down slippers and robes prepared made you feel very special we will visit this hotel again and would highly recommend it,it even beats the hilton in Hawaii which is hard to beat ignore any negative reviews this hotel is lovely and also spotlessly clean enjoy your stay as we did you only get what you pay for ! Sheer luxury !

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor lovely views of amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We celebrated a perfect wellness weekend in hotel Okura in Amsterdam. Every time we return to this hotel it realizes to surprise us in a positive manner. As experience and spoiled travelers we have high requirements, but the Amsterdam Okura is always able to meet these. This time we decided to make full use of the Nagoma Spa within the Okura. Excellent treatments, full use of sauna's, swimming pool (17 meters inside) and tranquility and serenity. Furthermore we enjoyed a marvelous, original Japanese, lunch in the Yamazato restaurant (1 michelinstar). We were not able to visit Ciel Blue (2 star Michelin restaurant) on top of the hotel, due to the holidays. But we know from prior sessions this is perfect too.

We visited the 23rd cocktail bar - on the 23rd floor of the hotel and had our room on floor 17. Don't forget that Amsterdam does not have many high buildings so the views from the hotel are astonishing!

No wonder that during the abdication of our queen and inauguration of our king most of the royals staid in the Okura, Amsterdam and during the nuclear top in The Hague, important delegates from several countries staid here as well.

In short: Impressive, high quality, great service, perfect food. Absolutely the best hotel in Amsterdam and most possibly in the Netherlands!!

Room Tip: Try the highest (executive) floors in the hotel, it's worth the extra investment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is a good 15 or 29 min walk out of downtown(touristy area), but was available, affordable, and service was great. You can rent bicycles for 5 euros per day, and it's no problem. The rooms were very nice. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.