We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best afternoons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Riyadh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best afternoons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Okura recently and as always am impressed with the unobtrusive service from all of the staff. To my delight the outside terrace was open and I enjoyed an afternoon enjoying the sun as I watched the many boats traverse the canal opposite the hotel. Very quickly it became time for dinner and the fixed course menu I enjoyed of a caesar salad with prawns and a main of duck breast served three different ways along with sommelier selected wines just topped the afternoon off. A truly memorable experience!! The service culture extended into every facet of my stay, from the doormen upon arrival to the guest room attendants. Exceptional!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    303
    73
    36
    16
See reviews for
145
431
67
391
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

this hotel is just located right besides the canal with sidewalk and you may easily board a canal cruise from the hotel jetty and cruise along the canal. this hotel is located approximately 15 minutes away from the airport, perhaps it's a Saturday and there's no traffic jam.

upon arrival at the hotel, we received a warm welcome by the front desk staffs and when we finally gets to our rooms (3 altogether), we are absolutely stunned by it's tasteful furnishing in the room. mine especially is a corner room, #1124, besides having more space (quite a large room by the normal European standard) it has 2 wide window panels which make the room look bright and of course it comes with stunning view of the city. bathroom is has nice detailing of amenities and also best is the Nespresso coffee machine in room, which is a big plus to their hospitality, as I love good coffee. I have never seen a mini bar so stuffed with varieties of drinks, but some of the food in the mini bar are expired though. room is squeaky clean and bed is so comfortable. I have 2 single beds joined and make the bed extremely large for me living alone, my friends likes to hangout in my room coz of the large space and big bed where they could just sit on and watch the football final on Sunday night.

they also have an extensive room service menu, which is quite surprising, as most of the city hotels I have been in Europe have very limited choices. however, with all the good things that happened, we have one big disappointment, which is the Michelin star Japanese restaurant is closed for the summer and will only resume on 19th July 2014. we booked our stay in this hotel entirely because of this Michelin star Japanese restaurant, which it the talk of town, even taxi driver know about it when we told him to send us to Okura Hotel. this is such a great shame. anyway, we managed to land a dinner at the other Japanese restaurant which specialized in teppanyaki, is superb. we are served by a skilful Japanese chef who has so much respect for his customers (we are sharing table with other in-house guests coz we are only 3 persons). the food taste at their best quality and freshness. I had the best lamb in Zurich, but the best beef in this teppanyaki restaurant in Amsterdam, but the beef is not wagyu.

I am so impressed with the housekeeping, when they get the chance to clean my room, they will know where to arrange stuffs that I leave lying on the bed. I wish I have a maid like this.

tram stop just few walks away from the hotel, right on the main road. surrounding the hotels are good cafés for food and pastries. GPS works really well here if you need to get to a destination by foot and they are actually not that far away if you have the stamina to walk, enjoy Amsterdam by foot or if it's too difficult for you, rent a bike.

if you are coming to Amsterdam, you gotta stay in this hotel for sure, if not, at least come to eat at their Michelin star Japanese restaurant, the only Michelin star Japanese restaurant in Europe.

Room Tip: chose a corner room on a high floor and it has much better view of the city and much larger window p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really nice hotel, conveniently located a short walking distance from the Cornelis Troostplein tram stop (which is only a 7 minute trip direct from Museumplein!) Hotel was very clean and staff very professional and friendly. The Albert Cuyptmarkt is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The air conditioning in the room works very well, which is good to know for the few days in summer when it is hot. The value you get for this hotel is very good. The only knock on this hotel is the expensive breakfast buffet, but, hey, it is a high-grade hotel. Consider walking a few minutes down the street to several local cafes for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as you will get a bigger window, with a bigger view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is definitely top class, it's a little bit outside the city centre but you can jump on a tram or take a 15 min taxi ride. The staff were polite happy to help with anything and very friendly. The rooms were bright and spacious and immaculate and we also had a lovely view over the city from our room on the 20th floor. You have a choice of restaurants including french cuisine which we decided to eat in, the restaurant staff were knowledgeable about all their dishes and wine, the food was presented lovely and all 4 courses we had were fabulous. We also had drinks in the bar on the 23rd floor, and the skyline view was amazing in the evening and the bar man was just lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for pure luxury and will definitely return on my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Definitely rooms on the top floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the hotel. It's a classical luxury hotel with great service. But the location isn't ideal as the closest tram to down town is about 15 minutes walk. The food is fantastic though and the view from the bedroom is incredible!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff were attentive and extremely helpful. The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre (Dam Square) but easily accessible as there are always taxi's on standby. Concierge were prompt and knowledgable about restaurants and places to go. Rooms were big, very well cleaned and comfortable. Complimentary coffee and wifi. 1 outdoor terrace area servings drinks and food which was brilliant, and the 23rd floor bar which offered stunning views of the city. We didn't eat in the hotel but the food sounded lovely (albeit pricey due to their Michelin star profile). I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. Just a shame we didn't find out that bikes could be rented from them on day 1. More business / couples suited than families. Top hotel. Good restaurants locally on Albert Cuypmarket.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a conference at the Okaru in Amsterdam. Brought my family along and extended the stay for some vacation time. The staff was more than helpful in giving tips about fun things to do and see. The room for 3 was very comfortable and plenty roomy for all of us for the week. Love the side patio along the canal. Great for drinks and snacks. Easy access to the train into the heart of town. Also an easy walk.

I would definitely recommend the Okura.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.