We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really nice hotel, conveniently located a short walking distance from the Cornelis Troostplein tram stop (which is only a 7 minute trip direct from Museumplein!) Hotel was very clean and staff very professional and friendly. The Albert Cuyptmarkt is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The air conditioning in the room works very well, which is good to know for the few days in summer when it is hot. The value you get for this hotel is very good. The only knock on this hotel is the expensive breakfast buffet, but, hey, it is a high-grade hotel. Consider walking a few minutes down the street to several local cafes for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as you will get a bigger window, with a bigger view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    266
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
123
377
63
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is definitely top class, it's a little bit outside the city centre but you can jump on a tram or take a 15 min taxi ride. The staff were polite happy to help with anything and very friendly. The rooms were bright and spacious and immaculate and we also had a lovely view over the city from our room on the 20th floor. You have a choice of restaurants including french cuisine which we decided to eat in, the restaurant staff were knowledgeable about all their dishes and wine, the food was presented lovely and all 4 courses we had were fabulous. We also had drinks in the bar on the 23rd floor, and the skyline view was amazing in the evening and the bar man was just lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for pure luxury and will definitely return on my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Definitely rooms on the top floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the hotel. It's a classical luxury hotel with great service. But the location isn't ideal as the closest tram to down town is about 15 minutes walk. The food is fantastic though and the view from the bedroom is incredible!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff were attentive and extremely helpful. The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre (Dam Square) but easily accessible as there are always taxi's on standby. Concierge were prompt and knowledgable about restaurants and places to go. Rooms were big, very well cleaned and comfortable. Complimentary coffee and wifi. 1 outdoor terrace area servings drinks and food which was brilliant, and the 23rd floor bar which offered stunning views of the city. We didn't eat in the hotel but the food sounded lovely (albeit pricey due to their Michelin star profile). I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. Just a shame we didn't find out that bikes could be rented from them on day 1. More business / couples suited than families. Top hotel. Good restaurants locally on Albert Cuypmarket.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a conference at the Okaru in Amsterdam. Brought my family along and extended the stay for some vacation time. The staff was more than helpful in giving tips about fun things to do and see. The room for 3 was very comfortable and plenty roomy for all of us for the week. Love the side patio along the canal. Great for drinks and snacks. Easy access to the train into the heart of town. Also an easy walk.

I would definitely recommend the Okura.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I rarely give a hotel five stars but the Okura impressed from arrival right through to check out and was a brilliant base for a weekend visit to Amsterdam.

The location of the hotel is on the south side of the city in De Pijp neighbourhood. It’s convenient for the Rai centre at around a ten minute walk, but to get to the more touristy centre of Amsterdam is around a twenty to thirty minute walk. It is an easy and pleasant walk with plenty of restaurants, cafes, canals and sightseeing, but if you like being right in the centre of all the action you might wish to look elsewhere. Getting to the Okura from the airport by train was a breeze - two stops from the airport is the Rai station. The journey took around ten minutes, was easy to understand and cost around €4. Its then a simple fifteen minute walk past the exhibition centre and street side cafes to the hotel.

The revolving entrance can be reached up a few steps from the Amstelkanaal. Friendly door staff welcomed us as we entered the large lobby, fantastically decorated with a stylish contemporary feel. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and perfectly fluent in English. An upgrade to a deluxe junior suite put a smile on our faces as we made our way to the lifts for our room on the fifth floor (you do need to use your key card to access the bedroom floors).

The suite gave an instant ‘wow’ factor upon entry - place the keycard in the slot by the door for the lights to automatically raise in brightness and the curtains to slowly draw open. The lights, curtains, air-conditioning, ‘do not disturb’ light and night lights can all be controlled from a unit each side of the bed. This is a brilliant and useful touch which made the room stand out. The room was very spacious with a large desk and two chairs, two armchairs with table, television unit and built in wardrobe. There was plenty of storage even for a long stay and the Nespresso machine continued the high end feel. The bathroom was complete with his and her sinks, a bath, separate toilet cubicle, separate shower cubicle with brilliant rainforest head and of course all the toiletries you could wish for. There was also a small TV above the bath which was a great touch! We eventually found the bathrobes and slippers hidden away in the wardrobe rather than hanging in the bathroom but there were plenty of towels. It was a pleasure to see no signs of ageing or mould between tiles or along the edge of the bath, nor was there any limescale on the shower etc. Along with the rest of the room the hotel was spotlessly clean!

Both TVs had decent reception and there was access to BBC channels as well as Sky News. Wifi throughout the hotel worked well, although you do have to log in every 12 hours. As an alternative there is great 4G coverage throughout the hotel. It was great to find both Euro and UK plug sockets in the room, preventing the need to share adaptors between devices - a nice touch I’ve not recently seen elsewhere.

If I was to have a complaint about the room it would be for the timing and reliability of the house keeping. Despite having the ‘do not disturb’ light on we were woken at 8am on the Saturday for house keeping. Instead we requested it later in the day via phone which took place fine, but were then offered turndown at 6pm. Asking for it to take place an hour later when we had finished changing and gone out for the evening it was disappointing to return that night to find it hadn’t happened. As a result the tea and coffee, toiletries etc hadn’t been replenished for the morning. Not enough to ruin a stay, but even with the large number of rooms it would have been nice to have this timed better and personal requests remembered.

There are two bars in the hotel, one on the ground floor lobby and another on the top 23rd floor. The latter is obviously sold on the views over Amsterdam and the hotel itself being one of the tallest buildings in the city. The bar itself though is surprisingly small with only four windows, each one with a narrow sofa style seat. The rest of the seating is around the small bar and even with a comprehensive drinks menu it did feel a little crowded late in an evening. On the evening I visited it would be fair to say that experiencing the ‘view’ was struggle. The bar staff however were very friendly and great with their English.

It was much easier to relax in the Lobby Bar on the ground floor; armchairs and sofas provided a greater level of comfort with the same, if not better, drinks menu compared to the 23rd floor. As on the upper bar complimentary nuts are provided with the drinks and the staff fantastic.

For me, there was a clear Japanese influence to the hotel and this helped with the surprise element and it standing out positively from the expectations I had. Adding the friendly staff, cleanliness and feature-full room I was totally satisfied. The location might not be ideal for everyone but despite this I would certainly return on any future visit to Amsterdam; the walk to key tourist locations wouldn’t put me off again. Following my stay I have found myself highly recommending the hotel to others in passing conversation and for these reasons I can’t justify anything less than five stars!

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite at least, the extra room and features are worthwhile. Clearly the higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The okura is a beautiful hotel in a lovely area. The Ciel blue restaurant is magnificent and the view of Amsterdam from the upstairs bar is amazing. The rooms are stunning and spotlessly clean service very good and you will pay for it. Not for your average joe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.