We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a conference at the Okaru in Amsterdam. Brought my family along and extended the stay for some vacation time. The staff was more than helpful in giving tips about fun things to do and see. The room for 3 was very comfortable and plenty roomy for all of us for the week. Love the side patio along the canal. Great for drinks and snacks. Easy access to the train into the heart of town. Also an easy walk.

I would definitely recommend the Okura.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    383
    94
    42
    17
See reviews for
194
581
81
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I rarely give a hotel five stars but the Okura impressed from arrival right through to check out and was a brilliant base for a weekend visit to Amsterdam.

The location of the hotel is on the south side of the city in De Pijp neighbourhood. It’s convenient for the Rai centre at around a ten minute walk, but to get to the more touristy centre of Amsterdam is around a twenty to thirty minute walk. It is an easy and pleasant walk with plenty of restaurants, cafes, canals and sightseeing, but if you like being right in the centre of all the action you might wish to look elsewhere. Getting to the Okura from the airport by train was a breeze - two stops from the airport is the Rai station. The journey took around ten minutes, was easy to understand and cost around €4. Its then a simple fifteen minute walk past the exhibition centre and street side cafes to the hotel.

The revolving entrance can be reached up a few steps from the Amstelkanaal. Friendly door staff welcomed us as we entered the large lobby, fantastically decorated with a stylish contemporary feel. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and perfectly fluent in English. An upgrade to a deluxe junior suite put a smile on our faces as we made our way to the lifts for our room on the fifth floor (you do need to use your key card to access the bedroom floors).

The suite gave an instant ‘wow’ factor upon entry - place the keycard in the slot by the door for the lights to automatically raise in brightness and the curtains to slowly draw open. The lights, curtains, air-conditioning, ‘do not disturb’ light and night lights can all be controlled from a unit each side of the bed. This is a brilliant and useful touch which made the room stand out. The room was very spacious with a large desk and two chairs, two armchairs with table, television unit and built in wardrobe. There was plenty of storage even for a long stay and the Nespresso machine continued the high end feel. The bathroom was complete with his and her sinks, a bath, separate toilet cubicle, separate shower cubicle with brilliant rainforest head and of course all the toiletries you could wish for. There was also a small TV above the bath which was a great touch! We eventually found the bathrobes and slippers hidden away in the wardrobe rather than hanging in the bathroom but there were plenty of towels. It was a pleasure to see no signs of ageing or mould between tiles or along the edge of the bath, nor was there any limescale on the shower etc. Along with the rest of the room the hotel was spotlessly clean!

Both TVs had decent reception and there was access to BBC channels as well as Sky News. Wifi throughout the hotel worked well, although you do have to log in every 12 hours. As an alternative there is great 4G coverage throughout the hotel. It was great to find both Euro and UK plug sockets in the room, preventing the need to share adaptors between devices - a nice touch I’ve not recently seen elsewhere.

If I was to have a complaint about the room it would be for the timing and reliability of the house keeping. Despite having the ‘do not disturb’ light on we were woken at 8am on the Saturday for house keeping. Instead we requested it later in the day via phone which took place fine, but were then offered turndown at 6pm. Asking for it to take place an hour later when we had finished changing and gone out for the evening it was disappointing to return that night to find it hadn’t happened. As a result the tea and coffee, toiletries etc hadn’t been replenished for the morning. Not enough to ruin a stay, but even with the large number of rooms it would have been nice to have this timed better and personal requests remembered.

There are two bars in the hotel, one on the ground floor lobby and another on the top 23rd floor. The latter is obviously sold on the views over Amsterdam and the hotel itself being one of the tallest buildings in the city. The bar itself though is surprisingly small with only four windows, each one with a narrow sofa style seat. The rest of the seating is around the small bar and even with a comprehensive drinks menu it did feel a little crowded late in an evening. On the evening I visited it would be fair to say that experiencing the ‘view’ was struggle. The bar staff however were very friendly and great with their English.

It was much easier to relax in the Lobby Bar on the ground floor; armchairs and sofas provided a greater level of comfort with the same, if not better, drinks menu compared to the 23rd floor. As on the upper bar complimentary nuts are provided with the drinks and the staff fantastic.

For me, there was a clear Japanese influence to the hotel and this helped with the surprise element and it standing out positively from the expectations I had. Adding the friendly staff, cleanliness and feature-full room I was totally satisfied. The location might not be ideal for everyone but despite this I would certainly return on any future visit to Amsterdam; the walk to key tourist locations wouldn’t put me off again. Following my stay I have found myself highly recommending the hotel to others in passing conversation and for these reasons I can’t justify anything less than five stars!

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite at least, the extra room and features are worthwhile. Clearly the higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The okura is a beautiful hotel in a lovely area. The Ciel blue restaurant is magnificent and the view of Amsterdam from the upstairs bar is amazing. The rooms are stunning and spotlessly clean service very good and you will pay for it. Not for your average joe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Okura is ideally situated to Amsterdam. You can easily walk to local restaurants, and can catch the tram to anywhere just outside the hotel. The rooms were beautiful, clean, quiet and secure. The hotel concierge helped me with choosing a train to France and the staff was very attentive and polite. I highly recommend the hotel Okura for business and pleasure. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I recently stayed here for a few nights as my company were holding a conference here.

It's rare that I have a flawless experience in hotels but on this occasion, the Okura was perfect. My room was luxurious and spacious, the amenities were excellent (especially the health/fitness centre) and the staff were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble even when I couldn't work out how the espresso machine in my room worked, one of the concierge came up and not only fixed it but insisted I relaxed whilst he made the coffee for me.

I plan to be back in Amsterdam for leisure and will certainly look to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites on the 5th floor are truly excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of the Amstel canal in the De Pijp area of Amsterdam. There are many bars and resturants within 10 minutes walk .The Okura hotel is first class helpful staff in all areas. We had a room on the 14th floor with a fantastic view of the city,the room was spacious very comfortable and spotlesly clean. You can use public transport from airport,train to Sloterdijk then tram number 12 which stops 200 yards from hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I got a great deal on this hotel, so I decided to try it. I loved it. I thought that they might give me a not so great room because I was paying so little for it -- I was totally wrong. They gave me a gorgeous corner room on the 16th floor with beautiful canal views. It was very quiet. Although it wasn't in the middle of things, this wasn't a problem (and made for a more peaceful stay) because I just rented a bike for my stay (or walked). The tram is also convenient. I asked for early check-in, not really expecting my room to be ready, but again I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right on a canal (gorgeous) and the general area is more neighborhood-y. I enjoyed this. I would stay here again, definitely. Some of the photos online are before a hotel upgrade (I believe). The rooms have very clean lines. I had a separate soaking tub and rainshower.

Free wifi is also nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#23 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.