We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices from these 14 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Okura is ideally situated to Amsterdam. You can easily walk to local restaurants, and can catch the tram to anywhere just outside the hotel. The rooms were beautiful, clean, quiet and secure. The hotel concierge helped me with choosing a train to France and the staff was very attentive and polite. I highly recommend the hotel Okura for business and pleasure. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    268
    70
    35
    14
See reviews for
124
381
63
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I recently stayed here for a few nights as my company were holding a conference here.

It's rare that I have a flawless experience in hotels but on this occasion, the Okura was perfect. My room was luxurious and spacious, the amenities were excellent (especially the health/fitness centre) and the staff were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble even when I couldn't work out how the espresso machine in my room worked, one of the concierge came up and not only fixed it but insisted I relaxed whilst he made the coffee for me.

I plan to be back in Amsterdam for leisure and will certainly look to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites on the 5th floor are truly excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of the Amstel canal in the De Pijp area of Amsterdam. There are many bars and resturants within 10 minutes walk .The Okura hotel is first class helpful staff in all areas. We had a room on the 14th floor with a fantastic view of the city,the room was spacious very comfortable and spotlesly clean. You can use public transport from airport,train to Sloterdijk then tram number 12 which stops 200 yards from hotel.

Room Tip: High floor with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I got a great deal on this hotel, so I decided to try it. I loved it. I thought that they might give me a not so great room because I was paying so little for it -- I was totally wrong. They gave me a gorgeous corner room on the 16th floor with beautiful canal views. It was very quiet. Although it wasn't in the middle of things, this wasn't a problem (and made for a more peaceful stay) because I just rented a bike for my stay (or walked). The tram is also convenient. I asked for early check-in, not really expecting my room to be ready, but again I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is right on a canal (gorgeous) and the general area is more neighborhood-y. I enjoyed this. I would stay here again, definitely. Some of the photos online are before a hotel upgrade (I believe). The rooms have very clean lines. I had a separate soaking tub and rainshower.

Free wifi is also nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liondon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Having just stayed here, I would rate Okura as the hotel with the most obliging staff I have ever come across. Everyone, from the doorman upwards is happy to (offer) help. Bright, airy, spotless rooms. OK, so its not in the city centre, but it's a great hotel to walk back into after visiting all those tourist sites. A tranquil, bright, airy, reception area, not to mention an abundance of smiles from ALL the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel, very welcoming. Staff is always willing to help. Clean and well situated.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi are great to relax after a business day.
We had a very pleasant time and with no doubt we will stay at Okura hotel next time we visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and lightly, non smoking and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great rooms and great room service. The staff could not do enough to help. I would definitely go back for a personal visit.

On the downside they charge 15 euros for use of the pool and gym which isn't great. Also there is a fast internet which is 12 euros a day vs the slow option which is free. Add 27 euros per day for those two.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.