We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the world !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the world !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staying in this hotel will make you feel like royalty.
With 30 years of hotel experience in 5-star hotels all over the world (for business as well as for leisure), we can highly recommend the Okura hotel in Amsterdam.
The outstanding hospitality from the entire Okura staff, the spotless clean rooms, the comfortable beds, the excellent food in all the restaurants of the Okura hotel : with no doubt we know that this hotel is the best hotel in the world. Everything here is just perfect !
We await our next return with happy anticipation !

Room Tip: every room is just made to perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    673
    256
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
121
368
63
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel lobby is pleasant, the check-in process quite efficient and fast.
The hotel is very very calm and quiet
The rooms are design in a modern style. They are confortable. They provide tea/coffee set for free.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of good products. The eggs station is manned by a cook who can prepare eggs exactly the way you like them.
They bring tea, coffee to your table (it is not a self service for the hot beverages), it might be quite long to get your tea.
But 31 euros for a breakfast is a little bit excessive.

If you are here for business and if your business is in south of Amsterdam, then the location is fine. If you are here for any other reason, the location is really not suitable.


Internet is not working well and, when it does, it is painstakingly slow.
They propose a high speed connection for 12 euros/day. But since the free internet was not working, I did not dare subscribing for the high speed one.

The shower was not working properly, probably too much scaling.

You have to pay for the gym which is not really something I would recommend.

Erick

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days as it was a member of leading hotels of the world. We were extremely comfortable. Rooms were well maintained. Good courteous staff. Very helpful concierge. Try and book the TASTE of OKURA cooking class. It was very well conducted. Comes with a meal and loads of wine. Cycles were available for hire. Very well maintained ones to that. Good hearty breakfast. THeir bar was very buzzing and happening. Good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Hotel Okura in the middle of May for a 4 day trip to Amsterdam with my boyfriend.

The free wifi was much enjoyed and everything was great in the room, we had everything we needed.

I was disappointed that we had to pay to use the gym facility, this should be included with the stay.

We rented bikes from the hotel which were great! Really safe and at a great price, I'd really recommend doing it!

The hotel is in a good location, we thought we'd have to get the tram loads but we ended up walking to the centre most days! (Takes about 20-30 minutes depending on where your going just watch out for the bikes!)

There's loads of great restaurants and cafés nearby the hotel, I recommend Omeleg highly! Amazing food and service. There's also a fantastic market nearby.

We had a great stay but I think we'll try a visit a tad more close to the centre next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late friday evening. We were greeted by a lovely man who provided lots of information on how to enjoy our trip to Amsterdam as well as a map for us to look over. On getting in the lifts we were blown away. The style of the hotel is incredibly high class. Our room was amazing. The bathroom the best ive seen in a hotel ever. We were worried about the "Glass" issue but were pleasantly surprised when we pushed a button and a blind came down covering the glass area so you could have some privacy while you were bathing if you wanted. The room service was quick and incredibly tasty except for the bread rolls which we had to leave as they were hard like bricks. Apart from that we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the first moment you arrive till the moment you leave you know that you are in a first class hotel.
The reception gives you a very relax feeling, the staff working in this hotel are really good trained.
The room we stay in was excellent.
The bar on the top is very good with a great view over Amsterdam.
For our next stay we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great stay, enjoy every minute of it, specious rooms, view of the city is amazing from the high floors, facilities are great, room is clean and comfortable, would be happy to come again, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.