We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time stay,gets better every time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd time stay,gets better every time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel for our third time,we had just been to Paris and engaged and headed to Amsterdam to continue the celebrations. We were greeted by a wonderful memeber of staff who on hearing of our proposal,upgraded our room!The room was beautiful but unfortunately the 'double bed' was two singles put together.We explained this wasn't what we'd expected so they tried to rectify the issue.This couldn't be done so they moved us to an even better room which was fantastic!The restaurants in the Hotel are unbelievable and I would highly recommend the breakfast buffet!

Also,there use to be a charge to use the Sauna/pool Tec however if you Sign up to their members programme for free,you get full use of these facilities with no extra charge

My fiance managed to leave her phone by the canal outside the hotel and luckily the concierge found the phone and rang my phone to inform me that he had found the phone and that it was safe at the hotel with him!

We visit the hotel yearly and we highly recommend this hotel to any of our friends who are visiting Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    365
    92
    39
    17
See reviews for
174
556
74
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday weekend, and wow what a hotel. we were lucky enough to be given a room upgrade with fantastic views of amsterdam from the panoramic windows, all mod cons as you would expect and a very comfortable bed, and as a bonus we had access to the executive bar with sumptusious seating, beers, wines, cakes, fruit, tea, coffee and all complimentary. the restaurants are to die for, but for my money i would stick to the ciel bleu....amazing.

A word of warning though...... we had an issue over paying for some tickets for the tram with the concierge and we paid cash. Mistake. Long story short, but for several weeks after our return and the hotel helping themselves to money from our credit card to cover the cost, we did eventually get our money back (with compensation for call costs) but none the less if you are going to this hotel it maybe beneficial to you to confirm that they have 1. cancelled the pre-authorisation on your credit card, and 2. if you decide to pay cash for anything, then make sure you obtain the name of the person you have given it to? just in case you need to refer back when you are home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at Okura during our recent visit to Amsterdam, it was indeed a wonderful hotel ! We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and she was very helpful throughout our stay. The room was very modern, there is a glass wall divided the bathroom and the bedroom that provided you a great view of the bathroom from the bed :-D We absolutely love our room , spacious, modern and clean!! The hotel is located a little further out of the city but you can walk to the tram station a few minutes away from the hotel. We actually walked to the city from the hotel, it was a very pleasant walk too. In summary, we highly recommend this beautiful hotel !!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had an opportunity to stay at the Okura on a trip through Amsterdam recently. I've been to the Okura in Tokyo and enjoyed it's retro-contemporary style...

I felt this hotel had many of the similar design cues.

Peaceful sleep, large and well laid out bathrooms. Large common areas in lobby were ideal for meeting with folks and chatting before the day began or at days end (before retiring to rooms).

The breakfast was great and quite "international" with a heavy focus on traditional Japanese items as well as more western fare, I thought the coolest item was the full honeycomb that would 'drip' down a rack and guests could obtain fresh honey for their tea...

Good location on a picturesque canal but located a little off the street so it gave the hotel a quiet feeling although it was a bit removed from the downtown area. It is however located right on a train line that will take you straight into the city.

I'd definitely consider the Okura again although if the prices cooperate I'm more inclined to stay the better located Andaz or Dylan or even InterContinental or Waldorf located closer towards the city center.

Room Tip: I personally found the views a little less interesting at this hotel compared to those in the downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Okura for two nights. As it was a long weekend and Amsterdam packed, as well as hotels ridiculously expensive, we went for a hotel not quiet in the centre of town. From our perspective it's a nice hotel. The city centre can be easily reached by bike (rental fee of 16 Euro for 24hours) within 10 minutes. Nice cafes and restaurants around the corner.

+nice, clean
+friendly staff, professional, helpful
+nice view (we were on the 5th floor)
+free wifi
-not very central but easy to reach
-prices for bikes and breakfast a bit steep

We'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is a great location. 5 minute drive from the center of the city. Room was spacious and clean . Helpful and friendly staff.
The Japanese restaurant is one of the best teppanyaki-style restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Level Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Okura is near to the largest congresss center (RAI) in Amsterdam. It is well connected to the city center and the area is quiet and pleasant with a nearby canal. The room where I stayed was large, with nice Japanese style furniture and the bed was faboulous, truly ideal for a regenerating sleep. The breakfast was rich, varied and high class. The only problem I had was with the lighting system which I failed to grasp and with the Nespresso machine which did not work. The staff was professional, fast and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#26 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.