We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel near Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Its only 15 minutes away from the airport and its location is 20 minutes from the museums (Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum).
The hotel concierge gave me the directions to the museum by walking along the canals - it was simple and scenic.
Tip for museum lovers: you can buy your museum tickets at your hotel (do not waste time lining up at the museums).
The hotel breakfast is really nice - great selection of fresh dairy produce. You even get to have Japanese noodles.

The restaurants are great too (I did not try the 2 star restaurant Ciel Beau) the Japanese restaurant and the other western restaurant are great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    332
    83
    36
    17
See reviews for
156
497
70
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Four great days at this truely beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff always smiling and helpful. Rooms, outstanding. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Beautiful walks along the canal. Tram line near by. A great walk into the city if you are a walker.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here briefly on the night before Amsterdam's first Kings Day. The hotel occupies a modern tower building. It is some way from the main centre, but that offered some welcome peace & quiet from the bustle of central Amsterdam.

Check-in was excellent. The lovely receptionist explained what happens on King's Day and then showed us to our room, which was comfortable and well-equipped. Strangely, the double bed turned out to be two separate beds pushed together with two separate duvets. Room included a Nespresso machine but no free water (mini-bar was typical outrageous 5* hotel prices - 5.50 Euros for a small bottle of soft drink?!)

A taxi from the airport cost 37 Euros. The hotel offers the same fixed price for a return trip to the airport. Didn't try the breakfast or restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Love the hotel and its services. Rooms are spacious and always a pleasure to stay.
the Twenty Third bar on the 23rd floor is also really nice for a drink/cocktail and its amazing view.

If you have the chance, have dinner at their traditional Japanese cuisine Yamazato restaurant and order the Sukiyaki or the Shabu Shabu (and have the Japanese meat), delicious! Really a treat.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Have been to the Okura for Easter with my family.
Very, very nice hotel.
Good location.
Good service.
Great rooms, with super view.
The best part are its restaurants. Excellent Japanese cuisine.
Would love to go back to the Okura tomorrow.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in Okura hotel from the 25/4 - 27/4. The service was excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and very polite. Our room was spacious, clean and the views of Amsterdam were incredible. As it was my partner's birthday during our stay, we arrived to a big birthday cake with a card, which was lovely.
The only downfall to our stay was a charge of over €40 for service charges and city tax which we assumed would be included. Also, the hotel is quite far from central Amsterdam so be prepared to have to pay tram, taxi or bus fairs as it is too far to walk.
Overall our stay was fantastic and we are even planning our next trip to Amsterdam for the summer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Amsterdam Hotel Okura is a truly superb hotel! This should not have been a surprise to me, since I have often enjoyed to extraordinary hospitality, comfort and service of its "mother hotel" -- the Hotel Okura in Tokyo. The Amsterdam Okura is every bit as good. A short distance from the busy center of the city, the hotel is located on a lovely, quiet canal -- but it is only a few minutes on the very pleasant tram to the Museumplein with its many fine museums and the magnificent Concertgebouw Hall. Our room on the 5th floor was extremely comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom and a great view. Dining in the hotel was also a great treat, with several superb restaurants (French, Japanese, Continental). But best of all was the hotel's staff! Everyone we encountered was friendly, cheerful, and wonderfully helpful. We eagerly look forward to our next visit to the Amsterdam Okura!
Peter & Susan G.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.