We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Four great days at this truely beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff always smiling and helpful. Rooms, outstanding. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Beautiful walks along the canal. Tram line near by. A great walk into the city if you are a walker.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    365
    92
    40
    17
See reviews for
176
561
75
439
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here briefly on the night before Amsterdam's first Kings Day. The hotel occupies a modern tower building. It is some way from the main centre, but that offered some welcome peace & quiet from the bustle of central Amsterdam.

Check-in was excellent. The lovely receptionist explained what happens on King's Day and then showed us to our room, which was comfortable and well-equipped. Strangely, the double bed turned out to be two separate beds pushed together with two separate duvets. Room included a Nespresso machine but no free water (mini-bar was typical outrageous 5* hotel prices - 5.50 Euros for a small bottle of soft drink?!)

A taxi from the airport cost 37 Euros. The hotel offers the same fixed price for a return trip to the airport. Didn't try the breakfast or restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Love the hotel and its services. Rooms are spacious and always a pleasure to stay.
the Twenty Third bar on the 23rd floor is also really nice for a drink/cocktail and its amazing view.

If you have the chance, have dinner at their traditional Japanese cuisine Yamazato restaurant and order the Sukiyaki or the Shabu Shabu (and have the Japanese meat), delicious! Really a treat.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Have been to the Okura for Easter with my family.
Very, very nice hotel.
Good location.
Good service.
Great rooms, with super view.
The best part are its restaurants. Excellent Japanese cuisine.
Would love to go back to the Okura tomorrow.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in Okura hotel from the 25/4 - 27/4. The service was excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and very polite. Our room was spacious, clean and the views of Amsterdam were incredible. As it was my partner's birthday during our stay, we arrived to a big birthday cake with a card, which was lovely.
The only downfall to our stay was a charge of over €40 for service charges and city tax which we assumed would be included. Also, the hotel is quite far from central Amsterdam so be prepared to have to pay tram, taxi or bus fairs as it is too far to walk.
Overall our stay was fantastic and we are even planning our next trip to Amsterdam for the summer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Amsterdam Hotel Okura is a truly superb hotel! This should not have been a surprise to me, since I have often enjoyed to extraordinary hospitality, comfort and service of its "mother hotel" -- the Hotel Okura in Tokyo. The Amsterdam Okura is every bit as good. A short distance from the busy center of the city, the hotel is located on a lovely, quiet canal -- but it is only a few minutes on the very pleasant tram to the Museumplein with its many fine museums and the magnificent Concertgebouw Hall. Our room on the 5th floor was extremely comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom and a great view. Dining in the hotel was also a great treat, with several superb restaurants (French, Japanese, Continental). But best of all was the hotel's staff! Everyone we encountered was friendly, cheerful, and wonderfully helpful. We eagerly look forward to our next visit to the Amsterdam Okura!
Peter & Susan G.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night at Hotel Okura at the beginning of April. The hotel is located at some distance from the historical city centre in a relatively quieter area. We took the tram to get to the touristic and shopping districts. The service at the hotel was great - professional but friendly, and the room was very comfortable and bright. It had many modern touches, we espcially enjoyed having a Nespresso machine in our room. We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were impressed by the quality of the food overall. We had been told by our Dutch friends that the Japanese restuarant at the Okura is probably the best in Amsterdam. However, we chose to try out the Serre Restaurant instead and were impressed by the creative fusion cuisine. We had room service for breakfast the next morning and loved the Belgian waffles we ordered. All in all, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.