We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful elegance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasteful elegance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

With all the new trendy hotels opening these days that try to tap into the new, boutique, hip Millenial set, it's nice to find a hotel that caters to those who prefer a timelessness to the hotel's interior appointments. You won't find color changing lights, the soundtrack to Buddha Bar, Philippe Starck furnishings, or 3-D printed knick-knacks decorating the interior. There is a time and place for all these things, but this isn't it.

You will find a classically designed lobby with sheer drapery lining the walls, warm stone and wood finishes and elegant floor lamps with paper/hide shades and elegant, simple lines. Service is very warm, friendly and accommodating. It looks like the rooms have gone through a recent renovation and there are many little touches that are very thoughtful and charming. For example, there are little nightlights in the walls along the circulation paths to the bathroom. The only drawback is that the color quality of these night lights is much more blue than I would like, but I recognize that this is a personal preference. The millwork of the desks and the beds are very simple, but with a beautiful worn finish on them that will not fall out of fashion. There are two lovely little sculptural elements on the headboard that give a quirkly, yet artistic flair to the simplicity of the room. The room lighting controls are conveniently located by the bed and clearly marked, which surprisingly, is not that common in many hotels. The night reading light is accessible and adjustable to the guest which is also much appreciated.

The view is nothing short of spectacular, with close proximity to the canal and parks. It is also a very pleasant walk to the Albert Cuypmarkt where we enjoyed freshly made stroopwafelen and the sight of beautifully smoked fish lining the street and many fun arts and crafts to take in and browse through.

I took advantage of the spa services and the sauna. Both were amazing and well appointed. The Hanakasumi service was just what I needed for some pampering after a long week. I had caught a little cold just before I arrived in Amsterdam, and I informed the practitioner of this, and she added a little scented oil with mint and rosemary on a towel and laid it on my chest while she finished the Hanakasumi and it was perfect to calm my cough and to more fully relax to enjoy the massage.

I will definitely want to return in full health to more fully explore the area. I loved the placement of the hotel, which is in the Pijp neighborhood and away from the tourist attractions so it's much quieter and locally oriented. If you want local experiences, this is a fantastic location. We found a little restaurant with the unlikely name of "Dopey's Elixer" and it was just a fun, corner dive bar with very friendly staff and a nice selection of local brews. For first time visitors, take note to pay extra attention to the bike lanes and to look out for bicyclists the same way you would for cars. Living in NYC, this is something I have learned and it's somewhat second nature, but the degree to which bicyclists use the road in Amsterdam is admirable and much more organized than anything we have in the states, and you will not be looked too kindly upon if you inadvertently wander into the bike lane thinking it was part of the sidewalk. It is paved in mauve colored bricks, but it can be difficult to differentiate from the sidewalk in parts. Just remember to keep an eye out.

I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    382
    93
    41
    17
See reviews for
192
581
81
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fantastic service. The staff was very keen to help us out. We've got an upgraded room on the 14th floor with a great view over Amsterdam.

If you choose to have an excellent and much cheaper breakfast, there are 2-3 places (le pain quotidien, Omelegg) just a few minutes walk north on Ferdinand Bolstraat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Best hotel in Amsterdam, no contest. I booked 2 days and ended up staying a week, just to try all the amazing restaurants. Ciel Blu is immense, even their dessert presentation will blow you away. Try the gratin oysters.

I'd never had Teppanyaki before, and only visited because their other Japanese restuarant was fully booked. Little did I know this place was among the top Teppanyaki experiences in the entire world! Leave yourself a few hours to get the full experience. It's immersive.

I also had the best massage of my life (shiatsu) in the spa - but book well in advance. Their hours are tight and their availability is extremely limited. If you can manage to get a booking, you will be amazed. It rebooted my entire body.

The rooms are pretty standard for a five-star, but that's not what the Okura is about. The Okura is about total service. Late checkout? No problem. Best restaurants in town? Obviously. Is there a reason to even leave the hotel? If you can afford it, not really. This place is perfection.

Room Tip: Okura is a tall hotel. In Amsterdam, that's powerful! Try to grab a room on a high floor so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

we just got back from a stay at the Okura Amsterdam hotel. As experienced travelers, as well professional as personal travels, we can really recommend this hotel. It's located in a very nice area (walking distance from the RAI, international restaurants and bars). The service in the hotel is of a very high level. In case of a problem, within 10 minutes someone is in your room to fix it. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is top. Rooms are very nice as well. There's a big garage underneath the hotel where you can park you car safely, with an entrance immediately to the hotel.
This hotel has some amazing restaurants, several are Michelin star rated! If you go there, you absolutely need to try the Yamazato restaurant. Do make reservations upfront!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business in a lovely room . It was their basic room but still classy and did not feel cramped. The only strange thing is the bathroom wall is glass, it has it's advantages as you can have a relaxing soak and watch the large flat screen TV. Only gripe was checking out when that as a women I should wait as the business men were in a rush ! Not what I would I would expect anywhere in Europe . Perhaps they should educate their staff that business women are also trying to check out in a rush as well. It is very convieient for RAI

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently travelled on business to Amsterdam.
I had selected the Hotel Okura based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor.
The hotel is fairly well located within a short 10 minute taxi ride to the centre of town.
The greeting was very warm and very professional from the moment I stepped out of the taxi until my bags arrived in the room.
Rooms are well appointed with Aircon, a decent bathroom with rain shower and a deep bath.
A very comfortable bed with a pillow menu, turn down service etc.
The concierge was more than helpful to get transport at any given opportunity.
The breaksfasts were excellent and very diverse. Staff, too, were very polite.
This hotel does especially accommodate Japanese/Asian business customers.
Check out was painless, too, with all the correct information on the bill. Sadly this is not the case for 75% hotels I stay in but very important when it comes to submitted a company expense – where all information being correct is a must. Pleased to see this is focused on so it does not start my day off on the wrong footing and leaves a positive experience in my mind.
I’d certainly recommend this hotel…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

After trying several other 4* NH hotels in Amsterdam and being unimpressed, I decided to try a 5* and it made all the difference! The welcome was personable, we were upgraded to a junior suite, the room was beautiful with a great view and the spa and pool were relaxing and perfect. I have found my new hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookIt.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.