We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly over-the-top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Truly over-the-top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Best hotel in Amsterdam, no contest. I booked 2 days and ended up staying a week, just to try all the amazing restaurants. Ciel Blu is immense, even their dessert presentation will blow you away. Try the gratin oysters.

I'd never had Teppanyaki before, and only visited because their other Japanese restuarant was fully booked. Little did I know this place was among the top Teppanyaki experiences in the entire world! Leave yourself a few hours to get the full experience. It's immersive.

I also had the best massage of my life (shiatsu) in the spa - but book well in advance. Their hours are tight and their availability is extremely limited. If you can manage to get a booking, you will be amazed. It rebooted my entire body.

The rooms are pretty standard for a five-star, but that's not what the Okura is about. The Okura is about total service. Late checkout? No problem. Best restaurants in town? Obviously. Is there a reason to even leave the hotel? If you can afford it, not really. This place is perfection.

Room Tip: Okura is a tall hotel. In Amsterdam, that's powerful! Try to grab a room on a high floor so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
402
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

we just got back from a stay at the Okura Amsterdam hotel. As experienced travelers, as well professional as personal travels, we can really recommend this hotel. It's located in a very nice area (walking distance from the RAI, international restaurants and bars). The service in the hotel is of a very high level. In case of a problem, within 10 minutes someone is in your room to fix it. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is top. Rooms are very nice as well. There's a big garage underneath the hotel where you can park you car safely, with an entrance immediately to the hotel.
This hotel has some amazing restaurants, several are Michelin star rated! If you go there, you absolutely need to try the Yamazato restaurant. Do make reservations upfront!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business in a lovely room . It was their basic room but still classy and did not feel cramped. The only strange thing is the bathroom wall is glass, it has it's advantages as you can have a relaxing soak and watch the large flat screen TV. Only gripe was checking out when that as a women I should wait as the business men were in a rush ! Not what I would I would expect anywhere in Europe . Perhaps they should educate their staff that business women are also trying to check out in a rush as well. It is very convieient for RAI

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently travelled on business to Amsterdam.
I had selected the Hotel Okura based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor.
The hotel is fairly well located within a short 10 minute taxi ride to the centre of town.
The greeting was very warm and very professional from the moment I stepped out of the taxi until my bags arrived in the room.
Rooms are well appointed with Aircon, a decent bathroom with rain shower and a deep bath.
A very comfortable bed with a pillow menu, turn down service etc.
The concierge was more than helpful to get transport at any given opportunity.
The breaksfasts were excellent and very diverse. Staff, too, were very polite.
This hotel does especially accommodate Japanese/Asian business customers.
Check out was painless, too, with all the correct information on the bill. Sadly this is not the case for 75% hotels I stay in but very important when it comes to submitted a company expense – where all information being correct is a must. Pleased to see this is focused on so it does not start my day off on the wrong footing and leaves a positive experience in my mind.
I’d certainly recommend this hotel…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

After trying several other 4* NH hotels in Amsterdam and being unimpressed, I decided to try a 5* and it made all the difference! The welcome was personable, we were upgraded to a junior suite, the room was beautiful with a great view and the spa and pool were relaxing and perfect. I have found my new hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I am disappointed this time for a few reasons:

1. First of all they sold me a much smaller room at a much higher price. In December I had stayed on the executive floor and I paid much less, now I stayed ina a very small room and I paid more.

2. The hotel did not let me know that there was going to be special arrangements for the Nuclear Summit meeting of the presidents and I did not feel comfortable.

3. I found out that the bathrooms facilities that I found on the executive floor are not available in other rooms (such as bide)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Utku67,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Okura Amsterdam. Your recent stay was indeed during the NSS conference and due to this situation some additional security measurements were taken and we were unable to offer you the higher room category. Since we would appreciate to have a conversation with you about your experiences and since we truly hope that you will return to the Okura in the future, we hope that you will contact us so. Can you please send your contact details to feedback@okura.nl?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. I wish I could stay at the Okura every time I visit but my budget doesn't always permit! The restaurant is so fantastic - you almost aren't temped to try any of the restaurants in the city! I recommend it if you can.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.