We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with 2 Michelin stared Resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Luxury with 2 Michelin stared Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business in a lovely room . It was their basic room but still classy and did not feel cramped. The only strange thing is the bathroom wall is glass, it has it's advantages as you can have a relaxing soak and watch the large flat screen TV. Only gripe was checking out when that as a women I should wait as the business men were in a rush ! Not what I would I would expect anywhere in Europe . Perhaps they should educate their staff that business women are also trying to check out in a rush as well. It is very convieient for RAI

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    365
    92
    40
    17
See reviews for
176
558
75
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I recently travelled on business to Amsterdam.
I had selected the Hotel Okura based on previous reviews on TripAdvisor.
The hotel is fairly well located within a short 10 minute taxi ride to the centre of town.
The greeting was very warm and very professional from the moment I stepped out of the taxi until my bags arrived in the room.
Rooms are well appointed with Aircon, a decent bathroom with rain shower and a deep bath.
A very comfortable bed with a pillow menu, turn down service etc.
The concierge was more than helpful to get transport at any given opportunity.
The breaksfasts were excellent and very diverse. Staff, too, were very polite.
This hotel does especially accommodate Japanese/Asian business customers.
Check out was painless, too, with all the correct information on the bill. Sadly this is not the case for 75% hotels I stay in but very important when it comes to submitted a company expense – where all information being correct is a must. Pleased to see this is focused on so it does not start my day off on the wrong footing and leaves a positive experience in my mind.
I’d certainly recommend this hotel…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

After trying several other 4* NH hotels in Amsterdam and being unimpressed, I decided to try a 5* and it made all the difference! The welcome was personable, we were upgraded to a junior suite, the room was beautiful with a great view and the spa and pool were relaxing and perfect. I have found my new hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I am disappointed this time for a few reasons:

1. First of all they sold me a much smaller room at a much higher price. In December I had stayed on the executive floor and I paid much less, now I stayed ina a very small room and I paid more.

2. The hotel did not let me know that there was going to be special arrangements for the Nuclear Summit meeting of the presidents and I did not feel comfortable.

3. I found out that the bathrooms facilities that I found on the executive floor are not available in other rooms (such as bide)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Utku67,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Okura Amsterdam. Your recent stay was indeed during the NSS conference and due to this situation some additional security measurements were taken and we were unable to offer you the higher room category. Since we would appreciate to have a conversation with you about your experiences and since we truly hope that you will return to the Okura in the future, we hope that you will contact us so. Can you please send your contact details to feedback@okura.nl?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. I wish I could stay at the Okura every time I visit but my budget doesn't always permit! The restaurant is so fantastic - you almost aren't temped to try any of the restaurants in the city! I recommend it if you can.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Okura for a business trip with a conference held there. The hotel has great meeting rooms and it was extremely convenient. My hotel room was fairly spacious and modern. It was comfortable and clean, with maid service coming in twice a day. The hotel staff was extremely helpful throughout my stay. The buffet breakfast had an excellent assortment of options and the food was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam on business but it's not great for tourists as it is a bit outside the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My brother invited us for diner in the private dining room on the 23rd floor to celebrate his birthday.
All four courses were prepared with great care. The combinations of ingredients (which were of very good quality) were very well chosen, therefore the flavors were great. All courses were quite original as well, both the taste of the food and the way it was presented.
The children were invited into the kitchen to prepare their own dessert.
The service was excellent.
And all this with a view you don't see every day.
An evening to remember :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#25 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.