We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Modiin, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during my company's annual sales kickoff.
It was outstanding. The rooms were perfect. The internet was great, the food was in good taste.
The conference halls were a good size. Coffee breaks were well managed. It was a great choice to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    352
    89
    38
    17
See reviews for
168
531
72
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
102 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently,for work, cannot fault anything except maybe €15 to use the gym!

All staff were really helpful & friendly. We were staying at the hotel for a conference which was ran very smoothly.

Room was lovely, really appreciated the view & the bathroom looking into the room was quite fun. Very clean & room appeared to be freshly decorated.

Bar on 23rd floor gave great views over the city & lovely cocktails too.

Would recommend & stay again but found it to be more of a business hotel than one I would personally choose to stay at for leisure.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at the Okura.
Everything was amazing!
Take a Cocktail and Dinner at the roof Top Bar and restaurant.
The rooms are very comfortable and you have a fantastic view over Amsterdam.
Thanks a lot for the great Team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The price and reputation dictated our high expectations of this smart hotel and those were easily met. Very welcoming, professional and polite staff, without exception. We had interconnecting rooms on the corner of a high floor which made for a very nice layout and double aspect. The rooms were very smart, with very large and comfortable beds. There is a high quality feel to the whole place.
There was an odd sense of missed opportunity - we actually knew there were a bunch of fine restaurants in the hotel, but I was expecting to be asked at check-in whether I wanted to book (or perhaps be told, sorry they are full etc.) but they weren't mentioned. Actually it didn't matter to us because we ate out, but it was a kind of theme. On day 3 we noticed a great bar on the ground floor with a giant screen showing the winter olympics. Shame! We would have enjoyed tea in there if we'd known about it. Gym, same, we found it (and it is great, also with a very nice pool, great saunas etc.) but of our own accord. We asked the concierge how to get to town and which museum to visit, he very politely told us, take the tram etc. We went to the tram and struggled to buy tickets etc. Next day found out you can buy them (and other tickets) from the concierge! As we left the hotel we noticed a sign to the gift shop!
So my advice is just to ask loads of questions to make sure you don't miss anything here!
The district that the hotel is in seems on the map to be a bit out of the way but in fact it's not a long tram ride (or frankly, even walk) to town. And actually quite a few very nice restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear BritfromJapan,

First of all many thanks for your recent stay at Hotel Okura Amsterdam and for your feedback. We regret that not all facilities and services were properly explained upon your arrival and apologize for this. Meanwhile this is discussed with the team involved in order to learn from your experiences and prevent these issues in the future.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Okura Amsterdam. Please feel free to contact us via feedback@okura.nl in case we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,

Management
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a very classy business hotel.
The room was really great and the staff was polite and helpful. It was a little to business for my taste, but that's not the hotels or staffs fault at all.
It was a little bit far away from the center of Amsterdam and it took about 45 minutes for us to walk from the central station to the hotel, but it didn't matter. We loved to walk all the way and eventually learned to take the tram.
I would recommend it for people who like the first class feeling, but not for us who carry bags of gifts and candy from the local grocery store. I smuggled all the candy paper out, because I didn't want to leave it for the housekeeper.
But again, great staff and great hotel, with beautifully dressed people (in gowns and suits).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our third stay at the Okura and as always, the room was luxurious and in perfect condition, and the service was both highly efficient and friendly. The Japanese breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calusco D'adda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've spent a night in an executive room: very big, clean and full of luxurious aminities. Great view from the 17th floor, huge breakfast buffet. Lots of towel, very soft and comfy. Fast check-in, which was the only moment I interacted with the staff. It was a sort stay but really enjoyed and hopefully will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Splendia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.