We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vieda Shelley The lap of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vieda Shelley The lap of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent three nights at the Okura arriving somewhat exhausted and bedraggled. However, the staff greeted us as though we were long lost relatives and relieved us of our luggage. The service was very quick, helpful and friendly without being in the least bit overbearing. The room was so comfortable we hardly wanted to leave in the mornings. We didn't have time to visit the sauna or swimming pool because we spent so much time in the galleries. That said it's a fair walk to the museums but it gave us some exercise.

Room Tip: Our room rate did not include breakfast or the health club. It might be worth looking into before bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    268
    70
    34
    14
See reviews for
124
380
63
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I strongly suggest this hotel in light of the fact that:
- all the personnel is very very good and nice;
- the rooms are organized in a way that you do not feel oppressed, like happens in many other hotels;
- the cab service in front of the hotel is very efficient;
- the food is very good.
Quality/Price excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

When traveling for business or pleasure, whether luxurious or spartan, one expects your lodging to meet expectations. The Okura Hotel in Amsterdam is a fabulous 5 star type hotel. This was my second time at this property within a year. The staff is professional and polite. The breakfast fresh with a wide assortment of choices. The hotel restaurants are delightful. The housekeeping staff is attentive and works diligently to keep your room comfortable and clean. The gym is well appointed including weights, treadmills, lap pools, whirlpool, steam and dry saunas with a cold plunge pool. The location is convenient for both pleasure and business. The Concierge desk is more helpful than you can imagine, especially Lex.

Room Tip: A corner suite overlooking the Amstel canal on the executive floors provides a great view of the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My family (wife and two young kids) and I stayed at the Okuraast weekend and encountered a fantastic stay. The rooms are very very spacious, and we opted for two connecting rooms. The linens are very soft and feel luxurious, the decor in the rooms is best described as with earth tones, a good mix between classic and modern. All Okura's restaurants are fantastic but we had a private dinner appointment with friends, so did not try ourselves.
The spa has fabulous Sothys products and treatments. The pool is large for a city hotel and the gym is extensive and complete.
The breakfast is a good choice instead of going into town. The products are freshly prepared at the buffet counter.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all a great hotel!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've stayed several times in the Okura Hotel during the last two years. I finally decided to write down a review, as the hotel Okura deserves one! In my opinion this is Amsterdam's finest hotel. The building is a true landmark itself, it can't be missed! Did you know that the color of the roof varies with the different weather?? The staff is friendly and efficient. They are there to help you make the best of your stay.
The rooms are great, especially when staying on a higher floor, great views over Amsterdam. One of the greatest things is being able to take a bath whilst enjoying the view over Amsterdam. The beds a great with very soft linens. The hotel houses several great restaurants, I really like the teppanyaki restaurant Sazanka, if you like beef you must try the Wagyu menu!!!! On the top floor bar 23 offers the best views of the city and great cocktails! My girlfriend makes fun of me because of the fact that I love a girly drink, the Flamingo, it's a non alcoholic drink with coconut, so good!! Don't come here if you are on a budget, as with everything in life, great cars, great hotels and great girls, they all cost money ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Lovely, appointed bathroom, excellent service, nice pool and fitness center. Room service food was very good. Great to arrive at 8:00 am and have my room ready. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bricklinng
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff of the Okura Hotel should take a bow for their considerate service. I arrived early AM after an overnight flight for a lunch meeting. They provided free use of health club including robe, towels, etc. to take a shower, after apologizing that no rooms were available. Health club and pool were excellent. Food in the Japanese Restaurant was also excellent. I asked to look at a room, which was well appointed, clean and with free internet. I would highly recommend this hotel, even though I did not actually remain overnight.

The only drawback is the location, which is not central. So for a tourist visit to Amsterdam, a more central location (think Grand Amrath Hotel) would be better. The Okura is a bit closer to Schipol airport than central Amsterdam, however, so a taxi to/from airport is both quicker and cheaper than if staying at the city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.