We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I strongly suggest this hotel in light of the fact that:
- all the personnel is very very good and nice;
- the rooms are organized in a way that you do not feel oppressed, like happens in many other hotels;
- the cab service in front of the hotel is very efficient;
- the food is very good.
Quality/Price excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    311
    74
    36
    16
See reviews for
146
445
69
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

When traveling for business or pleasure, whether luxurious or spartan, one expects your lodging to meet expectations. The Okura Hotel in Amsterdam is a fabulous 5 star type hotel. This was my second time at this property within a year. The staff is professional and polite. The breakfast fresh with a wide assortment of choices. The hotel restaurants are delightful. The housekeeping staff is attentive and works diligently to keep your room comfortable and clean. The gym is well appointed including weights, treadmills, lap pools, whirlpool, steam and dry saunas with a cold plunge pool. The location is convenient for both pleasure and business. The Concierge desk is more helpful than you can imagine, especially Lex.

Room Tip: A corner suite overlooking the Amstel canal on the executive floors provides a great view of the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My family (wife and two young kids) and I stayed at the Okuraast weekend and encountered a fantastic stay. The rooms are very very spacious, and we opted for two connecting rooms. The linens are very soft and feel luxurious, the decor in the rooms is best described as with earth tones, a good mix between classic and modern. All Okura's restaurants are fantastic but we had a private dinner appointment with friends, so did not try ourselves.
The spa has fabulous Sothys products and treatments. The pool is large for a city hotel and the gym is extensive and complete.
The breakfast is a good choice instead of going into town. The products are freshly prepared at the buffet counter.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all a great hotel!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've stayed several times in the Okura Hotel during the last two years. I finally decided to write down a review, as the hotel Okura deserves one! In my opinion this is Amsterdam's finest hotel. The building is a true landmark itself, it can't be missed! Did you know that the color of the roof varies with the different weather?? The staff is friendly and efficient. They are there to help you make the best of your stay.
The rooms are great, especially when staying on a higher floor, great views over Amsterdam. One of the greatest things is being able to take a bath whilst enjoying the view over Amsterdam. The beds a great with very soft linens. The hotel houses several great restaurants, I really like the teppanyaki restaurant Sazanka, if you like beef you must try the Wagyu menu!!!! On the top floor bar 23 offers the best views of the city and great cocktails! My girlfriend makes fun of me because of the fact that I love a girly drink, the Flamingo, it's a non alcoholic drink with coconut, so good!! Don't come here if you are on a budget, as with everything in life, great cars, great hotels and great girls, they all cost money ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Lovely, appointed bathroom, excellent service, nice pool and fitness center. Room service food was very good. Great to arrive at 8:00 am and have my room ready. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bricklinng
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff of the Okura Hotel should take a bow for their considerate service. I arrived early AM after an overnight flight for a lunch meeting. They provided free use of health club including robe, towels, etc. to take a shower, after apologizing that no rooms were available. Health club and pool were excellent. Food in the Japanese Restaurant was also excellent. I asked to look at a room, which was well appointed, clean and with free internet. I would highly recommend this hotel, even though I did not actually remain overnight.

The only drawback is the location, which is not central. So for a tourist visit to Amsterdam, a more central location (think Grand Amrath Hotel) would be better. The Okura is a bit closer to Schipol airport than central Amsterdam, however, so a taxi to/from airport is both quicker and cheaper than if staying at the city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We loved the spaciousness, quietness and quality of the junior suite we booked for a one night flying visit to Amsterdam. Nice super-kingsized bed with a sofa, chair and coffee table at the far end and a very large work desk, with chairs either side, in between. The layout of the room works really well as the sleeping area is separated from the bathroom and small room lobby by a set of internal doors, meaning that we got no noise from the external corridor. Also no hint of any smokiness which is how a no-smoking room should be!

Tram line 12 runs in the street outside the hotel with the nearest stops being accessible on foot in less than 5 minutes. For music lovers, this whisks you to the door of the Concertgebouw in a few minutes. The Rijksmuseum is also easily accessible.

We had a panoramic view of the centre of Amsterdam from our 17th floor windows but I would be lying if I pretended it was one of the world's greatest cityscapes.

Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice. All the staff we had contact with were exceptionally efficient and friendly. This is one hotel where having a guided tour of your room pays dividends as I might have struggled to work the lights and close the curtains without an explanation of how the room technology worked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.