We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and stylish Japanese hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb and stylish Japanese hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very welcoming hotel with extremely polite and helpful staff. We had an executive room on the 20th floor which, as you entered the room, the curtains opened and the lights came on automatically. A digital touch screen control pad on each side of the bed to control temperature, lights, curtains etc. The bathroom had a shower with duel sprays and the toilet had a built-in bidet. There was a terrific view of the city from our room too. We had full use of the exec lounge two floors up and the swimming pool, jacuzzi and spa area was well maintained and welcoming. Highly recommended with every member of staff taking the time to say hello.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    291
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
132
410
67
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

12 of us stayed here in early December for 3 nights booked through last minute. The hotel was one of the highlights of our weekend. We stayed in Executive rooms and had the use of the executive lounge which included beer,wine and nibbles. My wife enjoyed the heated toilet seat with built in wash and dry (yes for the bum) . We enjoyed the hotel so much we are looking at using other hotels within the group.
Dougiejo

Room Tip: Try calling last minute as the deal we got was not on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a very good, reliable 5 star hotel. Rooms are clean, staff is competent etc.
What is unique about this place is its restaurants. There are several extremely good restaurants there and it is nice to just go from the restaurant to your room.
What I find always a bit annoying is that many things need to be paid on top of the room like hi-speed internet, spa, breakfast etc. I did find out however that all you had to do what to book on their website and to become a member of their club to have access to the spa and other things for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Okura is lovely. Our room is on a high floor with the city spread out below. Many attractions (such as the museum district) are within a 20-minute walk. Interesting shops and restaurants are nearby. The room is compact but well appointed. Beautiful bathroom--two sinks, separate bath and shower. The hotel does a fantastic turndown service. Try to get a rate that includes the buffet breakfast, which is delicious. The staff is quite helpful. The pool and spa are clean and spacious. Quite a relaxing oasis in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Amsterdam is not be underestimated. I got the feel of the place and thought to myself that I am no longer in America. I checked in at Hotel Okura Amsterdam and their hotel transported me to a new place within a place! I’m a luxury diva and I high demand on the places that I stay in because when I go on a vacation, I want to feel that I really am on a vacation and comfort is of top priority. The hotel had modern interior with a touch of Japan. Their rooms were very cozy, especially the beds. Their restaurant was also relaxing and made me feel at ease while chatting with some friends. It had a great view, good food and a very accommodating staff. The spa gave me a very relaxing massage too. It had the right price to all the amenities present. Amsterdam just gave me another reason to come visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is truly an excellent hotel although a few things could be improved. Paying 35 Eur per day for the parking is outrageous on my opinion.

There a few large dirt stains in the over-cover cloths of our beds which is not acceptable for this level hotel. The coffee machine's hot water nozzle wasn't working properly and the free internet was too slow. Apart from these small issues, the hotel is perfectly located with very good service and truly a very nice Japanese restaurant. But I have to note something that deeply surprised me: there were not even one italian brand when we wanted to drink a glass of prosecco in the italian restaurant. They broight us only a mediocre spanish one. Howcome in an italian restaurant italian made proseccos don't exist?

Over all this hotel is excellent and if I go to Amsterdam I would still stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbühel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel was one of the best stays in Amsterdam i ever had, luxury lobby, breakfast is unbelieveable good:-) dreams get true:-) fresh fruits, bread, perfectly trained staff..

all in all a perfect stay in 5* Luxury hotel.

you can feel asian touch in this nice and luxury hotel, hotel is big, a lot of rooms, but you never feel that,
compliments to the staff, perfect staff, well stay next time even there,

with tram only some steps to city center...

Room Tip: take any room in higher floors to enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.