We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japan in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Japan in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Amsterdam is not be underestimated. I got the feel of the place and thought to myself that I am no longer in America. I checked in at Hotel Okura Amsterdam and their hotel transported me to a new place within a place! I’m a luxury diva and I high demand on the places that I stay in because when I go on a vacation, I want to feel that I really am on a vacation and comfort is of top priority. The hotel had modern interior with a touch of Japan. Their rooms were very cozy, especially the beds. Their restaurant was also relaxing and made me feel at ease while chatting with some friends. It had a great view, good food and a very accommodating staff. The spa gave me a very relaxing massage too. It had the right price to all the amenities present. Amsterdam just gave me another reason to come visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    294
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
134
412
67
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is truly an excellent hotel although a few things could be improved. Paying 35 Eur per day for the parking is outrageous on my opinion.

There a few large dirt stains in the over-cover cloths of our beds which is not acceptable for this level hotel. The coffee machine's hot water nozzle wasn't working properly and the free internet was too slow. Apart from these small issues, the hotel is perfectly located with very good service and truly a very nice Japanese restaurant. But I have to note something that deeply surprised me: there were not even one italian brand when we wanted to drink a glass of prosecco in the italian restaurant. They broight us only a mediocre spanish one. Howcome in an italian restaurant italian made proseccos don't exist?

Over all this hotel is excellent and if I go to Amsterdam I would still stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitzbühel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel was one of the best stays in Amsterdam i ever had, luxury lobby, breakfast is unbelieveable good:-) dreams get true:-) fresh fruits, bread, perfectly trained staff..

all in all a perfect stay in 5* Luxury hotel.

you can feel asian touch in this nice and luxury hotel, hotel is big, a lot of rooms, but you never feel that,
compliments to the staff, perfect staff, well stay next time even there,

with tram only some steps to city center...

Room Tip: take any room in higher floors to enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a luxury five star hotel with its own private jetty, located near the congress center on the Amstel Canal. The restaurant has an assortment of features such as the health club, a Japanese restaurant, Ciel Bleu restaurant and the new Serre Restaurant. This hotel is famous for its panoramic view and it restaurants serve some of the best cuisine you can come across this sides of the world. The rooms here are provided with a high speed internet access so that you can keep working when on a business trip. Addition to the great food you get and the wonderful service, there is the Nagomi Spa & Health to help you relax and enjoy your stay at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A beautiful modern hotel just outside the busy centre of Amsterdam, but on a street packed with restaurants. Modern and well appointed rooms, a beautiful spa (treatments not to be missed - although surprised it cost extra to go in), surprisingly good conference catering and facilities, good selection of restaurant for all tastes and very friendly staff. Bar on 23rd floor not to be missed - but drinks are expensive. Have to say I slept really well and bed was probably the most comfortable I've had anywhere. Easy access to the tram for heading to the centre or an array of taxis available. Alternatively the hotel is not surprisingly on a canal and concierge will arrange water taxi from 2 people up to 100 - definitely the way to visit the centre at least once, especially at night.

Room Tip: Try to 'go high' this is a 23 storey hotel and is one of the few high buildings around, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Staying in Amsterdam for just one night I decided to try Hotel Okura after having heard of their reputation. I was warmly greeted by very professional yet friendly staff and promptly received a key to an executive room, a slight upgrade from what I booked. The rooms are fairly conservative and understated; don't expect the most trendy design here. Also the location is slightly out of the way of the city centre. That being said, it was a lovely room with a wonderful view, luxurious bathroom and nice soft beds.

Unfortunately I had no time to use the bar, restaurant or spa. I definitely intend to stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the city centre on one of the top floors, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A very well appointed and managed hotel, first class! Modern and well appointed rooms, good catering and restaurant facilities with very friendly staff. The prices for drinks and simple meals are on the high side. Although breakfast was good its price is above other world class hotels, it is definitly on the high side. The same can be said for the restaurants, first rate with a top end price, too pricy for the average buisiness traveler.
RT

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.