We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel with a price to match” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Smart hotel with a price to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Beautiful and elegant, very friendly, helpful staff and well-appointed rooms. You pay for quality like that of course, but for me it just tips over the edge of a reasonable price. Room rates are one thing, but it's the price of things like drinks in the bar that sting.
I'd still go back and recommend it to others, but with so many other reasonably priced mid-range hotels in the area it's hard to justify the expense.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
402
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and the room was fabulous. Very big and bright with lots of natural light. I had an exec room and there was tons of space. Comfy bed and pillows, amazing bathroom with an interesting toilet control panel! The hotel was a bit too far out of the centre of Amsterdam for me to want to return on a leisure trip but for business it was fine. Exec rooms gave lounge access which was handy for meetings but snacks were poor and service was terrible with plates/glasses piled up and food/drinks not refreshed often enough and never any staff around when you needed them.

Room Tip: go for an exec room to use the lounge and have more space and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent only one night in this beautiful hotel, known to many but not to me yet.
We had a junior suite on the 18 floor, comfortable bed and amazing bathroom with the typical "Japanese toilette"....!
Breakfast is served in a very cosy restaurant where kind waiters/waitresses make sure you have all you need. They even cook eggs on the spot the way you like them.
A very positive experience to advice to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel the rooms were really nice, in fact everything about it was luxury. We were just on a city break and maybe we would not go as luxury next time as we never really used the room.
It was a little bit out from the City centre - at least a 25min walk, easy enough though on the way there, a little more difficult getting home :-)
We went to the bar which was supposed to be superior but we found it over priced and pretty dull to be honest.
We did not try the restaurants but maybe if we stayed for longer we would have made full use of the hotel. For a short weekend id probably opt for a cheaper hotel close to the city, For a long weekend and pure luxury then this would be my our first choice!

Room Tip: Higher floor - Better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Okura hotel over the weekend. Knowing Amsterdam quite well but never having stayed at this hotel, we didn't know what to expect. The stay really exceeded our expectation. Great hotel, amazing rooms, very nice staff and good food. Breakfast was amazing! I was amazed that the superior Japanese service (which I experience on my business trips to Japan) is actually possible in western Europe. Overall, my satisfaction with service in Amsterdam at hotels and restaurants was quite low but after the stay at Okura Hotel, I have completely changed my mind. Staff is very good and helpful (even with two little kids), superior beds, great views, fantastic food and especially, every little detail was taken care of. I am really looking forward to spending christmas in Amsterdam this year as I will stay at Okura.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are fatastic, really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was very impressed with the type of service friendly hotel staff and all with genuine carrying attitude. even in breakfast room still good service and even a cook that made omelets. Hotel has very good restaurants with Michelin stars. Rooms are well maintained had an upgrade to a small suite on the executive floor. few of the city was very nice and a very comfortable bed. Spa is small but again still there is a friendly staff available and all well maintained. will certainly go back.
Again was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Total luxury - amazing rooms, great staff, beautiful hotel, lovely spa, and good food! Couldn't have had a better stay. The location was a little far from city centre but it was worth it to have the extra nice hotel. It's worth walking around the neighbourhood for good dinner locations as the options at the hotel are VERY expensive and there are great local non-touristy options nearby. Definitely recommend this hotel, it's worth going to Amsterdam just to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.