We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ab Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Total luxury - amazing rooms, great staff, beautiful hotel, lovely spa, and good food! Couldn't have had a better stay. The location was a little far from city centre but it was worth it to have the extra nice hotel. It's worth walking around the neighbourhood for good dinner locations as the options at the hotel are VERY expensive and there are great local non-touristy options nearby. Definitely recommend this hotel, it's worth going to Amsterdam just to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    277
    71
    35
    14
See reviews for
128
389
64
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Uber clean rooms...mine overlooked the canal.....its a spectacular view. The breakfast buffet not only tasted scrumptious, but the range of options was amazing. Every night I felt like I was sleeping in the clouds because the bed and pillows were uber soft.

Room Tip: Choose one that overlooks the canal....priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our Stay at Okura was awesome. It's a beautiful place, clean,modern & classy. We didn't eat at either of the Michelin-starred restaurants, but we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet in a sunny glassed-in restaurant space overlooking a small canal. We also really liked the most fun feature in our room: a glass wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom! (with an automatic screen that can be lowered, thankfully). The pillows were great, too, which is important to me (they provide a pillow menu). We parked our car under the hotel, where they have a clean & protected garage.

The Location is not at the very center of town, however the Amsterdam streetcars (trollies/trams) are very easy to use, and in fact we did walk all the way back to the hotel from the old town on our first night. The trip from the old town to the hotel by tram takes probably 15 or 20 minutes, while the hotel is very close to the museum quarter by tram. The Rijksmuseum was only about 10 minutes or less by tram from the hotel. On our last visit to Amsterdam we stayed in the middle of the Old Town, so this time we enjoyed seeing a new neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Okura Hotel Amsterdam is a stunning hotel with first class facilities, backed by a team of staff who are warm, efficient and flexible. We felt fully supported by the extremely helpful staff throughout the conference and satellite events.
The food offered throughout the week was absolutely delicious, and the Sushi restaurants are beyond compare. The hotel is conveniently located, with a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the centre of Amsterdam - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Okura Hotel for a business event or a more personal visit to Amsterdam.
Evolve Events, London

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really loved this hotel, great location not far from all the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Good size rooms, well equipped gym and the pool area was lovely. We never ate in the hotel but we did ventured up to the bar on the 23th floor it has the best view especially on new years eve the fireworks looked amazing from here and the Cocktails were pretty fantastic aswell...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Overnight business trip staying at the Okura hotel was a real pleasure may not be the cheapest but the experience was well worth it
Large excellent room (1022) beautifully furnished spotlessly clean
From getting out of the taxi (around 45euro from airport) through checking was a seamless experience
To make the evening complete Sushi to the highest standard but you will need to pre book as it gets full
If your budget runs to this hotel it's well worth a visit but you must try the Sushi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. We stayed one night in an exec room on the 17th floor which was superb. Don't be put off by the location as it is easily accessible from Central Station by the 12 and 25 trams (get a 24 hour ticket for 7.50 euros). All the staff were really helpful and friendly, particularly the reception staff. The swimming pool and spa are brilliant.
The only criticism I have is the service in the exec lounge on the 22nd floor which was non-existent. Glasses and plates were left strewn on tables and the wine dispensers were not replenished. Another point, service at breakfast was a bit chaotic. I appreciate it was Saturday morning and most people seem to wait until the last hour of service but I am sure this is the case in most hotels and I think more staff were needed, especially another egg chef as the one was under quite a bit of pressure.
We got this hotel on a deal at a reduced rate so were happy with this but had we paid the full rate I would not have been.

Room Tip: Exec rooms on the 17th floor fabulous with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.