We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and it was amazing. All restaurants are very good. The staff is the most helpful and nice I have seen in europe lately.
Depending on the place you are visiting, it's very hard to find helpful staff. Amsterdam in general is a very nice and relaxed place to visit.

The hotel made sure we felt comfortable, gave us an Executive room upgrade and solved all of my problems in a timely manner. I had documents to print, send via courier, dinners to schedule, laundry. Everything worked flawlessly.

Room Tip: All rooms above 10th floor have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    294
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
134
412
67
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just returned from a three day trip to Amsterdam
and we stayed at the Hotel Okura
Our first impressions were lovely nice lobby, reception area light and spacious
The reception was a little busy as so had a wait of about 10 minutes
and then we went to our room 12 floor - very nicely furnished and nice fittings, the bathroom is lovely.
Our bags were brought up after about 10 minutes
Our first night we ate in the JapaneseTeppanyaki restaurant
very nice, the cooking was a little slow and fragmented, we had booked for 8.00 but arrived at 8.15 and we did'nt get anything until around 21.30, no chef infornt of us and so we tried to watch the chef on the other side of the table.
I would ask that they encourage the chefs to interact with the diners as this would improve the dining experience.
For Wine I ordered a 110 euro bottle of red wine and it was chilled - when i mentioned it to our waitress she said that it was normal as the heat from the Teppanyaki warms it up quite quickly ,
It didnt in our case and i felt that the wine was a waste of money.
I know this wine and have it at home and it really makes a difference to the taste.
The next bottle was a recommendation from the Wine waitress it was 90 euros and perfect and room temp.
when we left we wanted to go to the main lounge bar, but it had closed.
Apart from these issues - we really enjoyed our meal
There are a number of restaurants to pick from right upto 2 michelin stars
and Europes only michelined starred Japanese restaurant.
the second night we had drinks in the rooftop bar - very nice if a little pricey
2 x G & T's
a small beer and a small lemonade was 47 euros
we went out for dinner and came back at 12 again wanted to go to the lounge bar but it was closed.
The last night we again went out for dinner and came back at 22.58 and we went to the lounge bar but we were told that they were just closing and that we should go to the roof top bar.
we did'nt fancy going to this quite formal bar and so went to bed, not an ideal end but hay ho.
would have been nice to have been offered drinks in the lounge as we residents.

on the whole - I would stay here again as the location and rooms are lovely
Service is good but could be more attention to detail focused.
note the concierge were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Generally hotel was very nice and close to RAI. Especially room that I stayed (deluxe type) was perfect, very clean, tidy and well decorated. The only negative point for me is price. Think that you pay for breakfast €32,50 and you can only eat omelet, jams and some fruit. That was a little bit disappointment for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked okura due to proximity to Rai congress center.reception staff was adequate. Rooms are renovated and very well appointed. Nespresso machine. Very clean and excellent turn down service.lots of nice details and atmosphere. Did not use restaurant or gym due to lack of time.irs pricey, but high quality hotel if you need to stay in this area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A group of us were in Amsterdam for the weekend. The hotel was incredible and it made the trip. In particular, the concierge and doormen went the extra mile and provided excellent service. The rooms' view was spectular and rare in a city of mainly low-rises. The "pillow menu" was an added plus and something quite unique!

The only downsides were that the reception was a little slow on arrival and the gym and hotel spa should be free for guests (they charge a 15 Euro entry per day).

The hotel is well positioned but a little bit out of range from the city centre which is good if you want a break from the dodgy tourist areas of Amsterdam.

Overall, the hotel is great value for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHP_Zuidervliet
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We prebooked and paid this hotel for 2 nights 2 rooms in advance. Upon arrival the staff was mildy terrible so to say. We parked the car got our luggage up and upon check in we got greeted by a Dutch and Japanese (I assume with her name) which seemed to have rolled just out (if they were) from the hotel school. We preferred a cash deposit because our foreign cards they wanted to charge back resulting in a double transaction fee on our side. The cash deposit was 800 euro, which we didn't have us so we asked if we could use a debit card which didn't work. Union Pay used by more then 1 billion people how can you miss out on that. Eventually they accepted the 400 euro we had on us.

Going up the room itself is very nice, clean well maintained and well decorated. But then the next staff entertainment. We wanted a large ice bucket for a bottle of wine we had on us. But the servant showed up with a little bucket and literally said "I should explain myself better". Obviously his colleague didn't relay the message properly.

Morning breakfast again, we were asked to wait for a table but the vast majority was empty. After 2 minutes it was enough waiting and we walked in. Coffee took at least 10 minutes to get to the table. Also for a Japanese hotel I expected a bit more international food but it was all very Western except for a noodle soup.

That evening we asked for another ice bucket and some fruit, took 30+ minutes to show up by the very same charming guy from yesterday.

On the way out, the only staff that was consistently good were the door guys. Helpful with locations as well with the taxi's.

Now the kicker on checking out we were greeted by two chaotic girls who had a hard time getting our cash deposit back. On top of that after paying 1000 euro for 2x2 nights I still ended up paying 70 euro for my car I parked in the empty basement.

For a hotel with such name it's very disappointing and very different from what I'm used of their Shanghai branch which is compared this one very good.

As mentioned, the hardware, the building, the facilities all is very good, on the other hand the staff is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JHP_Zuidervliet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked the room and found it nicely decorated. Thank you very much for the compliments in regards to the doormen. We regret that you did not experience the five star service we are known for and that you experienced difficulties with paying the deposit. Your feedback enables us to improve our service and product. We hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is well known in Europe and we stayed here with a group after a meeting. The rooms are good, nice comfy bed and large shower. Nice guest amenities although the shampoo dispensers look tacky and cheap. Great view of Amsterdam. Restaurants are very famous but pricy. We skipped the breakfast (42 dollar) and walked outside in direction of the famous Albert Cuyp Market. Plenty of nice restaurants in this better And safe part of Amsterdam. Just something about the staff. They want to be very upscale but somehow it seems paralyzed. There it enough staff around at check-in and restaurants but it seemed not well coordinated. It could make a guest feel uncomfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.