We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I enjoyed a weekend stay at the Okura a short while ago. This hotel has excellent qualities in its F&B standards(!!), the quiet location, and, for business guests, the on-site as well as the nearby RAI conference facilties. Rooms are adequate for the hotel category and high-floor rooms come with a very nice view.

If one is here for leisure the Okura can be an excellent choice - it all depends on ones preferences. The hotel is outside the historical centre and doesn't have any period charm. If these aspects are important, choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: high-floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
403
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire. england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked this as a secret hotel and was totally satisfied. This really is a 5*.

Having read previous reviews, I was prepared for the tram ride and short walk to the hotel. It is worth it.

The room was only on the 3rd floor so had restricted views but it was a corner room which was flooded with light and it was everything I could have asked for

The bathroom, with his n hers basins, was a decent size with a separate shower. The shower had great pressure and steady temperature. Plenty of lovely thick towels, a great make-up/shaving mirror and toiletries and a thick towelling robe and slippers.

The room itself was large, just the right temperature, with a large comfortable bed. I didn't hear any hotel or external noise at all.

Lovely in-room coffee. Plenty of other nice touches.

The concierges were helpful and knowledgeable.

I didn't use any of the hotels facilities such as bars, restaurants and spa, but they all looked fabulous. The hotel is ultra modern and there were no signs of wear and tear at all.

Only downside is I could only get the rate for one night so had to move hotels. I will try to stay here for the whole trip next time as it will be worth paying a bit more and being a tad further out.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed a few times at a Junior Suite at Okura and always enjoyed a very good service. Very friendly staff and amazing in-house Restaurants. Also the twenty third bar is definately a recommendation. Junior Suites are very spacious, nice bathroom and a remote control for everything like curtains, light etc... Furniture and carpets should be renewed.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel website, good pre-pay rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The only bad point is that the Hotel is not on the center. But Amsterdam is small, so you can do everything walking even from the Hotel. I particularely like the bar at the top and the view. The Rooms are with a direct view from the Bathroon to the ootdoor, but you can close this view if you are not alone.
Very good adress in Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was it this hotel for five days in September. I attended a conference held at the hotel and did a few days of sightseeing in advance. The hotel is very, very nice. Clean, sleek and Modern. Rooms were large and had great baths with separate tub and shower. Nespresso machine in the room. There were several restaurants to choose from in the hotel. I really enjoyed the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant--although I found it to be rather pricey. I used the spa for a massage and really enjoyed it.

This hotel is located on the outskirts of central Amsterdam and is not within walking distance of any major tourist attraction. However, with a transit pass you are only a few blocks walk from anything. I found the tram system easy and convenient and was able to work my way around the city with no problems at all. I used an App on my iPhone to assist me.

I enjoyed this hotel and recommend to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our check in was very good in terms of efficiency and attention to detail, we were given information by both the concierge and front desk reception, despite being a large hotel it is evident hat customer service is a very high priority here.
Our room was immaculate, and very comfortable.
The hotel is a short walk to trams which go through he city either the 12 for the museum area or the 25 for the city and central station, the hotel sells the tram passes, recommend buying these to travel around the city . Another tip I when you check out and are travelling to central station by the taxi voucher at the hotel it is more cost effective than a metered taxi ride. The hotel has a very good selection of restaurants and there are also plenty near the hotel, a small supermarket is located not far from the hotel.
The hotels location is very good and importantly it's quiet we would certainly recommend this hotel, we were not disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are there because of a conference. Even if too expensive, Okura offers high quality rooms, security and good service. Free wifi available. The Japanese restaurant is somply exquisite with the preparation and food. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.