We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best choices in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best choices in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed a few times at a Junior Suite at Okura and always enjoyed a very good service. Very friendly staff and amazing in-house Restaurants. Also the twenty third bar is definately a recommendation. Junior Suites are very spacious, nice bathroom and a remote control for everything like curtains, light etc... Furniture and carpets should be renewed.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel website, good pre-pay rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    650
    262
    76
    35
    14
See reviews for
110
349
62
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The only bad point is that the Hotel is not on the center. But Amsterdam is small, so you can do everything walking even from the Hotel. I particularely like the bar at the top and the view. The Rooms are with a direct view from the Bathroon to the ootdoor, but you can close this view if you are not alone.
Very good adress in Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was it this hotel for five days in September. I attended a conference held at the hotel and did a few days of sightseeing in advance. The hotel is very, very nice. Clean, sleek and Modern. Rooms were large and had great baths with separate tub and shower. Nespresso machine in the room. There were several restaurants to choose from in the hotel. I really enjoyed the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant--although I found it to be rather pricey. I used the spa for a massage and really enjoyed it.

This hotel is located on the outskirts of central Amsterdam and is not within walking distance of any major tourist attraction. However, with a transit pass you are only a few blocks walk from anything. I found the tram system easy and convenient and was able to work my way around the city with no problems at all. I used an App on my iPhone to assist me.

I enjoyed this hotel and recommend to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our check in was very good in terms of efficiency and attention to detail, we were given information by both the concierge and front desk reception, despite being a large hotel it is evident hat customer service is a very high priority here.
Our room was immaculate, and very comfortable.
The hotel is a short walk to trams which go through he city either the 12 for the museum area or the 25 for the city and central station, the hotel sells the tram passes, recommend buying these to travel around the city . Another tip I when you check out and are travelling to central station by the taxi voucher at the hotel it is more cost effective than a metered taxi ride. The hotel has a very good selection of restaurants and there are also plenty near the hotel, a small supermarket is located not far from the hotel.
The hotels location is very good and importantly it's quiet we would certainly recommend this hotel, we were not disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are there because of a conference. Even if too expensive, Okura offers high quality rooms, security and good service. Free wifi available. The Japanese restaurant is somply exquisite with the preparation and food. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every thing is perfect at Okura Hotel in Amsterdam : service, restaurants,reception, concierge etc etc. I have been there many times and every time is a pleasure. Rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful view over Amsterdam City. My compliments ! For sure I will be back soon.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel, staff very good, facilities top notch...................except.
Coffee machine in room did not work so advised front desk. We had a letter advising that the "buzzing noise in the bathroom had been sorted" (what buzzing) but guess what the coffee machine still did not work. Bit poor for a 5* but this was simply an irritation.

Twenty Third Bar did very good Bloddy Marys.

Room Tip: Hotel is expensive when a large conference is being held at the nearby RAI conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.