We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okura: the service of a 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Okura: the service of a 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are there because of a conference. Even if too expensive, Okura offers high quality rooms, security and good service. Free wifi available. The Japanese restaurant is somply exquisite with the preparation and food. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    642
    249
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
111
350
62
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every thing is perfect at Okura Hotel in Amsterdam : service, restaurants,reception, concierge etc etc. I have been there many times and every time is a pleasure. Rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful view over Amsterdam City. My compliments ! For sure I will be back soon.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel, staff very good, facilities top notch...................except.
Coffee machine in room did not work so advised front desk. We had a letter advising that the "buzzing noise in the bathroom had been sorted" (what buzzing) but guess what the coffee machine still did not work. Bit poor for a 5* but this was simply an irritation.

Twenty Third Bar did very good Bloddy Marys.

Room Tip: Hotel is expensive when a large conference is being held at the nearby RAI conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As our original chosen hotel was overbooked, we were placed at the Okura hotel. A nice upgrade hotel wise, but location wise it was a step back. Luckily there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel, because walking into town is a bit too far.

We were provided with a nice (bit outdated) corner room on the 19th floor. You could open the curtains with a remote control when lying in the bed, which was really nice given the view. The bathroom had a second television, which was located in a place that made it totally useless. You could only use it when standing in the door opening. TV is not really I would comment on when being on a holiday, but this was rather silly.

The reason for not giving 5 stars to the place is related to the service that we received. When entering and leaving the hotel, our luggage was not taken by the bellboy (maybe it was too small?) and checking in took us too much time. Furthermore I found it strange that when checking in in a Dutch hotel, we were forced to talk in English as there was no Dutch staff available.

We did not use the breakfast facilities as they are really expensive (as is the entire hotel). Lovely places nearby to have breakfast, so don't worry.

For the money we paid for our original hotel, this was worth the money, but for the money the room actually costed, I believe it to be overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here twice now and it just gets better each time one of my favorite places to visit.
Very professional and friendly service with great rooms and amazing choice of restaurants.
Rooms are very modern and comfortable with great views of the city (You can order pillows from a menu just one nice touch)
Serre restaurant and Yamazato restaurant are both brilliant.
During the day service was efficient, plentiful and staff were motivated however during night the team seemed under staffed as receptionist/ porter/ room service/ housekeeping seemed to consist of two people and on weekends management should really look into scheduling more this is the only negative point during both of my stays.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at Okura Hotel, Amsterdam for 4 nights while attending the European Society of Cardiology. The staff was helpful & professional. Hotel was superb. The hotels location was ideal. About 7 minutes walk from the RAI Convention center, 18 minutes walk from the Museumplein(museums square). Also the hotel is located between two tram stops, which makes getting around the city very easy. Team 25 takes you through Dam square and end in the Centraal station ( the busiest region of Amsterdam).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 3 days in Okura hotel for meeting with 40 people from everywhere in the world (Europe, Asia, Turkey, Russia, USA...). So we needed to get an excellent hotel. Everybody was satisfied.

The bedroom are clean and have a nice style. Meeting room was arranged as we wish, food was nice, and people very kind and reactive. However be careful to the price of business center (we paid a lot of money for copies)...

I do recommand this hotel, you the japanese quality is very good.

PS: don't miss if you can to eat at tepaniaky restaurant (be careful it's very expensive but delicious)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.