We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okura: the service of a 5*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Okura: the service of a 5*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We are there because of a conference. Even if too expensive, Okura offers high quality rooms, security and good service. Free wifi available. The Japanese restaurant is somply exquisite with the preparation and food. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every thing is perfect at Okura Hotel in Amsterdam : service, restaurants,reception, concierge etc etc. I have been there many times and every time is a pleasure. Rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful view over Amsterdam City. My compliments ! For sure I will be back soon.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notteinfinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel, staff very good, facilities top notch...................except.
Coffee machine in room did not work so advised front desk. We had a letter advising that the "buzzing noise in the bathroom had been sorted" (what buzzing) but guess what the coffee machine still did not work. Bit poor for a 5* but this was simply an irritation.

Twenty Third Bar did very good Bloddy Marys.

Room Tip: Hotel is expensive when a large conference is being held at the nearby RAI conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPRBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As our original chosen hotel was overbooked, we were placed at the Okura hotel. A nice upgrade hotel wise, but location wise it was a step back. Luckily there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel, because walking into town is a bit too far.

We were provided with a nice (bit outdated) corner room on the 19th floor. You could open the curtains with a remote control when lying in the bed, which was really nice given the view. The bathroom had a second television, which was located in a place that made it totally useless. You could only use it when standing in the door opening. TV is not really I would comment on when being on a holiday, but this was rather silly.

The reason for not giving 5 stars to the place is related to the service that we received. When entering and leaving the hotel, our luggage was not taken by the bellboy (maybe it was too small?) and checking in took us too much time. Furthermore I found it strange that when checking in in a Dutch hotel, we were forced to talk in English as there was no Dutch staff available.

We did not use the breakfast facilities as they are really expensive (as is the entire hotel). Lovely places nearby to have breakfast, so don't worry.

For the money we paid for our original hotel, this was worth the money, but for the money the room actually costed, I believe it to be overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsie_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here twice now and it just gets better each time one of my favorite places to visit.
Very professional and friendly service with great rooms and amazing choice of restaurants.
Rooms are very modern and comfortable with great views of the city (You can order pillows from a menu just one nice touch)
Serre restaurant and Yamazato restaurant are both brilliant.
During the day service was efficient, plentiful and staff were motivated however during night the team seemed under staffed as receptionist/ porter/ room service/ housekeeping seemed to consist of two people and on weekends management should really look into scheduling more this is the only negative point during both of my stays.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlondon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Okura Hotel, Amsterdam for 4 nights while attending the European Society of Cardiology. The staff was helpful & professional. Hotel was superb. The hotels location was ideal. About 7 minutes walk from the RAI Convention center, 18 minutes walk from the Museumplein(museums square). Also the hotel is located between two tram stops, which makes getting around the city very easy. Team 25 takes you through Dam square and end in the Centraal station ( the busiest region of Amsterdam).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyshloozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 3 days in Okura hotel for meeting with 40 people from everywhere in the world (Europe, Asia, Turkey, Russia, USA...). So we needed to get an excellent hotel. Everybody was satisfied.

The bedroom are clean and have a nice style. Meeting room was arranged as we wish, food was nice, and people very kind and reactive. However be careful to the price of business center (we paid a lot of money for copies)...

I do recommand this hotel, you the japanese quality is very good.

PS: don't miss if you can to eat at tepaniaky restaurant (be careful it's very expensive but delicious)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FIRTH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#30 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,982 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing