We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every thing is perfect at Okura Hotel in Amsterdam : service, restaurants,reception, concierge etc etc. I have been there many times and every time is a pleasure. Rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful view over Amsterdam City. My compliments ! For sure I will be back soon.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    294
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
134
412
67
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel, staff very good, facilities top notch...................except.
Coffee machine in room did not work so advised front desk. We had a letter advising that the "buzzing noise in the bathroom had been sorted" (what buzzing) but guess what the coffee machine still did not work. Bit poor for a 5* but this was simply an irritation.

Twenty Third Bar did very good Bloddy Marys.

Room Tip: Hotel is expensive when a large conference is being held at the nearby RAI conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As our original chosen hotel was overbooked, we were placed at the Okura hotel. A nice upgrade hotel wise, but location wise it was a step back. Luckily there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel, because walking into town is a bit too far.

We were provided with a nice (bit outdated) corner room on the 19th floor. You could open the curtains with a remote control when lying in the bed, which was really nice given the view. The bathroom had a second television, which was located in a place that made it totally useless. You could only use it when standing in the door opening. TV is not really I would comment on when being on a holiday, but this was rather silly.

The reason for not giving 5 stars to the place is related to the service that we received. When entering and leaving the hotel, our luggage was not taken by the bellboy (maybe it was too small?) and checking in took us too much time. Furthermore I found it strange that when checking in in a Dutch hotel, we were forced to talk in English as there was no Dutch staff available.

We did not use the breakfast facilities as they are really expensive (as is the entire hotel). Lovely places nearby to have breakfast, so don't worry.

For the money we paid for our original hotel, this was worth the money, but for the money the room actually costed, I believe it to be overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here twice now and it just gets better each time one of my favorite places to visit.
Very professional and friendly service with great rooms and amazing choice of restaurants.
Rooms are very modern and comfortable with great views of the city (You can order pillows from a menu just one nice touch)
Serre restaurant and Yamazato restaurant are both brilliant.
During the day service was efficient, plentiful and staff were motivated however during night the team seemed under staffed as receptionist/ porter/ room service/ housekeeping seemed to consist of two people and on weekends management should really look into scheduling more this is the only negative point during both of my stays.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at Okura Hotel, Amsterdam for 4 nights while attending the European Society of Cardiology. The staff was helpful & professional. Hotel was superb. The hotels location was ideal. About 7 minutes walk from the RAI Convention center, 18 minutes walk from the Museumplein(museums square). Also the hotel is located between two tram stops, which makes getting around the city very easy. Team 25 takes you through Dam square and end in the Centraal station ( the busiest region of Amsterdam).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 3 days in Okura hotel for meeting with 40 people from everywhere in the world (Europe, Asia, Turkey, Russia, USA...). So we needed to get an excellent hotel. Everybody was satisfied.

The bedroom are clean and have a nice style. Meeting room was arranged as we wish, food was nice, and people very kind and reactive. However be careful to the price of business center (we paid a lot of money for copies)...

I do recommand this hotel, you the japanese quality is very good.

PS: don't miss if you can to eat at tepaniaky restaurant (be careful it's very expensive but delicious)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
se
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in sept 2013.
The good
First impressions were really good, hotel lobby is very impressive.
We liked the location, nice neighbourhood and easy tram ride to centre.
We enjoyed a cocktail in the 23rd bar. The staff there were excellent and friendly.

The bad
On check in no detail of what the amenities of the hotel were, eg when breakfast was served, where and at what cost. Where the leisure centre, spa is ....just basic info.

It was my husbands birthday and on check in we were advised that we were being upgraded to a superior room. We were thrilled. First impressions of the room were good. The bathroom was nice but the view of the rear/SIDe of the hotel was a little underwhelming. ( I had been hoping for a nicer view based on reviews)
When we checked out the bathroom we noticed that the wall mounted tv wasn't working. The controls on the wall were very
worn and it was obviously in need of repair.(the bathroom door also seemed swollen and wouldn't open/close easily) I phoned reception and they told me they would send someone. 2 hours later no one arrived so we headed out. On our way back I enquired if tv had been sorted. The receptionist said again she would send someone. But next morning still nothing done. Finally after my third time asking we were told the tv was beyond repair and would need to be replaced. We were offered a move to another room which we declined as by that stage we were checking out next morning. The reception staff were cold and clinical in their apologies. I expected way more from a 5 star hotel.

Finally I found that unless you are eating in one of the restaurants or you pay the fee to use the leisure centre basically there are no free communal amenities for guests. The lobby is not an area conducive to sitting reading a book and the canal terrace can
only be reached via one of the restaurants.
I would try ond of the other hotels in future

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.