We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kristinehamn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a conference (RIPE65, September 2012). It's nice hotel although little off from the town center. The hotel itself was nice. I had a nice room. The food was excellent. The best part was the SPA. It's one of the best SPA in a hotel I ever been to. Some parts of the hotel was under reconstruction but it didn't bother me much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Aggplanta,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us in September 2012. Happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our Nagomi Spa facilities! All the construction works were finished at the beginning of this year, so if you are around feel free to visit us again in order to see the results!
Kind regards
~ The Okura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
403
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walterville, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Okura. We arrived after flying from Portland, OR to a very friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel is located in a quiet area that has easy access to the city center by the #25 or #12 tram. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. Everyone was extremely friendly. The hotel has a business center that enabled us to have computer access with a printer. The room was impeccable. The bed was very comfortable and provided us with a good sleep every night. There is a large window between the bed and the bath tub with a motorized shade that made the room all the more interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the Okura, situated next to a canal in a quit part of Amsterdam. Very well located for both the museum park(12) and the city centre (25), both easily reached by Tram.

We were made to feel special from the moment we entered the Okura. Check-in was very quick, the person checking us in was very friendly and informative, giving us his view of the city and where to go. We were given an upgrade to a room on the executive floor with a room overlooking the city. The views from our room on the 22nd floor were spectacular. The trip was for our anniversary and the manager had arranged for a gift and lovely flowers to be delivered to our room.

Our room was very peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom also looked out over the city and if you didn't want to admire the city views from your bath or shower ( remember this was the 22nd floor) you could watch the TV on the widescreen installed in the bathroom. Very nice toiletries, bathrobes, etc. The bed was slublime.

Breakfast was very good , my wife opted for the healthy noodles option, I stayed with the usual cooked breakfast.

The Okura was certainly a treat, but well worth every penny. Next time we stay we have promised ourselves dinner in the Michellin 2 stared Japanese restaurant.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a three night stop in an Executive Room at this hotel and everything was exceptional. Staff were very welcoming especially the lady who greeted us at breakfast each morning. The hotel room was top class and so was the service wherever we went within the hotel. The concierge was very helpful as to how to get into the City centre. If there was one draw back it was the distance to travel into the City Centre but once you knew where to go this was not insurmountable but be aware the trams stop at just after midnight so you would have to pay for a taxi or catch the night bus. In fairness this didn't affect us and we caught the last tram on both nights.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you get the option choose an Executive Room they are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent three nights at Okura in June 2013. Liked the location: not far from the center (30 min walk) but quiet and not as noisy and "touristy". Nice room with a nice view. Good facilities overall, including food and conference facilities. The only big downside is the charge for the use of fitness center - never seen this before! Quite pricey, but Amsterdam is an expensive location anyway. Some nice restaurants and cafes in the area, and enjoyable walking/jogging along canals.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on upper floors - you'll get a very good view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is close enough to the center but easy enough to come there. The service is really great. The rooms are very good positioned so you have a good view outside. The bar on 23th is very nice.
We came by boat and parked it for the night. Since it is a bit outside the center it is more safe.

We will come back here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and have an excellent view over Amsterdam. You won't close the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My self and my sister visited the Okura for her 30th birthday and we couldn't have wished for a better visit.
Fabulous hotel with outstanding staff, we would definitely go again and recommend it to all of our friends.
The food was fantastic with a wide variety to choose from and the room we stayed in was perfect, leading to a very peaceful nights sleep.
It was very easy to get to the city centre with trams going by every 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If your not scared of heights, get a room high up, as the views of the city were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.