We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor for business trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 18 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor for business trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in order to attend a conference at the RAI centre. The hotel was booked for me by the conference organisers since it was closest to the RAI. They paid for one of the nights, I paid the other 2 and felt well ripped off.

I arrived at the hotel by public transport - the tram 25 gets within about 2-300 merres of the hotel. The walk to the hotel entrance takes you through a run down car park with no easy pavement area and could be improved a lot.

Check in was fine and quick.

The room was generally OK, although rather small, as was the bathroom/toilet. Given that this was only June, and the outside temperature was only about 20C, the air con was verging on ineffective. The room was stuffy, and the window could not be opened far enough. Bed was comfortable.

The wardrobe had a bizarre lighting mechanism - open it at the end where there was no hanging rail (just the safe) and the light came on. Open it at the end where the hanging rail was, and the light went off...

The worst feature of the room was trying to work there. The desk had no power supply and no Ethernet cable. I had to pull a light plug out of the wall to charge my laptop. There was supposed to be Wireless LAN in the room, but the cost was extortionate and connectivity was poor. Paying over 200 Euros per night, I expect free internet access (as I received in my $99 room the previous week in the USA).

Breakfast was similarly heavily over-priced, and we only ate there when it was paid for by the conference company.

It's a fair walk to the RAI, and in future I would find a better value hotel with public transport to the centre.

Check out was not as slick as it should have been. As stated, bed and breakfast for the first night was paid for, but I had to remind the receptionist of this twice before she accepted it, and then went and printed my bill with the breakfast charge still on it. It came over as another attempt to gouge for more money.

Overall - OK location for RAI, OK rooms, poor for business, exceptionally poor value.

  • Liked — Provision of robes...
  • Disliked — Price and business facillities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    639
    260
    75
    35
    13
See reviews for
107
345
62
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

First of all this is an ordinary hotel pretending to be a 5 star establishment - it is far from it except for exorbitant prices. It also extremely unhygienic - two observations during my stay:
1) I was coming back to my room and found it was being serviced – the maid was in the bathroom, she was wearing rubber gloves and had just finished cleaning the bath/shower and toilet. Then, while still wearing those same rubber gloves, she took the used drinking glasses, rinsed them out in the sink and then took the used, dirty towels to dry the glasses. Not only is this unsanitary and poses a health risk, it is disgusting, That also means when you arrive at the hotel, your drinking glasses were wiped dry by the used dirty towels of the previous occupant. When I tried to discuss this with hotel management, they were more concerned that I found out what they do, but other than apologizing they did nothing to provide clean sanitized glasses.
2) During a conference break the waiters were setting up for lunch, one of them was arranging the cutlery using their bare unwashed hands touching the food end of each utensil as they arranged it in neat patterns.
Stay away, it is unhygienic, lousy service and way overpriced.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed here as part of a conference package. Pricey but worth it - I was upgraded to a fantastic suite. Pool area first class but hotel guests have to pay - a bit mean I think. Quite a walk from the old town too.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

This my first stay here. I am a big fan of the Okura hotel in tokyo. So I thought I would try this out when I on business in Amsterdam for one day. The check in was uneventful. I stayed in a room with two beds and a sofa. Carpets are little worn out. Other than than the rooms are good. The bathroom needs a little renovation too. Nice desk to work on. The lobby is typical Japanese style. Also great location in Amsterdam. I went to the gym in th4e afternoon. They charge extra 15 euros for using the gym, which did not make any sense to me. its a good gym though, with an excellent sauna.

I will stay here again, when I am back for business in Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I stayed at the Okura in March of 2007 and booked a junior suite. I was part of a conference staying at the hotel. The suite was well appointed. The service was fantastic. The hotel wasn't in the city center, however, a short cab ride or nice walk and you are right in the middle the city. I was very impressed wtih the level of service provided. The only downside was the glass shower door leaked water onto the floor in the bathroom. Maintenance couldn't get it fixed during my stay without taking the entire panel off, and they indicated it needed replacing. dso I lived with it.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

After me being not to positive in my review fro June 2007 I decided to give the Okura a second change. In order to prevent disappointment I booked a recently renovated deluxe junior suite for € 395.00 excluding breakfast.

The junior suites are very well decorated; large entrance with a small cloakroom; living room combined with bedroom in which a very nice sofa and some relaxfauteills finish the room. The bed is ok but not as good as the one's in the Marriotts :)!

Plus is the mechanisem to close the curtains and switch off / on the lights from your bed!

The bathroom is large. well equipt with an extra LCD tv.
The promissed rainshower fails the test; unfortunetalyonly small waterpressure is provided.

Overall; when you can affort it; go for the Deluxe rooms!, the prices tough are very very high; € 5.20 for a normal Coke!?, € 29.00 for a very basic continental breakfast!?( full American isn;t available ) the Okura is really pushing it's prices to the point where these kind of prices are getting absurd.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkuraAmstedam, PR at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2008
Dear Maximillian,

Thank you for the second change you gave to Okura Hotel Amsterdam. It is really good to see that you had a positive experience this time. For the next time you will stay in the hotel, we would like to inform you that the American breakfast is available in Le Camelia brasserie. We hope to see you in the future. With Kind regards Hotel Okura Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Okura Hotel is located very close to the center, which is convenient. It's a nice clean hotel. Our room had beautiful views of the city. Highlight of the trip was our dinner at the Japanese restaraunt there which was fantastic, perhaps one of the best japanese meals we've ever had. This is a pretty big hotel, so if you prefer privacy that is not the place for you. However, Okura Hotel is a good value and a great hotel to stay at if you are touring the city.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.