We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUALITY with capitals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“QUALITY with capitals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Quality as expected but than a little bit more. Details make the difference. Service with a smile, sincere. Proactivity. If you know what your guests want or like you are able to avoid questions.
That's makes Okura different and unique.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    294
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
133
412
67
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It may be one of the best hotels I ve ever stayed but there where some things that i wish it had for the price you pay! Free faster wifi, free breakfast and free access to fitness. I mean everything was perfect but i guess a 5 star hotel that far from center would add those things to the package,
Great location for a business trip. (close to RAI)

Room Tip: higher floors have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at the higher floors are very good: spacy, clean, wonderful views over the city, good bed and lots of (unnecessary) electronic gadgets. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The free internet is a joke. So slow they may as well cancel the service. Given the price of the room high speed internet should be available, reliable and free. The same for the fitness area and the breakfast: overpriced by far and no value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Check in: friendly but unhelpful. Did not offer the package for extras (breakfast, fitness, internet)
Room: very minimalistic but nice and clean
Room service: good food, service efficient &friendly
Housekeeper: very efficient, helpful and firendly
Front desk: unhelpful/unfriendly. The transportation arranged by my company did not turn out. I was stuck outside at night in very cold winds. Could not find a taxi. I decided to call the hotel and to ask them to send me one taxi. Front desk, on an hostile tone, put me thru the concierge, concierge keeps me waiting, bounces me back to front desk, which bounces me back to concierge which transfers me to the taxi company...in summary...it took me 23 minutes (on a chinese cell phone) to have a taxi arranged when it would have been sufficient to call one of the taxis standing in front of the hotel (at minimum 4 at all times) and send it over to me.
Fitness center: small but very good with nice/competent trainers...but I never had to pay for a fitness center in an hotel...not much, 15 euros, but it is the principle..
If I add the non central location, I would go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan. Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4-day vacation in Amsterdam.
Overall: very good experience. Great rooms: great design but also functional! Pleasant experience. Friendly and polite hotel staff. Nice public areas. Fast and efficient service.

Few things to consider:
1. Not in the center (5-min walk to a tram station)
2. Euro 32 euro per breakfast - not a reasonable price (we did not pay).
3. Free Internet is functional, but quite slow.

We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent service, very nice hotel.
Enjoyed a starter in Sky lounge bar with a stunning view over the city of Amsterdam. Diner in the famous Sazanka teppan yaki restaurant. I lived in Japan for two years and can honestly say that the diner experience is overwhelming.

Rooms are surprisingly spacious with proper climate control.
Overall fantastic day and night out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.