We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I don't give Okura 5 stars is location. The hotel is a bit outside the main part of town but the tram station is just a brief walk away & the concierge always had tram tickets on hand for us. Our room was very nice, clean and large, particularly by European standards. The staff was extremely helpful, both before (via my email requests) and during our stay. We ate at Yamazoto and our meal was fantastic, the best I had in 2 weeks while in Europe. The lounge upstairs didn't have the sweeping views I expected of Amsterdam, as the lounge area was small, with most of the viewing area on the floor going to Ciel Bleu. You are better off going to the Doubletree Sky Lounge down by the waterfront if you want get a great view of the city (and drink really expensive cocktails). Okura is a beautiful hotel, a bit off the beaten path, but also more quiet and elegant than you would get get downtown

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    259
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
370
63
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Hotel Okura. The hotel lobby, restaurants and rooms are very nicely decorated. Our room was spacious and very modern. We did have issues with the heating and cooling. The hotel is right on a canal.
The health club and pool were very nice.
The staff was pleasant and helpful. The check in was a little long as they were overly thorough. The one consigliere was not helpful. He was suppose to print off the train schedule, but forgot. Then he printed off the schedule for a different time then we requested.
They have taxis outside ready when you are. The bellman were helpful and friendly.
We took the breakfast and health club option. This was a good deal. The breakfasts were good, but the omelet chef (different one everyday) could not keep up with the small number of guests. They had a poor system to organize the omlets that were ordered, and he could only cook one at a time.
Hotel Okura is on the outer fringe of Amsterdam. The main part of town is walkable, i.e. ~15 minutes to the Heineken brewery. The Metro runs by the entrance of the hotel. This is a good option to get into the fun section of Amsterdam too.
Hotel Okura seems to be a famous hotel. Beyonce and the Queen of Holland were scheduled to stay here this month.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you travel as much as I do, you have seen them all, from the very good to the ones that you wouldn't allow your pet to stay in. When you stay in the finest hotel in a city, it is very apparent that it is the leader. Hotel Okura rooms are huge, modern, clean, and the service is perfect. Emmy, the manager, runs a tight ship and you see her everywhere. The teppanaki restaurant is out of this world also as is the 1 star michelin rated Japanese restaurant. Need anything? It is delivered to your door in a minute. I am handicapped and the staff was quite helpful with me. For instance I had some cleaning done. Imagine a hotel that helps you load your suitcase with the clean clothes; a great service. Everyone remembered me from a trip last year. Bottom line: this hotel is in the class of some of the classic hotels in the world. Experience it. You won't want to leave, as my co-worker said. Located in a neighborhood that is mostly residential escape the hustle and bustle of downtown Amsterdam. Hop on the trolley to go anywhere within a few minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had terrible experience with Okura: unfriendly staff, losing any interest in a guest if you don't tip. Cold corporate look everywhere. Felt really uncomfortable and unwelcome. In the room TV remote was broken, audio system present even in the toilet with no way to connect my music to it, noisy climate control: without it was too cold, with it was too noisy to sleep. I expected more from a hotel calling itself "luxury". Hope never stay there again (any Okura actually). If it were not a business trip, paid by a company, would rather get myself a room in a smaller hotel with some genuine character in old town: would be more central, twice cheaper and with friendlier staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear VladimirV,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. Can you please send your contact details to feedback@okura.nl so we can contact you about this matter?
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Noruega
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good memmories.
Fantanstic ducth staff.
Amazing wellcome.
Best ever room service!!!
The most beautiful easter decoration I ever seen.

Too sweet breakfast for me, I missed a good well cowboy cooked beens, the one served taste strange, missed even more cramberry juice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our second visit to the Okura, it really is second to none. Warm welcome, luxurious rooms and terrific food. Our main reason to come back was to sample the sumptuous fare at Yamazato, one of the greatest restaurants anywhere. Don't be put off by the location - it's a swift cycle ride into the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Four of us had a long weekend break and stayed at this fantastic hotel.
From the moment we arrived we all were made to feel very welcome.The staff on reception are exceptional in delivering customer service. Lek advised us on the best way to use the tram service and we were able to purchase the tickets from him. The hotel is situated quite a way from the city centre but we were aware of this before we booked. However the trams are frequent and a great way to see more of Amsterdam.
We were in rooms 216 & 217 they overlook the canal and were very quiet.They have a pillow menu so you can have a really good nights sleep.I was a bit concerned about the glass bathroom but there is a blind that gives you privacy. We were provided with lovely dressing gowns and slippers, good quality toiletries and the duvet was turned down each night. These are touches that make you feel that little bit more special.
The breakfast was included in the price that we paid for our stay.There was plenty of choice for all nationalities . We were impressed that when we were entering the dining room the man who was ticking off the room numbers could actually remember which room we were in before we confirmed it. No mean feat when you think how many people are staying there. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and professional.
The night before we were leaving we asked reception to
print our Boarding Cards for us, absolutely no problem. They take great delight in being of service.
Whilst we were there we went on the Hop on Hop off bus and a 75 minute canal trip. I booked this in advance and it is a cheaper option to paying on the day. We used a taxi service called SunTransfers they picked us up at the airport and then took us back. For four people we were charged 70 euros which I thought was very good value for money. They were on time and the cars were very clean.
We went to Keukenhoff unfortunately it has been so cold that all the flowers were not out but those that were were amazing.There were drifts of crocus and minature tulips. The lack of flowers did not spoil our enjoyment of the gardens. The indoor display of flowers were magnificent, not just the colours but the smell from the hyacinths and lillies were mind blowing. I would imagine that in another couple of weeks the outdoor displays will be spectacular.
I would have no hesitation in returning to this great city and staying at this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.