We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUBLIME and polite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SUBLIME and polite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in Okura Amsterdam in the summer of 2012. It is one of the best hotels in Europe I ever stayed in. Of course, going to Asia, you experience this service level most of the time but in Europe it is rare. Staff was very polite and helpful. The hotel lobby and room was just great and together with level of personal it for sure makes a difference with most hotels. We booked a standard room but as the overnight stay was because of a celebration for us, we got a royal upgrade. And so we stayed in a room (or let's say appartment) with a triple view to Amsterdam. Room was very spa-ci-ous (!!), luxury, clean and full of extra's. Also a TV in the bathoom. Not the most important thing in life but the extra luxury of a holiday. Breakfast was offered in a big room, so enough private space to enjoy first meal in the morning. Lots of different tastings and dishes, from sweet to sour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    259
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
369
63
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel Okura is located 15min walking distance from central Amsterdam, yet it is situated in a calm and relaxed neighborhood, making it an ideal place to stay. The service is truly remarkable from the moment you walk in. The check-in process took a while because I arrived early, but the receptionist (Pander) was very efficient, let alone welcoming and helpful. The service is great, the room is clean and made up properly every day. I tried the Sazanka teppanyaki restaurant, and the food was absolutely sensational. The bar on the 23rd is great with a cozy atmosphere, and provides a magnificient view of Amsterdam. My only negative comment is about the free internet service, which was relatively slow, but I think this is the case across most European hotels, that is if they provide free internet access at all. In summary, Hotel Okura is a great place to stay, and I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once back in 2008 and in 2012. I always felt it was more 4/5* before in 2008, now it definitely feels 5* although not as luxurious as other hotels such as the Amstel.

Location wise it isn't central at all so you have to be prepared to travel if you wanted Amsterdam. It is in a nice residential area though, so can go for nice walks and some nearby attractions like the Heineken Museum.

I was working here and was upgraded to a suite. The room was very nice, though the view not great as it looked over a large roof which was part of the hotel and really ugly! They had some branded fancy toiletries which is always nice. Big tv and coffee facilities, I did have to get them to bring a kettle for making tea but they did so quickly.

I had room service one day and it was very disappointing. I just wanted something remotely healthy, so I ordered a blue cheese walnut salad, it was pretty expensive at about €18 but I figured room service always is. I was so disappointed, the contents of it would have pretty much filled an eggcup, there was just nothing, and the "blue cheese" was just some small purée which was there for decoration more than anything.

I ate in the Japanese sushi restaurant, it is pricy but not extortionate and considering they have a Michelin star its good value (was about €120 for 3 of us at lunch and we had a LOT of food!). I would definitely recommend that one.

The bar at the top is nice, has great views and good service, quite small though so if its busy its crowded.

Overall a nice place to stay and the rooms are good value. Service is good and staff friendly and helpful. If you don't need to be central and want somewhere special without paying ridiculous price this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a family room (which was two rooms adjoined). We were on the 16th floor and the views were great. The service was amazing. We were welcomed by candies for the family in our room. Several times we used room service and they came within 10 minutes! In Europe it is very difficult to find a true 5 star but I believe this one is.

We also used the pool. It is very big - not super warm but is good for exercise. The hot tub is also very nice.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was above average.

The hotel is close to a tram line and also has a taxi stand which makes getting to the center very easy.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from staying here for a couple of nights. Truly first class in the quality of room and exemplary service. The operation at this hotel should be shown to management at some places claiming to be 5 star. Breakfast is a cold and cooked to order hot buffet with the freshest of ingredients, we were happy it was included in our room as it is costly otherwise! The gym, sauna, steam room and pool were quiet, perfectly presented and very relaxing. Staff could do nothing but assist your stay. Thank you to them all for a great trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. I ended up picking it because we wanted a more luxurious experience than we could find closure to town. From start to finish we were pleased with the hotel and staff. I payed about $230 per night total which included free parking and we also ended up with free pool and health club access after signing up for their loyalty program. The front desk staff was VERY polite and helpful. Our room was on the 16th floor facing the canal and was also fabulous. I can't stay enough great things about this experience. I have stayed in some top hotels and let me tell you..for the money, this place was great. As far as location, it is a bit away from the action of downtown Amsterdam. We typically would walk down (30 mins) and then taxi back. The walk is very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artlover2011
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Hotel Okura is situated just outside the areas covered in the newest Lonely Planet Amsterdam guide's maps, close to the De Pijp zone; it is a great 5 star hotel. It boasts 2 different Michellin starred restaurants amongst the 5 on offer, serving western and Japanese dishes.The hotel's location is quiet region situated off the Ferdinand Bolstraat and flanked by the Amstelkanaal.
The staff are both helpful and knowledgeable. A big plus for us was that there was a large health spa which has an 18m long swimming pool.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.