We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service and care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First class service and care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back from staying here for a couple of nights. Truly first class in the quality of room and exemplary service. The operation at this hotel should be shown to management at some places claiming to be 5 star. Breakfast is a cold and cooked to order hot buffet with the freshest of ingredients, we were happy it was included in our room as it is costly otherwise! The gym, sauna, steam room and pool were quiet, perfectly presented and very relaxing. Staff could do nothing but assist your stay. Thank you to them all for a great trip.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    559
    227
    73
    33
    13
See reviews for
96
298
54
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. I ended up picking it because we wanted a more luxurious experience than we could find closure to town. From start to finish we were pleased with the hotel and staff. I payed about $230 per night total which included free parking and we also ended up with free pool and health club access after signing up for their loyalty program. The front desk staff was VERY polite and helpful. Our room was on the 16th floor facing the canal and was also fabulous. I can't stay enough great things about this experience. I have stayed in some top hotels and let me tell you..for the money, this place was great. As far as location, it is a bit away from the action of downtown Amsterdam. We typically would walk down (30 mins) and then taxi back. The walk is very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artlover2011
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Hotel Okura is situated just outside the areas covered in the newest Lonely Planet Amsterdam guide's maps, close to the De Pijp zone; it is a great 5 star hotel. It boasts 2 different Michellin starred restaurants amongst the 5 on offer, serving western and Japanese dishes.The hotel's location is quiet region situated off the Ferdinand Bolstraat and flanked by the Amstelkanaal.
The staff are both helpful and knowledgeable. A big plus for us was that there was a large health spa which has an 18m long swimming pool.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiene, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for a business trip and I went to Okura Hotel.I have to say that everything in the hotel satisfy me.When you travle for business needs are linked to "feel better" when you go back to the hotel and i have to say that all works very well,starting from services going to room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great hotel with good service. All staff very friendly and helpful too!
Food was lovely but wanted more. The rooms were top class.
Spa was great too but was hoping it had a steam room but didn't.
Very trendy and good restaurants too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in February at the Amsterdam Okura, a nice room on one of the executive floors. The room was spacious and well equipped. As in so many modern top hotels the simple light-switches have been replaced with a high technology system which at this hotel as in so many others take to long to learn.
The breakfast buffet was nice if not overwhelming the service was good. On arriving and leaving the front desk staff was very nice and efficient and every time one passed through the lobby there was a smile.
The drawback of the hotel is its executive lounge which was far from up to standard and left a bad taste which is regrettable. The lounge was not kept clean and tidy nor did the snacks and drinks get top up as often as needed.
The hotel is located approximately 45 min walk from the city centre but the 25 tram is leaving just outside the hotel so in bad weather this is not a major problem. The concierge was very good and gave us good and well moderated tips about where to go and where to eat.
This is a hotel to which one could return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

An excellent Leading Hotel of the World, situated on the outskirts of central Amsterdam (45 minutes walk to the central station). Very friendly and always smiling staff. Very airy and nicely furnished rooms (we had a suite). A small gym with a few treadmills and weights.
There were however some minor remarks. The lounge did not offer very much to eat and drink, and the things served, perished very quickly and was not refilled. Internet was complementary, however, it was to slowly to be used. Normal speed internet was to be payed for, even for gold members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.