We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, a real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, a real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Close to the RAI convention center the Okura is a Leading Hotel of the World for good reason. From the minute I stepped into reception nothing was too much trouble for the staff - from the front desk, to room service and the bartender who made my martini at the Twenty Third bar...everyone was friendly, courteous and more than happy to help with anything I needed. The room was well furnished with all amenities, and the bathroom was very modern with a great selection of toiletries. I was lucky enough to stay in a junior suite so cannot comment on their standard rooms.
Getting into the centre of Amsterdam is quick and easy using Tram number 4, or Station RAI - only a 5 minute walk away.
There are a number of restaurants in the hotel that have excellent reviews (I didn't eat there), but if you walk towards the RAI from the hotel there are plenty of restaurants to choose from if you wanted to eat out. I can recommend Orbit (Asian Cuisine).
All in all an excellent stay - it was a shame I was only there for one night, I would have loved to stay on! No matter, I will definitely be back to the Okura when I'm next in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The Junior suite on the 8th floor was large and airy, away from the lifts so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    380
    93
    41
    17
See reviews for
190
578
81
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I used this hotel whilst attending a show at the Rai recently. It is ideally located for that being a mere 10 mins or so walk.
Yes the hotel is expensive but you get what you pay for. Concierge will unload and carry bgs to your room whilst you check in, things really are delightful.
I spied 4 restaurants but the best has to be on the 23rd floor. The views are amazing but so is the food and service. It is a real experience and not one to be spoiled by me spilling the beans in my review- just bite the bullet and eat there.
Sadly I didn't get a chance to use the gym or pool but the reports were excellent from those more energetic than me.
As others have said, the rooms are very modern. Mood lighting can be activated as can the multimedia television. This has access to films an music. Coffee machine, mini bar all round off the facilities. Oh yeh, free wifi as well...that's if you can't in anything on the media player.
The beds are very comfortable. A pillow menu is available so you literally can choose what you want to ensure a good nights sleep. A turn down service operates around 7pm which is a lovely touch...a sign of a top class hotel.

Of course drinks, food is expensive but you need to consider the surroundings and ambience you are in. This hotel is great for business users but also couples who want to see Amsterdam and have somewhere quiet to retreat to.

Definitely want to go back. I'm saving now. I've got enough or breakfast !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The best hotel for business travelers going to RAI in Amsterdam!
It is really difficult to find better place if you work at RAI Exhibition Center! Big and very clean rooms! Wonderful bed linen and pillows, just like home.
After long day visit one of hotel restaurants, you will be not disappointed.
Excellent service every there: at breakfast in restaurant or room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times and always for pleasure trip rather than business. The hotel is not in the best location for travel but it is high quality, excellent service with beautiful clean rooms and caring staff. The bathrooms in the 3 rooms I've stayed in are all very modern and the rooms generally are spacious and welcoming. I would recommend this for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

upscale hotel, nice prices
pricy but nice => good location to reach by car - and access to center is quiete simple by taxi or tram. Just a few minutes ride.

for a business meeting very idea becaue of the proximity to the ring. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very high standard of service, good spacious room. Gym is also well equipped and spacious so you can really work out. Location may not be the best though. You always need to get a cab to go around. Their 'taxi' ticket is convenient - which I always use when I go back to Schiphol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here on Business in November 2012. The hotel was hosting an event I was attending.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Rooms were nice, clean and spacious with very comfortable beds and modern bathrooms.

Function/events area of the hotel also very nice, with great facilities.

Breakfast at the hotel was tasty with a good, high quality selection of food, but slighly pricey, as is the norm in this standard of hotel.

Only issue I had was that the hotel was slightly outside of Amsterdam city centre than I'd like to be - I prefer to be walking distance, but a short 10Euro taxi journey would get you into the central area. The airport was a 20 min taxi journey from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors have rooms with views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.