We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in a nice neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Erwitte, Germany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellence in a nice neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for two nights end of November after arriving late due to a train odyssee that went from a four hour trip to a nightmarish 10 hour trip (cancelled trains due to football fans on the tracks!)
While it may seem that the Okura is off the beaten path for "tourists" when looking at the map, the tram ride from the Central train station is an easy one and the route stops all along the old town, I recommend a tram pass for jump on, jump off all day. If you there for business, the RAI convention center is an easy walk around the corner.
The neighborhood is nicer and quieter than being in the town center with wonderful diverse local restaurants nearby.
The staff is exceptional and friendly, we were upgraded to an executive room which was very spacious with comfortable larger than twin beds, a wonderful bath with separate whirlpool bath and rain shower, double sink and Toto toilet with heating and the works. The Nespresso machine in the room is a wonderful touch for we espresso drinkers !
A full desk for those wanting to work and wonderful views over Amsterdam from the 20th floor.
We had breakfast included in the rate and found it fresh and diverse, with buffet style items as well as fresh cooked items. The personell here also very friendly and accomodating.
The concierge team were very informative and helpful - even getting us tickets to the Van Gogh exhibit at the Hermitage.
All in all a wonderful hotel which we would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    294
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
133
412
67
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Spent a saturday night at this elegant hotel, stopping over in Amsterdam to meet some family. Pre-paid around €160 for a superior room, good deal for the experience as it turned out. Room was impeccable, attention to details shown in different ways, liked the Nespresso machine in the room. Elegant materials used in the room. Good breakfast possibilities. Efficient check in and check out. Friendly, professional staff. Locationwise it is a bit off though. Had a lovely dinner in the excellent japanese restaurant in the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The service on arrival for a business trip was first rate - the lady on check-in was very helpful and friendly. I was upgraded and had a massive room which was great. The room is all gadgets and gizmos in terms of electric curtains etc. The next morning, then there was no hot water in the shower which was a massive let down during what was a busy week. This was fixed over breakfast. The breakfast is the usual buffet - good quality and reasonable selection. I had reason to be in the hotel room at various points during the day (attending conference there) and there was lots of noise from repairs from the floor below which were distracting.
Overall a fair stay but not exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a two day conference. From arrival to departure the service from the staff is second to none. All staff members I came into contact with where extremely polite and helpful. Check in was very speedy. The hotel itself is exceptional quality and the furnishings of the most excellent quality. The food was very good. The bedrooms are extremely spacious and the bathrooms are very large and comfortable. I have no hestitation in recommeding this hotel for any event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very pleasant place to stay. The room was presented to a very high standard; with a very comfortable bed, and exceptionally quiet. The service from every member of staff was very friendly and could not be faulted. The breakfast was good, as you would would expect at a hotel of this price bracket; I was at a conference in the attached centre, and the food standard and general service continued to the same standard throughout. I had a massage in the Spa Centre - 60 Euros for 45 minutes, good value for a very high quality experience - though it would appear to be a spa club used by the general public so your chance of getting a massage on the same day as you ask is pretty slim. My colleague was unimpressed to be charged to use the gym in the morning then again when he wanted to go back again in the afternoon (they eventually waived the second charge). The main downside for me is that the hotel is situated in a suburb without anything around to recommend it if you want a walk around (though there are a dozen restaurants within 200 metres - go out the entrance and walk to the left). Only 10-15 minutes to the town centre by taxi however, and 20 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

At 7:30 AM, after an overnight flight, you are greeted by a friendly staff that is genuinely eager to please. The hotel had rooms available for us at that early hour and the breakfast buffet was outstandingl!!!! Quality and selection was huge.
I had not been at the Okura since 1985 and it was great at the time and it has gotten better. The layout is sparkling with several great restaurants. Space abounds and even when crowded, there are not people milling around. The rooms are well furnished, spotlessly clean and very comfortable with every conceivable amenity. Service is superb! Although we booked this hotel because it was in close proximity to our Dutch counsel, we needed a conference area which was provided within 15 minutes by the desk clerk, fully serviced with coffee and soft drinks.
Although we put in heavy hours and did not have a chance to sample Dutch retaurants; the hotel restaurants were very good, but could be pricey.
One note to tourists, this hotel is a little remote from the center of Amsterdam but it is a short tram ride away. Given a choice, I would scarifice proximity to stay at a great place like this. I only wish other hotels would learn to conduct bisuness like this one!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

As soon as I walked into the hotel I was greeted by the friendliest of stuff, who were always happy to help, always smiling! The reception desk was very helpful offering maps of the city, willing to recommend restaurants, bars and other attractions in the area.
The room was immaculate. Based on the 15th floor, great views and it included any person would ever need to enjoy a nice stay. OK, maybe apart from a bottle of water from a mini bar - €6!
The breakfast selection was delicious and check out speedy.
I am going to recommend this hotel to any colleagues and friends I know are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The gher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.