We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis unto itself.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An oasis unto itself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been to Amsterdam many times over the years and have stayed in a variety of hotels. One of my favorites was The Grand, which is now a Sofitel. It has been redone and for me they have taken away the old world charm and turned it into yet another design hotel, which you can find in any city. It is great for the location and for what it is but I miss its soul.
For this trip we decided to try something a bit different and stayed at the Hotel Okura, which is out of the city center in a tranquil suburban like neighborhood. It is more residential giving you a more authentic sense of Dutch living. However, it is not far from the city center. If you like to walk, I guess it takes a good twenty minutes, giving you a great opportunity to discover a different side of Amsterdam both for shopping and eating point of view. It also takes about twenty-minute by tram to the center and train station if walking is not your thing. The hotel is close to the museums and the Amsterdam Market, which is filled with all kinds of treats.
The hotel itself is a twenty-three-story building, which gives you exceptional views over the city. It has a Japanese sense of esthetic and it is charming and serene. The staff is efficient, friendly and works hard to meet the hotel’s standard for quality. We had a small problem with our room and they went above and beyond to fix it and to ensure that we were over compensated for the mishap.
We stayed on the twenty-second floor, which is their executive floor with lounge. The view was breathtaking and the snacks were amazingly delicious and different.
The service was perfection and the food was a true treat. Since we live in Paris we did not try the Ciel Blue their French Restaurant on the 23rd floor but it looks beautiful. The experience and food should be considered even if you do not stay at the hotel.
The gym and pool were great and spotlessly clean. I did not like that we were charged to use it, but such is life. The masseuse was fantastic. A small Japanese woman that truly knows the art of massage and you leave feeling renewed. Treat yourself or a loved to her expertise. They are opening a new spa, which will add another layer to your experience.
It is worth going to Hotel Okra for the weekend as a get away or to forget about the daily grind and just pamper your self. You do not even have to leave the hotel. It is like an oasis unto itself and a wonderful alternative to the busy city center of Amsterdam.
It is also a great place to go with a group of friend or for corporate team building. The hotel conducts cooking classes with their prized chef in the lower level studio kitchen.
I must admit I was reluctant to stay away from Amsterdam’s bustling center, but to be honest I am so happy we did; it added to my experience in a good way and not take away from it as I had feared.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the executive floor - we had a suite that was remarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    334
    84
    36
    17
See reviews for
156
500
70
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fantastic hotel to stay in Amsterdam. The friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever come across. At check in Louis Tency helped us organise trips and restaurants and each day offered more ideas. He recommended an Indonesian restauant that was well worth a trip. The swimming pool was a nice start to the day and allowed us to enjoy the wonderful breakfast . We tried the Teppanyaki restaurant which was fun with great food. We found the location easy to manage and taxis were easy to get and inexpensive. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough . A lot of hotels could learn from the staff at the Okura

Room Tip: we had triple rooms which reduced the price. Rooms were big enough to easily accomodate the 3rd bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is a very nice place to stay in Amsterdam. Check in was fast, room was very big with king size bed, desk, small seating area, couple big windows and complementary Nespresso. The bathroom is very nice and in our room was design for handicap accessibility. Deep bathtub and separate shower stall with telephone and overhead rain shower. The hotel is very close to a tram stop; tram 25 (it goes to downtown) and 12 (it goes to the museum district). Services from laundry or housekeeping are always fast. Room service gives you the time they will deliver your meal and they are on time. Staff is very professional and friendly. My husband scooter broke in the middle of the street and started to rain; we have no idea where we were, and there were no taxis on the street. My husband called the Okura's concierge and he sent us a taxi immediately; at the hotel they had their engineer fixing the scooter If you are tired and feel like eating in the hotel you are in luck, they have 2 star awarded Michelin restaurants: Ciel bleu and Yamazato. The Teppanyaki restaurant Sazanka is also superb. La Camelia is the breakfast restaurant, it is busy. I think needs maybe one or two more waitresses. Breakfast is good and if you haven't try Japanese Breakfast you can also order it here. I did and it was a totally different experience for breakfast to me and I enjoyed it. We definitely go back to Okura hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Actually This hotel is a really nice 5star hotel in Amsterdam. Everything in this hotel is well designed and accommodated. You have all the facilities of a 5star hotel in Okura Amsterdam.
They claim that they have the best fitness center in whole Amsterdam and if you check the swimming pool and the fitness facilities you will really confess this.
Nice full Breakfast, very comfortable beds in rooms, Nice 3 Elevators, very helpful and polite staff(include some Japanese staff with Kimono!!) and lots of other positive points.
The only problem with this hotel is its location which is far from Amsterdam city center "Dam Square" that takes at least 10 minutes by taxi and you have to pay 12-15 Euros or if you want to use the Tram, that the station is very close, you have to pay about 3-4 Euros. I can not say that its a negative point because most of the nice hotels of Amsterdam are a bit far from city center but If you want to feel the climate of staying in city center you can not!
However, in this location you have the nice view of a canal from your room, the quietness of the location and fresh weather of the suburb.
There are some important things that we have to consider before booking,
One is that the breakfast and fitness club and swimming pool is not included in the total price, and they will charge you if you did not mention it before for example you have to pay 15euros each time you want to use swimming pool. So be careful!
The other thing is that the free Internet in the hotel is low speed and for high speed internet you have to pay 12euros for 24 hours and wow, it is a really high speed one!!!
So discuss about these items and the room location and other things before confirmation.
You will have tea-coffee maker in your room for free but the water is not complimentary like other 5star hotels.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms which have the canal view. Ofcourse the higher floors the better. the corner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Took my wife away as a surprise for her birthday and we were not disappointed. The Okura is modern and tastfully decorated with a good selection of bars & resturants, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The only minor criticism, for some, may be its location to the city centre, but with a very efficiant tram service about 150 metres from the hotel door it takes about 15 mins to get to Dam Square, so it is not really an issue. However what makes the Okura stand out from other 5 star hotel's is it's staff, they were very pleasant and extremley helpful. A big thankyou to the doormen and security guys that helped us when we discovered that we had car trouble, I'm sorry we did'nt catch your names but thanks to you we did manage to catch our boat home !!! We will definatley be paying a visit next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a very pleasant restful experience in an executive room in what seems to be mainly a business hotel. We stayed for 5 nights as tourists with breakfast and pool and spa included.. The staff were friendly well trained and professional both at reception, in the dining room and restaurants and elsewhere. The concierge obtained tickets for a memorable concert at Concertgbou and we followed this with a tour of the concert Hall. The centre of Amsterdam was easy to reach by tram and the airport was 36 euros by taxi.Unusually light refreshments were provided free in the Executive lounge.
We would stay again in this 5 star hotel, if in Amsterdam.
Very good size bathroom and bedroom and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice location, nice staff..But car parking is over priced..35 euros daily! The entrance is awkward with narrow space for cars to move. Sometimes, when there is an event, it gets really nasty. the corner rooms and suites are panoramic, especially when stay in the higher floors.

Room Tip: It's a little far from Amsterdam centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.