We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Almost perfect...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night for the IBC conference in September. I chose this hotel because of the great reviews it got.
Although we had a very, very nice room with a magnificent view there were a view glitches - the air con wouldn't go below 21C (was a warm weekend) and our beds weren't turned down for the night - so no dry towels for our morning shower.
The PR did appologise for the above, but at 800Euro a night I would expect perfection.
The restaurant on the top floor - "Ciel Blue", was a magnificent experience in food and service, although our reception was a bit cool to start with...
I have decided to start a cuppacino rating for hotels, so here goes:
Cuppacino room service: *
Cuppacino main restaurant: *****
Cuppacino Ciel Blue: *****

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    265
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
123
376
63
338
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Based on previous trip advisor reviews, this hotel should be fabulous: and it was! From the moment we walked up and were greeted by the doorman and then reception, we were made to feel welcome. We followed the advice of others and requested a room on a high floor: it was gorgeous, with enormous picture windows overlooking the adjacent canal and the southern Amsterdam neighborhoods. The bathroom was spectacular with a glass walk-in shower, a large tub, and granite surround, all spotlessly clean. One unique feature is the glass wall between bathroom and sleeping area; there is a shade that can be electronically rolled down to provide privacy (the doorman who brings the bags to your room explains the various features). The only downside for us: we had only 1 night to stay and weren't able to experience many of the available amenities!

Room Tip: Better views from rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently stayed here while on a business trip to Amsterdam, I was attending IBC at the RAI which is only a few minutes down the road. All I can say is wow, it is rare to stay at a hotel where the only complaint you have is the price. The hotel itself was spectacular, a beautiful and quiet location close to many restaurants and the RAI. The tram is right down the road and gets you to the Dam in a matter of minutes, so while you ate first feel a bit isolated from all the excitement it turns out to just an passing feeling.

I had a standard room with a very comfortable bed, nice work area and very modern bathroom with a great shower and tub. My room overlooked the room of a large warehouse type building but it was clean, very quiet and since the building was low I had a wonderful view of the rest of the city.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, big selection of high quality and very tasty food. I did upgrade on day for €10 and get the traditional grilled Japanese breakfast which you have to order the day before, I really enjoyed the slow calm experience but had to watch the other to figure out exactly what went with what.

There are a number of very highly rated restaurants which I didn’t get a chance to eat at, but I did have a very interesting experience in the private dining room across from Ciel Bleu. I was going upstairs to the bar to meet with some friends and was hijacked by a very happy drunk man celebrating his 40th birthday, he decided that he needed one more person to join his party. I had just eaten so I wasn’t hunger but I did decide to join him for a glass of wine, three hours later and a whole lot of absolutely fabulous wine it was time to go. I did have an opportunity to share some of the multi-course meal, one of the best things was the lamb course which included lamb loin, chops and a very interesting lamb shank confit. The service was outstanding and the food or what I had was some of the best I have ever eaten, I understand it is a Michelin 2-star and with quality comes at a price. Fortunately for me I was not paying for dinner but my guess is that for the multi-course tasting menu with wine you are probably looking at €250/person.

It wasn’t a cheap hotel but I think it was worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Okura for just two nights but this is a real Leading Hotel. Service is definitely the best (except maybe during the night, when the operator was not always quick to answer). Spacious rooms (I booked a Junior Suite). Room service is AAA. Breakfast is super, with a wide range of cold and hot meals. My only suggestion to the management is to change the courtesy line in the bathroom. A 5-star hotel like this needs a branded line, not some anonymous "verveine" products. And also.. the soap dispenser in the shower cubicle is definitely to avoid!
But, beside this, I can tell you that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. Definitely the one to choose to stay in Amsterdam. Very close to the centre (by tram, 10 min.).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here at the end of June. We got an unbelievable rate as part of Jetsetter's mystery sale. Beautiful hotel all around. We stayed on the 10th floor in a corner room, with 2 large windows that overlooked the city. When you walked in it had a very luxurious feeling. Spacious room, area for luggage away from living space. Fixtures/decor are modern and updated. Everything was clean and crisp from the towels to the linens. Beds were comfortable. Didn't try any of the restaurants so can't comment on them.

The hotel is not in the city center but the public transportation system is awesome. There is a tram just in front of the hotel's outdoor parking lot. We felt like locals the way we were able to learn the city in such a short period of time.

The staff was very helpful in helping us make dinner reservations and getting tickets for venues. They even gave us complimentary umbrellas one evening when it appeared it might rain.

My friend did have one issue with room service, she ordered a salad without meat and it came up with bacon. The room service attendant who came to address the issue then picked the meat out of her salad with his bare hand and then said he would have them make another. When the second one returned it still had a small piece of meat in it, which made us think/know that they didn't make a new salad. When she informed the attendant of this he was actually somewhat rude in his reply. One of the dining managers did address this prior to checkout. They of course didn't charge us for the salad and seemed to be sincerely apologetic.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

just had a great week end !
upgraded to a junior suite room view over looking amsterdam canals was amazing
room lay out was spacious although for a suite there was only 1 bassin and no seperate toilet...
swimming pool was most welcome after a day strolling the city
japanese tapeniaki was really good
staff was friendly and helping
yes true, hotel is a bit away from city center but tram station is just near by and easy to use

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently stayed here for a conference, and was generally thrilled with the hotel. As always - chose a suite - since I routinely need to work from my room. I was upgraded to a deluxe junior suite which was amazing (and I've stayed all over th Europe and the US in everythign from hovels to 5 star presidential suites).

Huge main room - with a very large desk and windows on two sides - super fcomfy beds and a very trick software-based lighting and curtain control module set a great tone. A spacious washroom with all the amenities (less a bidet though) made for a pleasant stay. Super helplful staff ensured all went smoothly.

But still - there are spots they could do EVEN better...

1. NO steam iron! I have NO clue how people manage to press dress shirts properly with a basic hot flat piece of metal. SO frustating!

2. Coffee makers that shake the room. While this part of Amsterdam is very quiet - I was awoken sevreal times by the thumping drone of the in-room espresso makers from another room above. I'm not coffee drinker (!) so I can't even get an abstract pleasure from this racket. All these units need to be isolated wiht rubber mats or something.

3, PLumbing noise. Pipes that do long runs in the wall have to be anchored at certain intervals - else they can vibrate loudly at certain partial flow rates. This hotel has several pipes on or around the 6th floor that vibrate like mad every once in while.

4. Don't charge for the health centre or bike usage.

Lastly - I was VERY impressed by the FREE wifi provided. I need constant hi speed access while on the road - so this was a VERY welcome - esp at no charge - although that "might" have been a perk of the conference?

In any case - this was a super clean, spacious, well appointed and very comfortable hotel that I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: YES - Corner suites are large and VERY sunny on the south east exposure - and overlook a wonderful c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.