We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. This was by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in in Europe in terms of service, facilities, comfort and convenience. My husband and I spent 4 nights here after being stranded at HK airport for 36 hours due to a typhoon. We booked this as a top secret hotel deal from last minute.com. From the minute we arrived, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. They even upgraded us to a suite. They dry cleaned all our damp clothes very quickly and professionally. The service was impeccable, whenever we needed anything, someone was at our door within a few minutes. The room is luxurious, with an amazing view overlooking Amsterdam. One of the best things is the health club facilities - an amazing 20m pool and plenty of equipment in the gym. We were offered free drinks every day of our stay and a quality buffet breakfast. The hotel is a train ride/walk away from the city centre. A fantastic experience all round. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would be looking up other Okura hotels worldwide.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere else. The executive floor has really nice views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    264
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
123
376
63
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Okura in early July 2012 with my elderly mother. We stayed midweek for two nights. We were given room 1124 which was a corner room with two large windows offering wonderful views of Amsterdam. The room was very spacious. It was furnished with twin beds, corner bedside tables (with good spotlight reading lamps), a large desk with chair and a round table with large upholstered chair. The large wardrobe was well placed out of the way of the main area of the room. In the wardrobe there was an iron and ironing table, umbrella, clothes brush, spare pillows, two bathrobes and matching slippers. There was a nespresso machine which could be used for hot water aswell. Various strength coffees and herbal teas were supplied.
I found that I did require my travel adaptor for the electric sockets.
In the bathroom there was walk in shower with choice of large overhead shower or a small movable shower spray and a bath also with a shower attachment. There was a hair dryer, scales and various complimentary toiletries. The sound from the 32 inch television could be heard via speakers in the bathroom.
Breakfast was included in the price of our stay. We found it more than adequate. There was a good choice of fresh fruit and juices, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, danish pastries/croissants/bread rolls/toast and a selection of hot food with eggs cooked to order.
Overall our stay at the hotel was simply wonderful. We wanted a quiet hotel away from the main tourist areas. We got that and we also got very good service. The staff were all very polite, attentive and helpful. We could not have wished for anything more.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I really wish that I could give this hotel a higher rating. Although it was a 5 star hotel we receive a 7 star service.

ALL the staff that we dealt with with polite and an asset to the Okura group.

It was my fiance's birthday and they surprise us with giving him a birthday card, with Sake & strawberries.

Can't wait to go back again in November and stay in room 2012!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor, the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This review i wrote few weeks ago didnt have time to put online:
Between june and july we have stayed in this hotel in 3 occassions and we back again this week today is our 3rd day here and i cant wait to check out on tuesday.
We were trying to sleep out when they called the room at 12 asking what time we will be checking out,while we have increase our stay yesterday and talked to the few of them about it and we thought they add that on their computer.Since we could not sleep any more decided to go out making space for housekeeping, we are back 3 hours later nothing is done,calling reception about it and they were like really? have you had do not disturb sign on? we stay 90 percent of our time in hotels so we know how things works.
We decided to go seat at the bar where we often seat and waiting for this housekeeping thing.
Then the older barkeeper who have seen us many time have served us also at the bar upstairs came up to us and telling my partner take the cap off, this cap he is been wearing often here and anywhere els and is never been the issue,saying that we are frequent guest at the hotels like Shangri-la mandarin Orient and i dont have to go on with the list,i can assure you our dress code is very normal.
2 weeks ago was another incidents we were here for more than 5 nights the first night i saw the tea service was empty with opened and used tea/sugar bags well i thought tomorow will be done,people can forget so i didnt make tea that night,the second day the situation was the same and i really want to have a cup of tea so i asked if they could bring the tea bags since they didnt clear up the mess and refil from the other guest,Later came a tall fat man with intimidating attitude at the door to bring te bags,i told him that i was sorry he has to bring it because hosekeeping didnt do it for 2 days already.
Then the other day found the same thing and the same man was at the door brought the tea bags and he was again upset,actually we stay a lot at the lobby and nice terrace here but sometimes you just want to have a tea at your room and according to them they have this machine that you can make tea and coffee so why just not do the refil before other guest check in.
My advice if you often visit amsterdam and like quality place then i will advice Amstel hotel,The grand Amsterdam,we stay in this hotels often and we never have any problems.
I have to say we like this Japanese restaurant here we often try to come eat here even if we dont stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear we did not meet your expectations. Could you please send us your contact details via feedback@okura.nl? We would like to get in touch with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I changed from another hotel in Amsterdam to Hotel Okura and was simply impressed with everything. For business travelers, this is the perfect hotel. The wifi connection is excellent (ibahn) and furthermore, they have setup roaming access for customers of hotspot providers like "Boingo". I am getting 18 mbps down and 5 mbps up from my wifi connection which is the best I've ever seen. All of my devices are connected and the wifi is FREE!

The rooms are extremely comfortable and well organized. The bathrooms are very nice and look recently renovated and modern. The lights in the room are really cool once you figure out there is a delay. The TV is the largest I've had in the last 41 days of traveling across Europe (42 inch LCD?). Each member of the staff that I dealt with was polite and helpful. The location of the hotel is decent. It isn't near the city action but there is a metro about 500 meters away and the #25 train to central will take you to downtown in about 15-20 minutes for 2.8 euros.

One thing to keep in mind is that this is a true 5* hotel and the prices for everything reflect that premium. The mini-bar, laundry service, and room service are all quite expensive. For example, a bottle of water from the minibar is 6 euros, 10 euros to laundry a shirt, (8 for t-shirt), a simple cheeseburger 30 euros (with the included 6 euro service charge). This is to be expected from a hotel of this quality, so I am not saying it negatively. I have no complaints about this hotel but want to be thorough in my review for everyone else.

Room Tip: Ask them for one of the recently renovated rooms. When I checked in, they told me that my room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Conveniently located a little away from city centre. Had a room on 10th floor overlooking the canal and city. Great views. We loved the food at the French and Japanese Restaurants. Very good food. Nepresso machine in the room. Comfortable bed, good space. Free wifi. Pool and gym facilities not included in our price. Will definitely revisit if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Choose room on upper floors with views of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent two nights in the Okura having luckily got an upgrade to a Junior Suite. Prices for the Okura deviate a lot between websites so shop around. The hotel is designed and located for primarily Business clients but is also a very nice place to stay for couples. The location is good with ready access by tram in and out of the city centre and only a very short walk to Albert Cuypmarkt. The De Pijp area is a nice contrast to downtown plus the late opening shop across the road is very handy especially if you don't want to pay €9 for a bottle of Heineken from the minibar. Overall, a lovely hotel - Request a room high up so you can get some views. We were on 10th floor and the view was amazing through two huge windows that the sun came through in the morning. The room itself was superb. Big bath, separate large rain shower, turndown in the evening etc, nespresso machine, all what you would expect in a five-star hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.