We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Okura last week. We both wanted a quiet location and this hotel seemed to fit the bill. It was fantastic. It is far enough away from the seriously touristy spots to be quiet and close via a 5 minute tram ride to anywhere. I walked the neighbourhood alone to visit a local supermarket and it was full of young parents with kids and young professionals on bikes. So safe. The tram is a block around the corner.
I cannot say enough about the staff and the room. The mattress was memory foam with inner spring. There was a pillow menu with at least 8 different pillows to choose from. Remote controls beside the bed controlled curtains, lights, alarm, tv and temperature. Nespresso coffee makers and fab TV and the bathrooms were amazing and included TV there also and seriously hi tek toilet (never thought I would be reviewing a toilet, but its fab).
The staff were amazing and every room service call took about 5 minutes or less for delivery. Internet was included in every room and because we upgraded last minute to a JR suite, high speed was free also.
It does not have a "wow" factor from the outside but inside it most definately does. Spa facilities are lovely and the pool is very large. Restaurants and bar on 23rd floor are 5 star plus for food and ambience. We were on 19th floor and view of Amsterdam was just lovely.
I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who loves all home amenities and a quiet romantic time or a family with kids or a business trip. If you are up for party weekend in Amsterdam stay somewhere else closer to noise.
Off the charts good for a city hotel anywhere in the world. I can compare it to many in NY and it wins.
Negative is breakfast buffet was overpriced at 30eu a head but if it is included in room its very nice. There are several restaurants nearby that serve breakfast though for far less. Dont skip it if you think you are stuck away from other food options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    229
    73
    33
    13
See reviews for
98
299
54
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for five nights with two children. All of us were very happy. Comfortable rooms good health club with indoor pool. And the most important the hotel has a choise of great restaurants. There is realy no need to leave the hotel at night. You have the most outstanding restaurants indoor.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My daughter and I spent three nights at the Hotel Okura.
The location was perfect, only a short tram ride to the centre. It was quiet, and the room was lovely. We had a corner room with a view of the canal and the city. The staff assisted with printing our boarding tickets as well as assisting with tours and excursions. The bathroom was really lovely, the beds great and the room spacious. The front staff was friendly, organized and very helpful. We used the bikes from the hotel (12 euro for 24 hours) and they were super. I would like every hotel to be of this quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently stayed in the Okura for a long weekend with some friends. The hotel was about a 10 min drive in to the centre of Amsterdam which was perfect for us. The entrance to the hotel (v plush) sets the scene for the rest of the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, comfy and you cannot hear anything else in the hotel. The bathrooms are luxurious with a walk in shower and a bath (with a handy tv on the wall). This is one of the hotels you walk in and feel very special to be there. The japanese restaurant in the hotel was also fabulous - great food and wine, otherwise taking a short trip in to the centre of Amsterdam where there are plenty of places to eat and drink too. Would love to come back one day soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Hotel Okura Amsterdam was an outstanding luxury hotel. My daughter and I stayed four days-three nights and loved everything about our first time experience in Amsterdam. The hotel was recommened to us from a friend of my daughters and we were very happy. The hotel itself is beautiful when you walk inside (the outside isn't very attractive when you drive up so don't be alarmed). The lobby is lovely and has an Asian feel and decor. The hotel is along a canal and we ate outside after we checked in and had an outstanding late lunch. The professional staff who checked us in were wonderful and upgraded our room without asking to a jr. suite whch was so nice. The rooms are extremely large, very spacious and lovely decor with very comfortable bedding. We both had three wonderful nights of sleep which was great because of all the walking and biking we did in the city. The conciege was extremely helpful, friendly and nice and we were able to get museum passes, train tickets and outstanding reservations at restaurants in the city. Breakfast was included each morning and the choices on the buffet were delicious with lots to choose from. The hotel isn't in the heart of the action which we loved most about the Okura. We were able to really get a true feeling of the city of Amsterdam and it's neighborhoods. The area isn't noisy and it's easy to get to anywhere you want to go. Amazing local and incredible restaurans that are walking distance. The next time we are visitng Amsterdam we will only stay at the Hotel Okura.

Room Tip: Everything about the hotel was outstanding. You will love the bathrooms which are extremely large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Finding luxury in Holland can be an arduous challenge, and the hotel scene is no different. We selected this property strictly because of a pre-existing reservation at Ciel Blue, the two Michelen star restaurant located at the top of the hotel. Not knowing the brand, our expectations were limited.

They were exceeded in every respect.

This hotel boasts one of the finest, most brilliantly trained staffs we have encountered in hundreds of 5-star nights. They executed every element of service without fault. The junior suite we booked was spacious and well-appointed, with an elegant and large bathroom. The room service menu was interesting and expansive, and not outrageously priced for the quality received. Every request was met with a "yes," and the staff seemed able to anticipate our every need.

This property is 5-star lodging at its finest, and on par in terms of service and decor with much better known brands, including Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, and Mandarin Oriental.

This is where we will stay in Amsterdam henceforth.

Room Tip: Junior suite was a great value for the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel was suggested by one of our dutch clients and it was a very good surprise, a bit far from the city center and perhaps not so appealing from the outside (that 70s style looking building) but inside it was a very different world. Professional staff, elegant yet simple lobby/room/facilities, very clean. Incredible breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, Amsterdam 1072 LH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.