We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near the RAI centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near the RAI centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is probably the best hotel near the RAI centre but it is about 20 minutes by tram from the city centre.
If I was coming to Amsterdam as a tourist, I would probably look for something more central.
If your visit is for bussiness or for a conference at the RAI centre this hotel will be hard to beat. It is a fairly modern hotel and it shows in that everything has been purposefully designed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    293
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
133
411
67
381
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in a suite for three nights in June 2012 while visiting family in Amsterdam. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Each morning morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Staff was exceptionally polite and concierge was helpful. Location is fairly convenient to both the central area and museum area and just far enough away so that you avoid the big crowds and noise. Trolley is only a few blocks from the hotel and easy to use. A nice selection of restaurants are only a short walk from the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent, personalized service. Room was nicely appointed, and the bathtub winodw gimmick is fun to have. Having read many reviews here, I was in for a nice surprise: while it is true that the breakfast is way overpriced, minibar prices are within reason, at least one of the restaurants is affordable, and there actually is free internet- you just have to click the rigth option, which is not the first one. Phone rates are high. Nice view, quiet nights. We appreciated having a big umbrella in the room, even if we never used it.
Following advice here, we had breakfast at nearby @7. Big mistake we made twice. Surly service, and makes you walk opposite to the city center. There are much better options along the way to the center- including two nice bakeries where you don't have to beg to be served.
I thought the location is actually quite good. We walked almost everywhere: to the Van Gogh Musueum, to the Canal Cruises, restaurants, Flower Market, etc.
Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay in Amsterdam.
I am a LHW member and I can say this hotel is one of the best.
I stayed at room 1804 and I really liked, lot of space with a high tech bathroom (amazing shower).
Excellent staff, nice and calm location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Outstanding hotel, from the service to the room to the food. Only drawback is the location which is about a 30 minute walk from the main canals. However, very easy to get to the city center via tram or taxi.

Some highlights:
The bed - wow, most comfortable bed I've ever experienced
The room itself was immaculate and the bathroom with the glass wall so that you can watch the telly from the bathtub was also a highlight
The room service breakfast was outstanding, had a steaming hot, delicious omelette as if it was prepared next door.
The service with a smile, had clothes laundered asked for delivery at 7:30am and they were delivered both days on the dot
The sashimi at the sushi bar was outstanding if a little pricey - you get what you pay for though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hosted a three day meeting here, which was absolutely perfect.

Picked the Okura through a competitive bidding process with competitors in the Marriott / Moevenpick band. Picked the Okura based on a very enticing bid and best impression upon local visit. I am so darn happy we did!

We had the boardroom as a meeting room - lots of daylight, nice sitting area, functional board table and large, bright flatscreen TV with several audio / video hook ups in the conference table.

All conference staff was super helpful, with plenty of attention to detail. We changed our coffee breaks and lunch breaks around a few times - no problem. Technical assistance was available form putting up posters to helping with IP configuration to use the VPN. The food was tasty and very adequate. Happy meeting participants all around. This was truly Japanese level service delivered by team members who clearly walked the 100% accountable 0 excuses talk. Fantastic!

The basic rooms are again very Japanese, great noise insulation, quite AC, beautiful and functioning bathroom, great rain shower fixtures for separate shower and bathtub. Very comfortable bed and high quality bedding / linens with elaborate pillow menu.

Special feature; boat landing for Grachtentours right outside the hotel and Japanese cooking workshop with Okura Japanese chefs and and traditionally dressed staff. You prepare an elaborate appetizer with plenty of instructions and explanations. Then you sit down with your group and enjoy a wonderful meal with sake tasting and again a lot of explanations and infotainment.

Breakfast; absolutely friendly staff and good but not overwhelming food choices.

Only lapse; the gentleman who checked me in was rough and totally misfit with the rest of the staff. I got the feeling that he was hired for certain language skills, service attitude as expressed toward me, cannot possibly gotten him or kept him in his job....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We have your contact details so we will contact you personally about your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.