We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is wonderful. We got a deal on Priceline for 195 per night on the weekend.
We caught the Amsterdam hotel shuttle for 9 per person I believe to the hotel from the airport, it was a short ride. When we checked it we greeted by the bell man and the front desk service was great. We booked a deluxe room and were given a huge corner room 617. The view was great, would have loved to be higher up in order to get the full advantage of the wonderful view the hotel had to offer. The room had huge floor to ceiling windows, automatic curtains and a TV in the shower. The beds were comfortable and the desk and chair provided a good workspace. Everything was operated by a remote. When we were ready to venture out, the front desk provided a map and lots of information on traveling around the city and things to do. The entire city is easily accessed by the tram n about 10-15 minutes and the stop is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
There is also a 24 hour supermarket a block away and a Japanese and French restaurant in the hotel.
i would stay here again on my next trip to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    310
    74
    36
    16
See reviews for
145
445
69
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Hotel Okura is an absolutely gorgeous hotel located about a 30 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum area, and about a 50 minute walk from central Amsterdam. The hotel itself is lovely -- very calming decor and the rooms are large, spacious, and very well stocked with all amenities. At night, the room had been prepared with turn-down service while we were away -- with a "pillow menu" to allow us to choose between various types of pillows that might be delivered for our comfort. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot and very nice, and there is an Nespresso coffee maker, which was a lovely surprise. We took 1/2 a day to enjoy the sports area with access to the swimming pool, jacuzzi and saunas, and found it all very relaxing and enjoyable. Our first night here -- we tried out the restaurant Yamazato, which is a Michelin-starred traditional Japanese restaurant. The sushi was as if it melted in your mouth, and the service was excellent. It was so lovely to look out over the koi pond.

The one minor complaint I have is the breakfast which is served at Le Camelia, the brasserie here in the hotel. Having seen the level of service and food at the hotel and having read the description of the brunch buffet as "sumptuous" -- we expected more than it was. It was your standard fare -- scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, sausage, breads, and fruit. The quality of the food was average at best, and some of the items were left to sit out too long (e.g. the stale crepes and flaccid bacon). We were sat near a busy thoroughfare area of the restaurant and despite servers passing us constantly, we were never asked how we were doing or if we needed more coffee. At 59 euros for two people -- it was not worth it.

Despite the breakfast experience, I would definitely stay here again -- but just have breakfast at one of the many lovely cafes in the neighborhood nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city center from a higher floor and you get a bonus of looking down over a chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience! The people were so genuine and friendly!!! The hotel was gorgeous! Very new and chic.
Our room was huge, clean, modern and had a fantastic view! My husband absolutely loved the control next to the bed that controlled everything!
I had my first Tepanyaki experience and I loved it! The food was delicious, the chef was very talented (and funny) and the service was fantastic.
It isn't right in the middle of the city, but right next to tram lines.
The fitness room was very modern with lots of equipment. The Pool and whirl pool were also great fun!
I can honestly say I've never been to a hotel, 5 star or not, where the staff have been so fantastic. We didn't have one staff member that wasn't smiling, friendly or helpful! It was unbelievable!!!! We were really, really impressed!!!
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Having spent a large part of my life in Amsterdam, Okura was always a fixture.
However, this review is mostly about events aspect of this hotel.
This hotel is a bedrock of organizing or supporting conferences in Amsterdam.
It is quite close to the RAI congress center, but the hotel itself has 2 ballrooms and a large number os smaller meeting rooms (do not remember how many but a very decent number).
Some meeting rooms are quite sterile (Meerman, griffioen), while others are the breathtaking unique experiences (Starlight? rooms in the penthouse).
The ballroom in this hotel is PROPER! Motorized hanging points, remote-controlled shutters (as there is daylight in the whole ballroom), a gallery, partitioned powered rails in the ceiling and NO pillars to boot. Why are so many newer ballrooms missing all this??
Further to the hotel amenities, Okura has always been unique I think, being perceived as very Japanese (best and most diverse Japanese food too) but having the brilliant French restaurant "in the sky" (I think they have 2 michelin stars now, and also as a place to walk in and have a coffee....
This is no Disneyland, but everything works like a clockwork and if you can appreciate the reliability, it is a no brainer.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are renovated to the new standard (correct me if I am wrong). Ask for a new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Having just completed a very sucessful conference for over 700 senior executives, I can honestly say that, after many years experience, this is the best venue in Europe (and at least comparable in the world) we have used so far; the staff are friendly, helpful and completely professional. If you bring them into your virtual team and plan with them, you too will host an amazing event. Ultimately, the best recommendation is this - I would be delighted to spend my own money bringing my family here for a vacation-of-lifetime. This is a 'Leading Hotel of he World' for good reason.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here just one night on business trip, and I stayed here as it was at 209 eur without breakfast cheaper than other options such as Hilton. It is also situated in quiet nieghbourhood, with tramway before the hotel, but did not try where it brings you. Check-in at arrival was friendly, almost asking too much if they can be of any help. There was a glitch in reservation as their system had not cancelled the second night, although it was confirmed by fax. Upon producing their confirmation, it did not create a problem however. Room is reasonably large (slightly smaller than Hilton when I stayed there), and quite light with huge mirror. Bathroom is as can be expected: enough amenities (Fragonard), names like Hansgrohe and Villeroy. I like the fact of having the possibility to let natural light come till the bathroom as it is with glass partition looking into the bedroom. It has separate shower room, as well as bath. For those who like it, nespresso machine in the room. Internet is available by paying, arranged through Swisscim if I recall well. Breakfast is of excellent quality and offers reasonable choice, with fresh fruits and juices ao. For almost 30 eur, it should be of this standard however.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I am just back from staying at the Okura hotel in Amsterdam. I found this hotel beautiful, very clean and the staff were very friendly and offered great information. The hotel lobby bar was lovely and the twenty third floor bar was brilliant to relax in and had some beautiful views. The rooms had everything you could ask for and more. The restaurants were all really good! We did the spa area and it was lovely and relaxing and clean, I would definitely recommend it. We were out of town by about ten minutes but we didn't mind cause there was a tram right out side that took you everywhere that you wanted to go and it wasn't that expensive. Great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.