We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and 5 star service with some nickle and dime-ing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and 5 star service with some nickle and dime-ing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Beautiful rooms, very friendly and helpful staff (Lex the concierge is great, housekeeping and front desk staff is extremely accommodating). Great fixtures and decor in the rooms, in-room expresso machine. We stayed in the lowest class room - standard, and it was still very luxurious, extremely clean, soothing decor with an excellent pillow menu! They are renovating so we were on the 16th floor and did not hear any construction noise. The location is a bit out of the central area but Amsterdam is so small it's a 15-20 minute walk to the Museum district or you can easily catch a tram to other parts of the city.

Restaurants in the hotel (2 michelin rated rest. 1-2 stars) but we explored some nearby restaurants.

We had a 40% discount rate thru jetsetter.com (160euro/$230USD). but Internet access was 15 euros per day, 6 euros per hour and there was a charge for the gym as well. Breakfast not included. At least by American standards, would have expected free internet and gym use at these rates. Apparently they are thinking about moving to free internet access next year, not sure about gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
402
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really clean & friendly, had a free upgrade, Suite 1909 on the executive floor is amazing, spent 4 nights here but never ate here as the prices are ridiculous, on our first night we had room service and there isn't alot (nothing really) for children but my daughter ordered chicken & pasta when it came it was 6 pasta shells with 6 slices of chicken for 24euros lol.......if they lowered their prices they would keep there customers in the hotel, also breakfast 30 euros per person for continental, we found Le Pain Quotidien a few minutes walk away was perfect and had breakfast there every morning less than 30euros for 3 people!! This hotel is not central, its about 30min walk to the centre, but trams are regular and taxi is about 20 euros, it was nice to get away from all the hustle and bustle and our suite was very large so it was lovely to come back and relax, there is also a supermarket opposite Le Pain Quotidien to buy your own wine and nibbles as you are talking about 40euros for a bottle at the hotel. Gym and pool is also extra and there is no free wii-fi

Room Tip: Suite 1909 was perfect with lovely views too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Really clean and friendly. Luxurious hotel. Only gripe is that gym is extra to the price. Tourists need to be aware that it is a good half hour walk to the city. Not really a gripe as trams are plentiful

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is only my second ever positng of comments on Trip Advisor but feel this is such a special hotel, it deserves to be commended. In retrospect my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam was closer to perfection than any hotel stay I can recall in recent years. A truly grand hotel, it is an expression of European tradition brought to contemporary life by a dedicated team of professionals. Inspired by the best of continental five star hotel tradition, it also offers a sophisticated touch of Japan in the form of Yamazato, a one star Michelin rated Japanese restaurant as well as arguably the best teppanyaki restaurant outside of Japan. Preparing for a dinner date with the 2 star Michelin Ciel Bleu that evening, I noticed from the pool area two chefs plucking berries and harvesting fresh vegetables in the hotel garden and immediately knew Ciel Bleu would not disappoint. Hints of Okura's Japanese roots appear in public areas from the ginko leaf motif on walls to the bizen pottery delicately on display. As I was preparing to leave, another two chefs were setting up an elaborate display of hand crafted Easter eggs in the lobby. Despite no doubt going through a number of refurbishements and additions over the years, the hotel evokes a remarkable sense of tranquility and consistency. My room functioned perfectly in every respect and the hotel staff could not be faulted. To boot, I purchased a pre paid euro 33 taxi voucher to transport me to Schipol, proving it's location definitely is convenient to both downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. The room (618) was a free upgrade and I loved it! The tv screen in the bathroom with bbc1&2 as well as other English speaking channels made the trip!!
The work being done on the 12th (?) floor was a bit noisy on the Monday morning- but we were warned and offered a different room.
The breakfasts were good- champagne was a treat although I have had better cooked breakfasts. The poached eggs (requested) were super but the bacon was very overlooked.
The location is a little out of town but the 25 tram was straight to city centre. The walk along the canal to the Van Gough museum was a pleasant 15 min stroll

Service was excellent- even better then you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.
Coffee machine in the room was the only disappointment- didn't seem to make the coffee hot!
I really recommend this hotel. Especially as we had a 500+ euros a night room for just over £100!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionnualadelap@btinternet.com
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

we booked a secret hotel on trip advisor not cheap 200 pounds sterling per night for a double room , what a dissapointment , rooms very average dated and a bit run down stains oin carpets and small.
Foyer clincal and the hotel is for conferences/ buisness and not suitable for anything only work /meetings in my opinion.
Location poor we spent 70 euro per day on taxis in and out of town. It is close to nothing. 23 floors in a remote suburban area I do not recommend this hotel.
Breakfast 29 euro and poor quality after breakfast we wanted to sit out in garden, not allowed unless you buy another drink or food ( we had just had breakfast in hotel in a dark awful dinning room) No fresh air allowed at this hotel .
We tired to cancel our booking when we realised the poor location manager at hotel refused to let us although last minute . com were happy to allow no wonder the hotle had seemd very empty not many folls like us prepared to pay the price .,

He said we were upgarded but our room was poor for that price , we looked a prices for other 5 star hotels in city centre and they were less or similar however their location is far superior and standard higheras we have stayed in some before also and you have no taxi fares to pay as you can walk. We did not eat in restaurant at hotel as we were told by another resident it had no atmosphere and again was very expensive starters 30 euro .

Overall if you are on a leisure, sightseeing, romatic, family trip avoid this hotel at all costs you will be dissapointed .

Room Tip: dont bother with execuitve room very average and a poor lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. We will contact you shortly about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a long weekend trip and really enjoyed the hotel.
We booked the excecutive category as it was on offer. Thew lounge is on the top floor and gives you a fantastic view over Amsterdam.

The Sazanka restaurant in the hotel was amazing and i highly recommend it.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.