We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearing Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
tokyo japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nearing Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is only my second ever positng of comments on Trip Advisor but feel this is such a special hotel, it deserves to be commended. In retrospect my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam was closer to perfection than any hotel stay I can recall in recent years. A truly grand hotel, it is an expression of European tradition brought to contemporary life by a dedicated team of professionals. Inspired by the best of continental five star hotel tradition, it also offers a sophisticated touch of Japan in the form of Yamazato, a one star Michelin rated Japanese restaurant as well as arguably the best teppanyaki restaurant outside of Japan. Preparing for a dinner date with the 2 star Michelin Ciel Bleu that evening, I noticed from the pool area two chefs plucking berries and harvesting fresh vegetables in the hotel garden and immediately knew Ciel Bleu would not disappoint. Hints of Okura's Japanese roots appear in public areas from the ginko leaf motif on walls to the bizen pottery delicately on display. As I was preparing to leave, another two chefs were setting up an elaborate display of hand crafted Easter eggs in the lobby. Despite no doubt going through a number of refurbishements and additions over the years, the hotel evokes a remarkable sense of tranquility and consistency. My room functioned perfectly in every respect and the hotel staff could not be faulted. To boot, I purchased a pre paid euro 33 taxi voucher to transport me to Schipol, proving it's location definitely is convenient to both downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    259
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
369
63
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. The room (618) was a free upgrade and I loved it! The tv screen in the bathroom with bbc1&2 as well as other English speaking channels made the trip!!
The work being done on the 12th (?) floor was a bit noisy on the Monday morning- but we were warned and offered a different room.
The breakfasts were good- champagne was a treat although I have had better cooked breakfasts. The poached eggs (requested) were super but the bacon was very overlooked.
The location is a little out of town but the 25 tram was straight to city centre. The walk along the canal to the Van Gough museum was a pleasant 15 min stroll

Service was excellent- even better then you'd expect in a 5 star hotel.
Coffee machine in the room was the only disappointment- didn't seem to make the coffee hot!
I really recommend this hotel. Especially as we had a 500+ euros a night room for just over £100!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fionnualadelap@btinternet.com
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

we booked a secret hotel on trip advisor not cheap 200 pounds sterling per night for a double room , what a dissapointment , rooms very average dated and a bit run down stains oin carpets and small.
Foyer clincal and the hotel is for conferences/ buisness and not suitable for anything only work /meetings in my opinion.
Location poor we spent 70 euro per day on taxis in and out of town. It is close to nothing. 23 floors in a remote suburban area I do not recommend this hotel.
Breakfast 29 euro and poor quality after breakfast we wanted to sit out in garden, not allowed unless you buy another drink or food ( we had just had breakfast in hotel in a dark awful dinning room) No fresh air allowed at this hotel .
We tired to cancel our booking when we realised the poor location manager at hotel refused to let us although last minute . com were happy to allow no wonder the hotle had seemd very empty not many folls like us prepared to pay the price .,

He said we were upgarded but our room was poor for that price , we looked a prices for other 5 star hotels in city centre and they were less or similar however their location is far superior and standard higheras we have stayed in some before also and you have no taxi fares to pay as you can walk. We did not eat in restaurant at hotel as we were told by another resident it had no atmosphere and again was very expensive starters 30 euro .

Overall if you are on a leisure, sightseeing, romatic, family trip avoid this hotel at all costs you will be dissapointed .

Room Tip: dont bother with execuitve room very average and a poor lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had unfortunately does not reflect the service and luxury we are known for. We will contact you shortly about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for a long weekend trip and really enjoyed the hotel.
We booked the excecutive category as it was on offer. Thew lounge is on the top floor and gives you a fantastic view over Amsterdam.

The Sazanka restaurant in the hotel was amazing and i highly recommend it.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very very nice hotel - makes your stay a rea lholiday! Highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed at the Okura for 5 nights while attending a conference at the RAI. The hotel is a short walk away. We had a large corener room on the 19th floor with excellent views. And my favorite- the windows open! Hotel is quiet, except I kept hearing a bleating noise. I thought ducks in the canal don't do this--sure enough, a school nearby had sheep and goats in their yard--very charming. Back to the room--good bed, excellent lighting. Large desk with chairs on either side so that two people could work simultaneously. Bathroom was amazing. Huge with double sink, seperate tub and shower, seperate WC with of course, Japanese heated toilet seat. Very fast internet (bust pricey). Did not use gym or pool but heard the facilities are excellent.

The lobby is lovely- very serence. Fabulous lighting fixtures in the public areas-- each a workk of art.

Restaurants amazing. We did not eat at the Japanese. The cafe on ground floor was excellent. Had a great 3 course meu for 35 euros- a bargain. Not only did the food taste good, but presentation beautiful

Ciel Blu was amazing--deserving of its Michelin stars.

The executive lounge was a disappointment- very little to offer. Coffee all day. Wine & a few canapes in the evening. Certainly not like Asian hotels.

That being said, go and enjoy.

The restauruants

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

booked through expedia last minute for 3 days. Much needed R+R. All good, lovely room, quiet, staff excellent. Very clean. Until.... the last morning, awoken at 8 am Damn! ( i never sleep in due to work)knock on the door daughter answered. Told her to put do not disturb sign. Awoken again at 9am maid. Did she not know how to read? First disruption was a note about window cleaning taking place that day!!!!!!!. Coudln't they have left the note the day before???? Second was the maid, the floor housekeeper supervisor was there outside the room with the maid when I went down for a smoke (who can sleep after being bothered by pounding on the door??) I asked her why we were disturbed when there was a do not disturb sign the poor maid chimed in to the supervisor 'you told me the room was empty'. This may sound petty but when you are paying over £100 at a supposedly 5 star hotel WHY!!!!!!!!also they did not refill coffee but told us to call room service 5 star uhh? No. 4 and a half maybe. beds are not very comfortable. but quiet neighborhood good security. Far away from the maddening crowds on a canal. easy acesss to town center on the 12 or 25 tram. Staff very polite excellent breakfast but not inexpensive or even reasonable but all in all 5 star food! I just wanted some sleep!!!!! Not my first time at this hotel good value for money. And they have a smoking room in the lobby so u dont have to brave the elements. Nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.