We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Luxury and convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at The Okura on the weekend of Amsterdam's worst weather for several years, and it was difficult to drag ourselves outside! The choice of four restaurants and two bars, the excellent pool/sauna/gym complex, and the beautifully furnished, luxurious room were almost too good to leave. Although it is located on the outskirts of the city, there is a convenient tram line just outside which gets to Centraal Station in 15 mins. I can't think of anything about this hotel which wasn't subtle or beautifully designed to help guests relax. Despite being a large 'business' hotel, service was attentive without being oppressive, and the executive room we had was equipped to the highest standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and our meal in La Serre restaurant was reasonably priced for an expensive city.
We stayed on a last-minute deal, paying less than half price, and it's worth looking out for these as the hotel is not busy at wekends. Our deal included free access to the gym/pool/sauna.
A couple of minor niggles which I hope the hotel can address - there are usually charges for the gym/pool/sauna and if I had been paying full price I would expect this to have been included. I also felt that they could have been more generous with the in-room coffee supplies; there were only six 'pods' for the coffee maker each day, and no milk or complimentary botled water. And why a charge for the wi-fi at this end of the market?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    282
    73
    35
    15
See reviews for
131
402
65
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A beautifully designed hotel with excellent, friendly, and attentive service. Large rooms are well equipped with everything you might need. Some way from the centre, but easy to reach by tram. Good restaurants within walking distance. Well equipped fitness centre with large pool. A large hotel, but service is personal. Nothing to criticise!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Really high quality hotel, great attentive staff and service. My only gripes would be that the location is not central enough, but that's ok really as theres a regular tram stop right outside. But the really annoying part is that they charge for in-room wi-fi. These days I don't think that's acceptable! We pay enough for the rooms not to be charged this on top.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I don't generally like business focused hotels, but I make an exception for the Okura. Like it's sister hotel in Tokyo (one of the world's great business hotel) the Okura offers great comfort, excellent service and, above all else, terrific restaurants. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor is partnered by an equally good French restaurant on the top floor. Both seem to do good trade not only from residents at the hotel but also from Amsterdam residents. The rooms at the Okura are spacious and extremely comfortable, with excellent bathrooms and good sound insulation. The only drawbacks are that this is a high rise away from the City Centre, which may not be convenient for those looking for the buzz of central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband had a conference to attend in Amsterdam last Sept and we were put up at the Okura and we had a wonderful experience. Our room was fantastic with a lovely view and the staff were so friendly especially the bar staff. The cocktail bar had beautiful view at night and day and we ate pretty well averyday at Serres Restaurant at some stage or at least had a drink there. Don't miss Hinekin Factory and Ann Frank house. All very getable by tram stop near Hotel, and the bicycles are a must see. Also did a country side tour and the town of Edam is just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great hotel! Friendly staff, great rooms, close train station...

I highly recommend you to get the executive suite. Great view, fantastic room and the bathroom is perfect!

The restaurants are worth visiting!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsy, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 night when visiting teh RAI

The location was great, easy walking distance to the RAI and into Amsterdam centre - the latter was a bit far if tired so the tram was easy to find and get to and from the centre to the hotel and back

I had a corner excutive room that was huge - the desk was as big as a bed! The room was very spacious, clean and plush - the bed was high up with loads of pillows - the room came with slippers, robe and lots of lovely things in the bathroom - the bathroom was amazing - huge bath with a tv, double sink and a seperate loo and shower that were like little rooms off the bathroom - the view from the room was not all that but I didnt care!

My first night I was woken up at about 5am with the lights coming on and the curtains opening, obviously someone had set some sort of wake up but it had not be cancelled, this did shock me awake but once I have worked out what had gone on I got back to sleep quickly

I did not have any meals in the hotel apart from room service on one occassion and it was amazing, the service and food was second to none - it was basically well posh!

whilst I didnt spend much time at the hotel due to attending the RAI it was a great relief to get back to the hotel after a long day at the RAI

I have no idea how much it cost as it was all paid for but I loved it there, whilst it may not be the most attractive hotel from the outside, it certainly is lovely inside and if you want to be spoilt then this is the place to do it

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.