We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I recently spent 7 nights at the Hotel Okura for business and was very pleased with my stay. The service was outstanding and the accommodations made my week-long stay very comfortable. My room, a junior suite, was spacious and adequately appointed for doing work in the room. The only downside to the hotel is that some of the fees are very expensive, such as internet and parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    643
    249
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
111
351
62
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with my wife as part of a business Trip.
As a hotel itself I dont really have much in the way of complaints as the place is kept very clean and tidy (though you would expect nothign less from a 5 star).

My main issue was that it was very over-priced.
Luckily it was a work trip, but I really dont feel a 5* hotel should still be charging you for extra's such as Breakfast/Gym/Wi-fi......
I'm sure we could have booked B&B but to me this should be standard on all bookings, as should access to their amenities.
Ultimately the room rate for 5 star properties is already much higher, so to be expected to pay around €75-€100 a night extra just to get onto the web, use the gym and have breakfast is in my opinion a bit of a joke.

When i enquired about late check out i was told i'd need to pay 50% of the standard room rate, which would have meant paying €175 to check out 6 hour later!!

On the flip sode they hotel is very nice and the facilites (once paid for) are of great quality. It also has several really good restaurants and a nice roof bar........

Next time I 'm in Amsterdam though I'll definitely look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

I totally enjoyed my stay at the okura. It is well worth it's five star status. Very impressed

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you're looking for a hotel that is walking distance to the major attractions - nope, this is not it. I would think that most people who stay here are business travelers who need to attend events at the nearby RAI. It's only a pleasant 10-min walk (or less) to the RAI - cross a little bridge on your left and walk straight down.

By tram, it's easy enough to get around town - #12 to the Museum Quartier and #25 to Dam Square area. You can even buy a 24-hour or 48-hour tram pass at the concierge for unlimited tram rides - very convenient.

There's an Albert Heijn supermarket about 10 mins away; there are also some eateries along the path to the RAI. The hotel serves a sufficient Continental breakfast - cold cuts, breads, bacon, eggs, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc. The hotel room is nice and spacious - perfectly fine for a business traveler.

The bar / restaurant upstairs is supposed to be really good apparently, but didn't try it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in an upgraded deluxe room for three nights and enjoyed the time I spent here.

Room and bed very comfortable. Separate shower well received. Loads of drawers and hanging space too which was a real bonus.

Staff helpful all the time.

Breakfast overpriced but very enjoyable.

Top floor cocktail lounge offered great views over Amsterdam along with some very lovely drinks!

Ate out one night at the nearby Brasserie Richard which was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Superb hotel with very kind staff and a broad choice of quality restaurants. Rooms are more than fine.Breakfast great. Good business hotel or a fine weekend get-a-way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here when we attended a conference. It is very near the convention center about 10 minutes walk. If you wish to take the train from Schipol airport, Take the train up to Central Station and from there take Tram 25 it will take you to the hotel. Front desk are so accomodating and Concierge people are so helpful when it comes to direction. Our room was very modern and huge, with a flat screen tv complete with minibar and expresso machine. We have an all glass bathroom which was very neat and clean. If you brought your laptop you can easily hook it up with an average charge of 12 euro / day. We were lucky to be given an Executive floor which can also give you an access to their Executive Lounge where you can use their desktop with Internet service and printer for free. The Lounge also serve tea/coffee and other drinks and cookies and is open from 7am to 10 pm. Amenities is of 5 star and they serve great buffet breakfast except that you have the same breakfast everyday. They also have a Japanese restaurant which is a little bit pricey but the food was great with authentic Japanese server which explain to the guest each course. A French restaurant which is very strict in punctuality, they will cancel your reservation if you are late.

One of our friend left her money (Dollars and Euro) on top of the table of her room. When she got back from the convention, she was surprised that she had left her money but when she checked it, not one cent were missing. She was all praised with the honesty of housekeeping. This gave the group a very nice impression of this hotel.

Going around is not so hard except that you should alot about 20 minutes to get to the city center. Outside the hotel near Savoy hotel you can easily take the tram. You can purchase your 24 hours ticket at 7 euro or 48 hours ticket at 12euro from the hotel concierge before boarding. In case you forgot you can just pay the fare at 2.60 euro to the driver for one way. Tram 25 will bring you up to the Central station and Tram 12 will bring you to Van Gogh museum. Just ask for a map from the hotel concierge and you will see all the Tram numbers and its route which is very easy. Getting back is a breeze just go to the opposite side where you get off and it will bring you back to your hotel. Or you can just check the tram stop if the tram number you wish to take would pass that stop or not.

There are only few shops near the hotel and few restaurants. Ikea is very near just beside the convention center. Tram 4 goes from the convention center to the Central Station. If shopping is what you wish just go to DAM square and near Royal Palace there are a lots of souvenir and specialty shops. You can also take an Hop on hop off bus near the Central station and Red Light district is also near the station. For last minute shopper, go early to the airport . After check-in for your next flight, and if you still got ample time, go to the arrival area you will find lots of shops which is sometimes cheaper than downtown. Just keep track of your boarding time. Schipol airport also got lots of duty free shops which offer lots of great deals.

Room Tip: For business purpose, ask for the Executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.