We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart but Overated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smart but Overated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The price was about right for the room, it was very large and deluxe as described.
The staff are polite and professional, but room service left a lot to be desired.
Ate at the ground floor restaurant, it was fine but nothing to write home about.
Only negative was location, quite a distance out, tram stop outside, took about twenty mins to centre.
Would stay again if someone else was paying.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    259
    67
    34
    14
See reviews for
122
369
63
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed only one night while in transit from South Africa and were very impressed with the Okura. The hotel is not "in the mix" of central Amsterdam, which we found to be a plus, since you could get everywhere by tram or walking, but it is a much quieter location and other tourist oriented hotels. For instance, on our way to South Africa, we stayed at another hotel in Amsterdam just off the Leidesplan and we got almost no sleep due to noise and some rowdy hotel guests. The Okura was bliss, in comparison.

The staff was very professional and responsive. We were able to get last minute reservations at a booked restaurant, thanks to the concierge. The next morning, another concierge and the doorman bailed us out when our prepaid shuttle to the airport (booked at Schipol, not thru the Okura) failed to show. Concerned about us making our flight, the concierge put us in a chauffered car to the airport, at the expense of the hotel, even though the no-show shuttle had not been booked by the hotel. Very professional and top drawer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I traveled to Amsterdam with my 12 year old daughter in July 2010.The hotel is very nice and our room was very spacious. I think charging extra for internet service was a bit much considering the price of the room. The hotel is not close to much, but it is close to the bus/tram/metro lines. The hotel itself is very clean, but the bar had an awful musty smell. The breakfast buffet was wonderful!

Stayed July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We visited Hotel Okura Amsterdam in the beginning of January and really enjoyed our stay in this luxurious hotel!
We had booked a deluxe room and received a free upgrade to an executive room with a magnificent view over Amsterdam. We were surprised by the free Nespresso coffee in the rooms, the opportunity to watch a movie while enjoying a bath and the great service / special treatment we received during our stay.
The extensive breakfast buffet in the morning was everything we expected from a 5 star Hotel and was of good quality.
The shops and the Albert Cuypmarket were in walking distance and the tram which stopped in front of the hotel brought us directly to the Dam square.
We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and in the Okura and look forward staying there again soon!
Marian & Ton
Breda, The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We found that charging extra for room service, internet and the gym greatly added to the cost of our stay. food and drinks are expensive. Found main japaneese restauarant diappointing

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

What a wonderful hotel on a perfect location: the Okura Amsterdam. A great room with a beautiful view over Amsterdam city, very friendly and helpfull staff making your stay even more relaxed, and within walking distance of a typical Amsterdam area. Public transport to city centre, musea just a minute away. However for dinner you better stay in the hotel, what an great culinary experience, I wish we could stay longer. Next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Very comfortable room - two double beds, a large desk and spacious bathroom. Good breakfast selection and reasonably well organised though expensive. Had dinner in one of the restuarants on the ground floor, which was unexceptional. Reasonably convenient for the RAI building, but not really close to anything else. Quite expensive, but fine if someone else is paying. One gripe was the €17 per day charge for internet. This should be included in a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Okura Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.